Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Dodge Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old August 1st, 2007, 08:03 PM   #1
GreaseMonkey
Senior Member
 
GreaseMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: Washington, MI
Posts: 17,945
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Hypertech bullshit

The maintenance dude has an almost identical Dodge and offered for me to use his Hypertech Power Programmer. I did, opting to run on Premium. 25 HP my ass. It didn't feel any faster and barely moved on the freeway.

Spending an extra $30 on gas the past two weeks wasn't fun either, unless it actually did something to my truck.

So anyways, I can't find the maintenance dude anymore to go back to stock so I just disconnected the battery and hope it cleared the programming. It seems to have cleared everything, as my rev limiter is now back to stock. I know this won't clear the stock programming for the vehicle, but will it clear the Hypertech crap?

Anyone else have any dealings with Hypertech? If so what were your results?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by kerryann View Post
I am not a lesbian but if I was I would do her.
GreaseMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2007, 02:51 PM   #2
PavementPounder
I am the law.
 
PavementPounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Birmingham, Michigan 48009
Posts: 29,824
iTrader: (224)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

I thought they were supposed to be used in conjunction with a chip or something?
PavementPounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2007, 03:03 PM   #3
cracker$
cheese
 
cracker$'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-15-05
Location: Springfield Twp, Mi 48350
Posts: 688
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

My Hypertech programer can only be used on one vehicle at a time. It replaces and stores your stock program so it can't be used on multiple vehicles. I never noticed any gaines but mine was just set for low grade fuel. I mostly bought it so I could correct the speedo for different tire sizes. And get rid of the top speed limiter, not that my truck will even go faster than 100mph anyway. :tonka:
cracker$ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2007, 06:20 PM   #4
GreaseMonkey
Senior Member
 
GreaseMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: Washington, MI
Posts: 17,945
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I don't think the programmer realized it was a different truck. It said programming was successful.

Oh well it seems to be gone now.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by kerryann View Post
I am not a lesbian but if I was I would do her.
GreaseMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2007, 06:23 PM   #5
Trail Junkie
iamfawkinwithyou
 
Trail Junkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-01-05
Location: Zeeland, west of Grand Rapids
Posts: 31,193
iTrader: (29)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

I like mine
Trail Junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2007, 04:12 PM   #6
Cartman
Can't lose with 42s
 
Cartman's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-17-06
Location: Williamsburg, MI
Posts: 1,029
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

See if it spark knocks on 87.. all those stupid fucking things do is modify timing...
Cartman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2007, 04:24 PM   #7
silverxj
team 14b
 
silverxj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Davisburg
Posts: 5,619
iTrader: (64)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cracker$ View Post
My Hypertech programer can only be used on one vehicle at a time. It replaces and stores your stock program so it can't be used on multiple vehicles. I never noticed any gaines but mine was just set for low grade fuel. I mostly bought it so I could correct the speedo for different tire sizes. And get rid of the top speed limiter, not that my truck will even go faster than 100mph anyway. :tonka:
X2 - This is all I use mine for, there definitely was NOT any "seat of the pants" hp gain. The speed-o is closer now and the rev limit is higher, but that's it.

Jeff, if you were able to program your truck then whom ever owned it before had returned theirs to stock. Hypertech's are only programmable to one vehicle and are "year" specific.
silverxj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Dodge Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.13065 seconds with 24 queries