gear lube - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Axle Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 30th, 2007, 08:41 AM   #1
greencj
Senior Member
 
greencj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-26-07
Location: Carson City, MI
Posts: 134
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default gear lube

Hello, Just wondering if anyone knows if you can break in new gears with synthetic lube. I know your not suppose to, with a new motor but was wondering about gears. Thanks.
greencj is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old July 30th, 2007, 09:47 AM   #2
greenmeanie
Senior Member
 
greenmeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-10-06
Location: Hermitage, TN
Posts: 1,732
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

what axle?? some axles require synthetic only, so you'd obviously need to use synthetic. just got my jeep done last night and started breaking the gears in (8.8 is synth only) i imagine it is fine, just not 100% sure (all knowing axle gurus chime in here....):tonka:
greenmeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2007, 09:52 AM   #3
Plato2k5
In Da Faaaaaace!!!
 
Plato2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-05
Location: WMU Kzoo Mi / Livonia, MI
Posts: 5,424
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Plato2k5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greencj View Post
I know your not suppose to, with a new motor
just to let ya know thats false. High end cars like ferrari, porsch, BMW, etc... all come fromt the factory with snynthetic oils.

I would just run normal gear lube as if your going to wheel it you'll probably be changing it frequent.
Plato2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2007, 10:41 AM   #4
Cartman
Can't lose with 42s
 
Cartman's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-17-06
Location: Williamsburg, MI
Posts: 1,030
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Plato2k5 View Post
just to let ya know thats false. High end cars like ferrari, porsch, BMW, etc... all come fromt the factory with snynthetic oils.

I would just run normal gear lube as if your going to wheel it you'll probably be changing it frequent.
agreed.
theres an old saying that transfers to this...change oil hot, change oil frequently.
Relocating your axle breathers should be one of the first things you do to your rig. This will eliminate water from entering the diff...it doesn't matter what kind of oil you got in there, if you mix it with water, it's junk.
my .02
Cartman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2007, 01:07 PM   #5
greencj
Senior Member
 
greencj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-26-07
Location: Carson City, MI
Posts: 134
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

They are dana 44's out of a scout. I mainly only use the jeep at silver lake. Its never been in the water. Mainly just climbing hills and racing. Thanks for the info.
greencj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Axle Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.12467 seconds with 35 queries