Blown Head gasket - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Jeep Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 20th, 2006, 03:32 PM   #1
Icebreaker88
Senior Member
 
Icebreaker88's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Warren, MI
Posts: 3,082
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Blown Head gasket

Looks like my deal of a jeep came with a blown head gasket as a bonus.
Do I need to replace the head bolts when replacing the head gasket.
And anything else I should look for while I am doing this.
Or any good tips while doing this
I am not new to wrenching just never worked on a 4.0 jeep motor before.

Oh yeah and Ed I own a Jeep now so I am sure I will be working on it all the time:miff:
__________________
[QUOTE=TurdBronco;1095911]I don't usually race cause it is still a focus.[/QUOTE]
Icebreaker88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old February 20th, 2006, 04:16 PM   #2
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,793
iTrader: (58)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

What I've always *heard* is to never reuse head bolts..

But I'm cheap..

I think the hardest part of that job is going to be getting the manifolds off. There's a lott bolts and not much clearance in the XJ's engine bay.

If you have them apart, it might be a good time to inspect the exhaust manifold really good, as they are prone to cracking.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2006, 05:46 PM   #3
shawn
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
 
shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Milford/Commerce
Posts: 10,160
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to shawn
Default

I had my 258 apart about 6 times, and re-used the head bolts. One of those times, was from a blown head gasket.
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2006, 05:53 PM   #4
Icebreaker88
Senior Member
 
Icebreaker88's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Warren, MI
Posts: 3,082
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I did notice a little bit of an exhaust manifold leak. Maybe just gasket or could be cracked header.
If the heade is bad What do you guys think about this?
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/91-99...38938381QQrdZ1
__________________
[QUOTE=TurdBronco;1095911]I don't usually race cause it is still a focus.[/QUOTE]
Icebreaker88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2006, 10:54 PM   #5
Icebreaker88
Senior Member
 
Icebreaker88's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Warren, MI
Posts: 3,082
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Well I have it all pulled apart and the front 2 cylinders, intake valves were pretty white compared to the others.
Also looks like the header is fine, cant see any cracks or any place it was leaking.
Well of to 24hr murrays for the gaskets and put it back together.
__________________
[QUOTE=TurdBronco;1095911]I don't usually race cause it is still a focus.[/QUOTE]
Icebreaker88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2006, 11:10 PM   #6
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,388
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

did you put a straight edge on the head to make sure it wasn't warped? secondly if you removed the manifolds you can take them to a machine shop and have them clearence cut or sanded to make them flat again. then they will seal much better because their seasoned.

as for bad head bolts, look at the ones you took out, if any have stretch marks or feel wierd when tightening like the had some "give" to them toss them and and get new. I have broken them while torquing them in before.
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2006, 11:11 PM   #7
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,388
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

by the way don't forget to get the head "magnafluxed" to check for cracks. look real carfully between the valves where they seat.
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2006, 11:27 PM   #8
Pre4runner
Bike Dude
 
Pre4runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Kawkawlin, mi
Posts: 2,098
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Pre4runner
Default

*Just a note*
if the head bolts are torque to yield, Replace them! one way of knowing is it will give you a torque then a torque angle... otherwise reusing them should be fine... And i don't think they are torque to yield...
*just a note*
Pre4runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2006, 10:48 AM   #9
SS
Doing stuff...and things.
 
SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-12-05
Location: 48309
Posts: 12,142
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Icebreaker88
I did notice a little bit of an exhaust manifold leak. Maybe just gasket or could be cracked header.
If the heade is bad What do you guys think about this?
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/91-99...38938381QQrdZ1




That's just a Dorman factory replacement manifold... that is in no way a racing header. In fact that's false advertising....


Anyway..

If you're going to upgrade everyone has their opinion of what's the best but I always heard good things about Borla and Thorley.
__________________
-Jer

SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2006, 11:13 AM   #10
Bones
skillicous
 
Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 11,558
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bones
Default

a lot of factory head bolts can be used twice
__________________
Inviscid Motorsports

Special Thanks and Recommendations to;
Motorcity Machines
Ironman Offroad
Branik Motorsports
Maxxis Tires

Raceline Wheels
PAC Racing Springs
Joint Clutch and Gear
Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2006, 11:39 AM   #11
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,793
iTrader: (58)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

I think I have a Mopar service manual at home, I'll check that. Every service manual I've seen for whatever I'm driving always says to replace the head bolts, but most people reuse them.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2006, 11:55 AM   #12
dune coon
do work
 
dune coon's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-13-06
Location: Grand Rapids
Posts: 1,568
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default wtf?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Super Stocker



That's just a Dorman factory replacement manifold... that is in no way a racing header. In fact that's false advertising....


Anyway..

If you're going to upgrade everyone has their opinion of what's the best but I always heard good things about Borla and Thorley.
that looks like a total piece of shit.

i dont think i'd trust someone selling me a header if they can't spell "Qualiyt"
dune coon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2006, 12:29 PM   #13
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,793
iTrader: (58)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

Like was said, thats a replacement manifold, you can get them I think at autozone or the like. The expansion sections are there to prevent cracking.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2006, 10:32 PM   #14
Pre4runner
Bike Dude
 
Pre4runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Kawkawlin, mi
Posts: 2,098
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Pre4runner
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bones
a lot of factory head bolts can be used twice
True too... just tossed that other bit out there. Personally i re-used the headbolts on my 22re 3 times now, just chased the threads to be safe
Pre4runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2006, 01:27 AM   #15
Icebreaker88
Senior Member
 
Icebreaker88's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Warren, MI
Posts: 3,082
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I cleaned the head up and visually inspected it , looked like no cracks.
As for the bolts they looked good also.
I reassembled everything and it runs fine and does not pressurize the coolant system anymore so hopefully problem fixed. also got rid of my exhaust manifold leak
Thanks for all the input
__________________
[QUOTE=TurdBronco;1095911]I don't usually race cause it is still a focus.[/QUOTE]
Icebreaker88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2006, 12:15 PM   #16
h8pvmnt
Swamp Stomper
 
h8pvmnt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: warren,mi.
Posts: 981
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Icebreaker88
Oh yeah and Ed I own a Jeep now so I am sure I will be working on it all the time:miff:
You didn't ask me my opinion before you bought it, so don't try to blame me now.
Jeep> <Mike
h8pvmnt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2006, 07:26 PM   #17
Icebreaker88
Senior Member
 
Icebreaker88's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Warren, MI
Posts: 3,082
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Oh by the way Ed that track bar made a world of diffrence.
Thanks
__________________
[QUOTE=TurdBronco;1095911]I don't usually race cause it is still a focus.[/QUOTE]
Icebreaker88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2006, 10:49 PM   #18
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,793
iTrader: (58)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Icebreaker88
Oh by the way Ed that track bar made a world of diffrence.
Thanks
Did you have the Death Wobble?

I have a crappy rubicon express bar, with a Heim joint. Even 1/32nd of play in that heim joist caused massive deathwobble.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2006, 11:14 PM   #19
Icebreaker88
Senior Member
 
Icebreaker88's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Warren, MI
Posts: 3,082
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

It had a little death wobble. It had some type of aftermarket track bar I was told because the frame end of it was threaded and replacable, but it was wasted.
__________________
[QUOTE=TurdBronco;1095911]I don't usually race cause it is still a focus.[/QUOTE]
Icebreaker88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Jeep Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.46156 seconds with 77 queries