Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Axle Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old July 20th, 2007, 09:52 AM   #1
Jeepaholic
Axle Guru Extraordinaire
 
Jeepaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-08-06
Location: Owosso
Posts: 7,293
iTrader: (116)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Jeepaholic Send a message via MSN to Jeepaholic
Default V8 or better crawl ratio?

Which is better? Seems like a V8 is needed because of all the mud. But many people just go for the better crawl ratio and keep the 4.0?

What did you do, or would do?
Jeepaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2007, 09:55 AM   #2
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,555
iTrader: (54)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Well.... what are you having trouble with now that you need to go bigger/lower for?

Since you've already added the big axles, I don't see a lot of downside to a V8. Not much difference in weight compared to the 4.0. But it won't help any in slow speed 1st gear crawling over the 4.0.


Not a Jeep, but I've stayed 4 cyl and 100:1 gears. Not enough for my tasted, moving to 205:1 soon. Keeping the 4, but putting a little turd polish on it. As of yet, I haven't not been able to follow bigger motors through the mud, although hill climbs its underpowered.
Haggar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2007, 10:30 AM   #3
Jeepaholic
Axle Guru Extraordinaire
 
Jeepaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-08-06
Location: Owosso
Posts: 7,293
iTrader: (116)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Jeepaholic Send a message via MSN to Jeepaholic
Default

I overheated the trans and can't go lower gearing in the axles as I have the 3 speed auto and drive it on the road still, which I am already over geared. I could just buy a atlas but seems I still won't have enough HP for the tire size in the mud. Plus I would like to have OD.

Last edited by Jeepaholic; July 20th, 2007 at 10:36 AM.
Jeepaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2007, 10:36 AM   #4
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,555
iTrader: (54)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

5.3 + 4L60 will solve both problems. Lower 1st + deep overdrive + V8 powah! They are cheap to buy.
Haggar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2007, 10:53 AM   #5
Jeepaholic
Axle Guru Extraordinaire
 
Jeepaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-08-06
Location: Owosso
Posts: 7,293
iTrader: (116)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Jeepaholic Send a message via MSN to Jeepaholic
Default

Ya that is why I was thinking v8, my top 3

4.7l v8, 45rfe
6.1 hemi (ouch!)
or a v8 with 2 extra cylinders and a 48re
Jeepaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2007, 11:20 AM   #6
jeepfreak81
81 inches of fun
 
jeepfreak81's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-10-05
Location: Lennon, Mi
Posts: 12,156
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to jeepfreak81 Send a message via MSN to jeepfreak81 Send a message via Yahoo to jeepfreak81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Haggar View Post
5.3 + 4L60 will solve both problems. Lower 1st + deep overdrive + V8 powah! They are cheap to buy.
I agree.... and you always can find Chevy V8 parts... even in BFE!


jeepfreak81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2007, 11:48 AM   #7
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,555
iTrader: (54)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

4.7l v8, 45rfe : Underpowered, overpriced.

6.1 hemi (ouch!) waaaayy overpriced for what you get. You can get the same power from an 6.0 chevy with an LS6 cam and intake for half the cost.

or a v8 with 2 extra cylinders and a 48re: Heavy, crappy gearing in trans, ~ same HP than a 5.3. You don't need torque, you need HP. My 4 cyl make enough torque, its HP we all need for wheelspeed. (I own one of these funny V8 +2s with a shitty 48RE..)

5.3s make ~ 300 hp, are available in Aluminum blocks (iron blocks are basically the same weight as a 4.0, the Aluminum block versions are about 80lbs LIGHTER than a 4.0 boat anchor). Iron blocks are available for about $700 all over the place, Aluminums are more like $2k. 4L60es are cheap and easy to swap in.

Gen III GM V8s have better reliability than any of those others.
Haggar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2007, 12:02 PM   #8
Mud'N'Truck
I'll Finsh One, One Day
 
Mud'N'Truck's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-30-06
Location: Interlochen, Michigan
Posts: 2,339
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Why dont you just build your 4.0. Do a stroker of somthing. I am going the v8 route with my truck and it is being a pain in the butt. You probley have more room then i do though cuz the I6 is longer then my 4cyl. I went the 350 route just cuz you can build as much power as you want just depends how deep your pockets are.

If i were you id look into building your 4.0. Maybe do the 4.7 stroker and all the other things before you do a v8. Little easier then a v8 swap.
Mud'N'Truck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2007, 12:05 PM   #9
whiterhino
I'm not old, honest...
 
whiterhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-07-06
Location: Davisburg MI
Posts: 20,749
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Default

Are you looking to buy a bolt in motor? I have a 97 Vortec 5.7 with a zz4 cam and alum intake that I just pulled out. It has a knock at startup & should be rebuilt. But it ran great.

The other option is the gm 6.0. Just installed it & it is Niiiice.
whiterhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2007, 12:42 PM   #10
Jeepaholic
Axle Guru Extraordinaire
 
Jeepaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-08-06
Location: Owosso
Posts: 7,293
iTrader: (116)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Jeepaholic Send a message via MSN to Jeepaholic
Default

4.7l v8, 45rfe : Underpowered, overpriced. This was my original idea, but underpowered but not to bad a price.

6.1 hemi (ouch!) waaaayy overpriced for what you get. You can get the same power from an 6.0 chevy with an LS6 cam and intake for half the cost. So true, decided it was WAY to much money

or a v8 with 2 extra cylinders and a 48re: Heavy, crappy gearing in trans, ~ same HP than a 5.3. You don't need torque, you need HP. My 4 cyl make enough torque, its HP we all need for wheelspeed. (I own one of these funny V8 +2s with a shitty 48RE..) Even if it is made from aluminum? Was wondering about the trans. A 5.3 puts out 505hp?
Jeepaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2007, 12:46 PM   #11
Jeepaholic
Axle Guru Extraordinaire
 
Jeepaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-08-06
Location: Owosso
Posts: 7,293
iTrader: (116)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Jeepaholic Send a message via MSN to Jeepaholic
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whiterhino View Post
Are you looking to buy a bolt in motor? I have a 97 Vortec 5.7 with a zz4 cam and alum intake that I just pulled out. It has a knock at startup & should be rebuilt. But it ran great.

The other option is the gm 6.0. Just installed it & it is Niiiice.
Not a real big GM guy. I know everyone else is. Plus I don't want to deal with all the extra wiring for the gauges.

And my 4.0 only has 51k on it. It will make a really nice motor for someone else Plus to get OD I would swap in a AW4 which is about as big a pain as a motor swap.
Jeepaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2007, 02:05 PM   #12
whiterhino
I'm not old, honest...
 
whiterhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-07-06
Location: Davisburg MI
Posts: 20,749
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Default

Alot of people really like stroking the 4.0. Silverxj's runs strong.
whiterhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2007, 02:24 PM   #13
Jeepaholic
Axle Guru Extraordinaire
 
Jeepaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-08-06
Location: Owosso
Posts: 7,293
iTrader: (116)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Jeepaholic Send a message via MSN to Jeepaholic
Default

What is average HP of the stroker, 250hp? It would be less headache but I wonder if it is worth the time, compared to a motor swap.
Jeepaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2007, 02:26 PM   #14
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,555
iTrader: (54)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99grandtj View Post
Even if it is made from aluminum? Was wondering about the trans. A 5.3 puts out 505hp?
THen you are just paying again for more than you need..

Hehehe, I'm currently working on 550 hp small blocks for GM...
Haggar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2007, 02:28 PM   #15
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,555
iTrader: (54)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99grandtj View Post
What is average HP of the stroker, 250hp? It would be less headache but I wonder if it is worth the time, compared to a motor swap.
probably about accurate there. It'll cost more to build a correctly built stroker than to buy a V8 and the adapters. And you'll have less horsepower.

If its simplicity you are after, get a Jeep 5.2 / 4 speed / t-case of your choice. Then put heads and a cam in it.

I'd still go 5.3 or 6.0 first.
Haggar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2007, 02:29 PM   #16
Jeepaholic
Axle Guru Extraordinaire
 
Jeepaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-08-06
Location: Owosso
Posts: 7,293
iTrader: (116)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Jeepaholic Send a message via MSN to Jeepaholic
Default

But it ain't no 5.3

I figure more is always better :miff: Just like 60's, never need it but what the hell
Jeepaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2007, 02:35 PM   #17
Jeepaholic
Axle Guru Extraordinaire
 
Jeepaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-08-06
Location: Owosso
Posts: 7,293
iTrader: (116)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Jeepaholic Send a message via MSN to Jeepaholic
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Haggar View Post
probably about accurate there. It'll cost more to build a correctly built stroker than to buy a V8 and the adapters. And you'll have less horsepower.

If its simplicity you are after, get a Jeep 5.2 / 4 speed / t-case of your choice. Then put heads and a cam in it.
That is what I figured, for the same $$$ and time might as well have more room for improvement.

I was looking at a 360 awhile ago, I will look more at that

Thanks for all the good input also
Jeepaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2007, 02:50 PM   #18
jeepfreak81
81 inches of fun
 
jeepfreak81's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-10-05
Location: Lennon, Mi
Posts: 12,156
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to jeepfreak81 Send a message via MSN to jeepfreak81 Send a message via Yahoo to jeepfreak81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99grandtj View Post
Not a real big GM guy. I know everyone else is. Plus I don't want to deal with all the extra wiring for the gauges.

And my 4.0 only has 51k on it. It will make a really nice motor for someone else Plus to get OD I would swap in a AW4 which is about as big a pain as a motor swap.
Bah aftermarket Gauges.... I smell a Chevy under your hood soon... come to the dark side young Skywalker...
jeepfreak81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2007, 03:01 PM   #19
Jeepaholic
Axle Guru Extraordinaire
 
Jeepaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-08-06
Location: Owosso
Posts: 7,293
iTrader: (116)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Jeepaholic Send a message via MSN to Jeepaholic
Default

If anything it would be an aluminum engine. But will never happen.
Jeepaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2007, 03:35 PM   #20
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,555
iTrader: (54)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepfreak81 View Post
Bah aftermarket Gauges.... I smell a Chevy under your hood soon... come to the dark side young Skywalker...
I'm doing this to my truck. Factory gages aren't accurate (trust me, I make them for a living, I know!), and the older they get, the worse. Senders, too, often are inaccurate or bad.

All new gages, all new senders(I'm even swapping in a new gas sender), and a programmable electronic speedometer is the way to go. Is it necessary? no, but I hate not having an accurate speedometer. These you push the button, drive a mile, push it again and its calibrated.

I'm using VDO gages, since I work for VDO. Cheaper than bling bling autometer, but better quality than the parts-store sunpros and the like.
Haggar is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Axle Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.19437 seconds with 50 queries