because $500 in motor work and some stolen 33's never looked so good. - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Toyota Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 15th, 2007, 05:14 PM   #1
skife
Senior Member
 
skife's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-12-07
Location: cedar springs mi
Posts: 5,121
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to skife Send a message via MSN to skife
Default because $500 in motor work and some stolen 33's never looked so good.

It finally runs.

borrowed my brother's 33's for a poser pic, i'll probably end up buying them from him for the mounds trip.

i need to know what i emssions i can delete under the hood, it is a vaccume nightmare to get everything there, currently its just hooked up so there are no leaks in the vaccume system and it runs like crap, it also needs to be timed.

i drove it though, under its own power. made me extremely happy.



after a halfassed cleaning and wax job.

Last edited by skife; July 15th, 2007 at 07:21 PM. Reason: board doesn't like HTML.
skife is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old July 15th, 2007, 08:51 PM   #2
Buggy_Tim
(513) 891-8372
 
Buggy_Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sault Sainte Marie
Posts: 11,992
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Default

What is under the hood there?
Buggy_Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2007, 09:07 PM   #3
skife
Senior Member
 
skife's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-12-07
Location: cedar springs mi
Posts: 5,121
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to skife Send a message via MSN to skife
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MuddyPaws View Post
What is under the hood there?
22RE, comp 260 cam, downey header.

nothing special.

looks alot meaner than it actually is, i think its cool with the block painted and the header is visible :D
skife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2007, 11:40 PM   #4
Rattler
Home Sweet Homicide
 
Rattler's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-17-06
Location: Bei City
Posts: 3,659
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Have you messed with the throttle position sensor yet? You can probably get away with a tooth or 2 advance. Probably jsut want to get it running right first though.
Rattler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2007, 11:48 PM   #5
Mud'N'Truck
I'll Finsh One, One Day
 
Mud'N'Truck's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-30-06
Location: Interlochen, Michigan
Posts: 2,358
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Looks good. Cant wait for mounds trip.
Mud'N'Truck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2007, 09:34 AM   #6
skife
Senior Member
 
skife's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-12-07
Location: cedar springs mi
Posts: 5,121
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to skife Send a message via MSN to skife
Default

i think the TPS is bad. it has always idled bad, idles up then idles down about 500rps, then back up.

but now i've got to get the O2 sensor bung welded on.

what do the 3 sensors that sit on top of the valve cover do? I know vaccume lines are supposed to be hooked to them, but they arn't. I've actually got all the vaccume lines plugged right now.
skife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2007, 11:33 AM   #7
Rattler
Home Sweet Homicide
 
Rattler's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-17-06
Location: Bei City
Posts: 3,659
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I will check when I get home if noone answers before that.
Rattler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2007, 12:20 PM   #8
Buggy_Tim
(513) 891-8372
 
Buggy_Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sault Sainte Marie
Posts: 11,992
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skife View Post
looks alot meaner than it actually is, i think its cool with the block painted and the header is visible :D
That's why I asked.
Buggy_Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2007, 04:20 PM   #9
skife
Senior Member
 
skife's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-12-07
Location: cedar springs mi
Posts: 5,121
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to skife Send a message via MSN to skife
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MuddyPaws View Post
That's why I asked.
i think it'll hold its own pretty decent in 4 Low, not fast, but maybe go some places, after i get it running right i'm going to look into doing a SAS.
Friend of mine is buying an 84 4runner that the motor runs and its all there except the front end is smashed, he doesn't have a job so i'll probably just buy the thing from him for cheap.
skife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2007, 04:31 PM   #10
bigjay
The Man Myth And Legend
 
bigjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-07-07
Location: i can piss on the allegan and barry county line at the same time.. ...
Posts: 5,121
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

nice truck...but your still gay.... ...lol
bigjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2007, 04:37 PM   #11
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,756
iTrader: (57)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skife View Post
i think it'll hold its own pretty decent in 4 Low, not fast, but maybe go some places, after i get it running right i'm going to look into doing a SAS.
Friend of mine is buying an 84 4runner that the motor runs and its all there except the front end is smashed, he doesn't have a job so i'll probably just buy the thing from him for cheap.
I haven't run into any spot yet where I needed more power with my truck (22RE, bone stock, 115k miles), running 4.88s, 2.28x2.28, and 36s. I'm tossing in a cam (252S crawler) and 4-2-1 thorley, and calling it good. The truck just plan works. In low range, there's no issues. I'm at 100:1 now, going to 200:1, just for the really really low stuff I've been running into.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2007, 05:15 PM   #12
974x4Taco
Flex Is OverRated
 
974x4Taco's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-19-06
Location: Battle Creek
Posts: 2,079
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skife View Post
i think the TPS is bad. it has always idled bad, idles up then idles down about 500rps, then back up.

but now i've got to get the O2 sensor bung welded on.

what do the 3 sensors that sit on top of the valve cover do? I know vaccume lines are supposed to be hooked to them, but they arn't. I've actually got all the vaccume lines plugged right now.


check your MAF sensor........mine was all dirty and it was doing alot of the same crap.
974x4Taco is online now   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2007, 06:11 PM   #13
skife
Senior Member
 
skife's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-12-07
Location: cedar springs mi
Posts: 5,121
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to skife Send a message via MSN to skife
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 974x4Taco View Post
check your MAF sensor........mine was all dirty and it was doing alot of the same crap.
so just clean it with carb cleaner or something?

i'll try that.
skife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2007, 07:14 PM   #14
Rattler
Home Sweet Homicide
 
Rattler's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-17-06
Location: Bei City
Posts: 3,659
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Here are a couple websites about the TPS (not the reports!!).

http://www.4crawler.com/4x4/CheapTricks/TPS/index.shtml

http://www.well.com/~mosk/EFI1.htm
Rattler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2007, 07:37 PM   #15
skife
Senior Member
 
skife's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-12-07
Location: cedar springs mi
Posts: 5,121
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to skife Send a message via MSN to skife
Default

troubleshooting begins tomorrow. :D
i feel confident about this.

thanks everyone.
skife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2007, 12:00 AM   #16
Mud'N'Truck
I'll Finsh One, One Day
 
Mud'N'Truck's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-30-06
Location: Interlochen, Michigan
Posts: 2,358
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

If you end up needing any parts just tell me. Still have that motor sitting in my garage. Good luck gettin it going.
Mud'N'Truck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2007, 12:34 AM   #17
skife
Senior Member
 
skife's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-12-07
Location: cedar springs mi
Posts: 5,121
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to skife Send a message via MSN to skife
Default

thanks man, i appreciate it. if you need anything let me know, i've got some MISC chevy shit laying around
skife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2007, 01:02 AM   #18
skife
Senior Member
 
skife's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-12-07
Location: cedar springs mi
Posts: 5,121
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to skife Send a message via MSN to skife
Default

might need a TPS, Vaccume lines are all hooked up right. everthing else seems to work, i'll get a multimeter on the TPS tomorrow to see if it is messed up.
i drove it today, i'd hit the gas and it'd stall out. like it was dumping fuel.

so tps?
skife is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Toyota Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.21180 seconds with 74 queries