Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old July 11th, 2007, 03:44 PM   #1
matt3liv
Senior Member
 
matt3liv's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-17-06
Location: Fenton
Posts: 385
iTrader: (0)
A simple question ...

I'm a late blooming car guy, meaning I don't know as much about trucks as I'd like to know.

I just bought a scrambler with 302ho efi out of a lincoln, AOD tranny, BW1356 TC, and old bronco axles (D44 and 9"). I guess I better get to know Ford stuff.

Question : Am I looking at an electronic speed sensor? When I look at the back end of the TC, I see two wires sticking out of a small connector. One is red, the other white. Is this an electronic speed sensor? If so, do they normally wire directly into the back of an electronic gauge? The scrambler does not have a working speedo. The speedo in the dash is the original, all other gauges have been replaced.
matt3liv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2007, 07:58 AM   #2
matt3liv
Senior Member
 
matt3liv's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-17-06
Location: Fenton
Posts: 385
iTrader: (0)





Here are some pictures of the case itself. There is a third connection that I thought I got a picture of, but I must have missed it. The connector that I originally thought was the speedo sensor is actually red and green wires. It looks like the gears might be in the housing immediately to the side of the wire output. Is that right?
matt3liv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2007, 07:31 PM   #3
TurdBronco
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 11-14-05
Location: Center Line
Posts: 988
iTrader: (6)
Send a message via AIM to TurdBronco
yea that looks like the vss.

you need a speedo cable. That should be coming out of the hole next to that sensor.
TurdBronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2007, 10:33 PM   #4
offroad86b2
Senior Member
 
offroad86b2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-29-05
Location: Mount Clemens,MI.
Posts: 243
iTrader: (1)
Send a message via AIM to offroad86b2
Quote:
Originally Posted by TurdBronco View Post
yea that looks like the vss.

you need a speedo cable. That should be coming out of the hole next to that sensor.
X2 on the speedo cable
offroad86b2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2007, 10:53 PM   #5
Buggy_Tim
(513) 891-8372
 
Buggy_Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sault Sainte Marie
Posts: 11,616
iTrader: (12)
The one with the blue and white looks like a 4wd indicator and the other one with red/green is for sure the VSS. The electrical connector there could be for a couple of things....could be an input for the PCM or cruise or it could actually be the input for the dash speedo. Some of those fords had a VSS just like that and DID NOT have a cable. They looked like they SHOULD have a cable but they didn't.

Typically if it had that piggy back electrical connector, it did not have a cable.

Look down inside the thing and see if it has a white plug in the speedo cable hole.

Last edited by Buggy_Tim; July 13th, 2007 at 01:45 AM.
Buggy_Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2007, 01:11 AM   #6
Bronco Sally
Lets go wheelin
 
Join Date: 10-31-06
Location: windsor ontario
Posts: 785
iTrader: (3)
Send a message via MSN to Bronco Sally
yeah not sure about the wires, but the hole next to it, thats hwere the speedo cable goes..
Bronco Sally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2007, 07:47 AM   #7
matt3liv
Senior Member
 
matt3liv's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-17-06
Location: Fenton
Posts: 385
iTrader: (0)
I took another quick look last night after TB responded. I didn't pull the unit out, but there is certainly a hole next to the red and green wires.

So, what I'm hearing is pull it out, and see if the gears are in there too, then I just need a mechanical speedo cable to run up to the gauge. (Assuming gearing is correct, etc., even though I know it won't be.)

I have a stock CJ speedo in the dash right now, but the previous owner put in Sun pro engine temp, oil pressure, and voltage. He also put in an autometer tach. Any chance I can use the stock speedo, or am I better off getting an aftermarket?

Thanks for the help all!
matt3liv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2007, 09:43 AM   #8
PavementPounder
I am the law.
 
PavementPounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Birmingham, Michigan 48009
Posts: 29,824
iTrader: (224)
None of that stuff has any effect on the speedo. Worst case you may have to have one made with the right ends.
PavementPounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2007, 11:19 AM   #9
Buggy_Tim
(513) 891-8372
 
Buggy_Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sault Sainte Marie
Posts: 11,616
iTrader: (12)
There WILL be a gear in there.....even if it never had a cable. Ford used that style VSS for several years on many different vehicles including the Taurus.

Some had a cable, some didn't. If it didn't have a cable, there will be a plug jammed in there down below where the slots for the clip are.
Buggy_Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.11686 seconds with 28 queries