305/350 PCM interface question - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 13th, 2006, 02:06 PM   #1
Bones
skillicous
 
Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 11,554
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bones
Default 305/350 PCM interface question

Can a PCM from a truck with a 350 run a 305 motor? Only difference I know of are injectors......

Basically I have a PCM from a 350 in my jeep. I want to run a 305 while I rebuild my 350.... will it run or do I need a PCM from a 305? Trans is a TH400 so that doesn't matter.

EDIT- These are TBI motors...
__________________
Inviscid Motorsports

Special Thanks and Recommendations to;
Motorcity Machines
Ironman Offroad
Branik Motorsports
Maxxis Tires

Raceline Wheels
PAC Racing Springs
Joint Clutch and Gear
Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old February 13th, 2006, 04:30 PM   #2
KILLER"B"468
Yankabilly
 
KILLER"B"468's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Hendersonville Tn.
Posts: 7,945
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

I would say yes that the PCM can run the 305... It may run rich due to the fuel map. I have seen 305 PCM support 350's. The cam grind is different. The TBI's are all the same from the 5.0 to the 5.7, and I believe the 4.3 as well.
__________________
being on the eastern edge of the central time zone sucks...it gets dark WAY to early.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
An occasional jello or vasoline wrestling match isn't out of the question either.
KILLER"B"468 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2006, 04:47 PM   #3
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,792
iTrader: (58)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

Thats my understanding as well.

If you were going to be running it for a long time, you could talk to someone like Howell, who could fix you up with a reprogrammed chip. Although could probably find a 305 ECU for the same cost..

As you noted, the injector sizing is different. So, after that, is mainly the ignition and fuel maps. I'd imagine the ignition curve is more or less the same, hard to say with the fuel maps.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2006, 05:44 PM   #4
Bones
skillicous
 
Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 11,554
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bones
Default

thanks, thats confirms what I thought.... now for the swap....
__________________
Inviscid Motorsports

Special Thanks and Recommendations to;
Motorcity Machines
Ironman Offroad
Branik Motorsports
Maxxis Tires

Raceline Wheels
PAC Racing Springs
Joint Clutch and Gear
Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2006, 11:13 PM   #5
k5jess
Senior Member
 
k5jess's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-15-06
Location: Pinckney, MI
Posts: 106
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I'm pretty sure the Proms are totally differnt. Check out thridgen.org they have everything you need.
k5jess is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.18085 seconds with 35 queries