CB Experts? - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 13th, 2006, 01:05 PM   #1
purplejeep
Oldbie
 
purplejeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-09-06
Location: Middleville
Posts: 4,835
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default CB Experts?

I get a lot of interference from my fuel pump through my CB. Any suggestions?
purplejeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old February 13th, 2006, 01:14 PM   #2
FlatFender
Tap Tap Splat
 
FlatFender's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Raleigh NC
Posts: 15,801
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Is it wired straight to the battery? or the Fuse panel?

If its wired to the battery, What are your SWRs? anything under 1.5:1 is acceptable

What antenna do you have?

Is your coax coiled anywhere, if it is, this can also cause some interferance. Remember, you only need as much coax to go from the CB to the antenna, no more. dont beleve it when you are told that it needs to be 18' lengths.

Some more info on your set-up would be helpful.

Check out this site www.cbradioforum.com
FlatFender is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2006, 03:40 PM   #3
purplejeep
Oldbie
 
purplejeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-09-06
Location: Middleville
Posts: 4,835
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

It plugs into the cigarette lighter for now. I will be hard wiring it soon. Witch way is best?

SWR's ? Not sure what that is but I had someone hook up a meter to the antenna and that number was very close to 1.

My antenna is a white one. from Radio Shack. I do not have a bunch of extra coax.

It works great until I turn on the key and the fuel pump starts up. I can turn up the squelch and it works but then I tend to loose any weeker signals.
purplejeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2006, 03:52 PM   #4
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,768
iTrader: (58)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Is it actually fuel pump noise? Or is it ignition system related?
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2006, 05:09 PM   #5
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,388
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

he probably has non resistance style wires on his ignition, seems to be the most common problem. you can get noise deading capacitors that clip into the power feeds and then you put a screw in the retainers to ground the body of the capacitor. check at radio shack or at a parts store.
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2006, 07:10 AM   #6
purplejeep
Oldbie
 
purplejeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-09-06
Location: Middleville
Posts: 4,835
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

It's not ignition noise. It starts and stops with the fuel pump...turn key fuel pump and noise runs for 3 seconds fuel pump stops noise stops.

I bought one of the in line noise reduction units. In the directions it told you to disconnect the antenna to see if the noise stopped. It did. So it's not coming through the power line it is coming from the antenna.

I wonder if it would stop if I put the antenna in the front?
purplejeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2006, 09:31 AM   #7
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,388
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

I wonder why the fuel pump is generating so much high frequecy noise? it seems like you have a ground issuse that is effecting your reception. is the antenna base grounded to the body properly? I just wonder how much noise you get if its removed and someone holds it where it is and the vehicle is running.
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2006, 07:03 AM   #8
purplejeep
Oldbie
 
purplejeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-09-06
Location: Middleville
Posts: 4,835
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I disconnected the atenna from the mount last night and I still get the noise. I should have a good ground to the antenna...it's bolted to my tire carrier through threaded holes.
purplejeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2006, 08:14 PM   #9
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,388
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

http://www.sacskyranch.com/altnoise.htm

__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.12315 seconds with 47 queries