Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old February 12th, 2006, 06:33 PM   #1
SageJp
Senior Member
 
SageJp's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-11-06
Location: Vassar
Posts: 404
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default 700R4 wires

I just bought a 700R4 today to put into my '95 yj that has a chevy v-8. The trans came from a '86 chevy 4x4 truck.. my question is what do the two green wires on the drive side go to. Am I going to have trouble hooking this up in my jp.
Thanks for any help on this.
SageJp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2006, 05:26 AM   #2
Quagmire
I can has layinframe
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: 48346
Posts: 5,037
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to Quagmire
Default

neutreal safety switch
__________________
Google first.....ask questions later
Quote:
Originally Posted by clarkstoncracker View Post
Actually, the new rule of thumb is you should make your tires bulge slightly more then skooterbuilt when he's wearing his tight ladies pants
Quagmire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2006, 09:52 AM   #3
KILLER"B"468
Yankabilly
 
KILLER"B"468's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Hendersonville Tn.
Posts: 7,945
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Take a pic put is it a 4 prong conector with 2 wires? Are they "add on's" not factory looking. one with be a 12 volt source coming from a brake switch for the trans to unlock lockup. and the other will be a ground source. But you do need which one is which.
__________________
being on the eastern edge of the central time zone sucks...it gets dark WAY to early.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
An occasional jello or vasoline wrestling match isn't out of the question either.
KILLER"B"468 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2006, 05:40 PM   #4
SageJp
Senior Member
 
SageJp's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-11-06
Location: Vassar
Posts: 404
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

heres a picture of the wires that are coming out of my trans.
SageJp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2006, 08:37 AM   #5
KILLER"B"468
Yankabilly
 
KILLER"B"468's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Hendersonville Tn.
Posts: 7,945
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

My book shows that they are both 12v 0.5 amp circuts

A - being the outer wire, controlling a pressure switch that is NC (normally closed)

B - being the one closest the trans, controlling a pressure switch that is NO (normally open)

these switches are controlled by the computer for one, and the brake/vacuum switch for the other... there will be a ID # stamped on the pan rail on the opposite side of the pic you posted. At the back corner facing at you. Clean it off with a brillo pad and post the #'s. I will be able to get wiring schematics for that trans. There are 5 differnt (2 wire) applications.
__________________
being on the eastern edge of the central time zone sucks...it gets dark WAY to early.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
An occasional jello or vasoline wrestling match isn't out of the question either.
KILLER"B"468 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2006, 09:14 AM   #6
SageJp
Senior Member
 
SageJp's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-11-06
Location: Vassar
Posts: 404
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Killer"B",
the ID # is 6MRM247H
thanks for your help on this.
SageJp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2006, 06:08 AM   #7
SageJp
Senior Member
 
SageJp's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-11-06
Location: Vassar
Posts: 404
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I just bolted this trans and I still need help getting this trans hooked up right into my yj.
I would like to have this completed by tomarrow, so any help is appreciated.
SageJp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2006, 08:53 AM   #8
KILLER"B"468
Yankabilly
 
KILLER"B"468's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Hendersonville Tn.
Posts: 7,945
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

was in florida... I will try to get you the wiring specs.
__________________
being on the eastern edge of the central time zone sucks...it gets dark WAY to early.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
An occasional jello or vasoline wrestling match isn't out of the question either.
KILLER"B"468 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2006, 02:55 PM   #9
SageJp
Senior Member
 
SageJp's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-11-06
Location: Vassar
Posts: 404
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Thanks "B"! I'd appreciate it.
SageJp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2006, 07:09 AM   #10
jeepfreak81
81 inches of fun
 
jeepfreak81's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-10-05
Location: Lennon, Mi
Posts: 12,144
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to jeepfreak81 Send a message via MSN to jeepfreak81 Send a message via Yahoo to jeepfreak81
Default

I wish I had pictures, I re-wired mine internally for the lockup without computer. It was so long ago i dont remember how though

I remember there was a pressure switch I had to replace to do this though.
jeepfreak81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.10139 seconds with 30 queries