HDMI wtf!! - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 8th, 2006, 01:00 PM   #1
Lothos
KD8GKB
 
Lothos's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-17-05
Location: .5 past lightspeed
Posts: 6,506
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to Lothos Send a message via AIM to Lothos Send a message via Yahoo to Lothos
Default HDMI wtf!!

Ok, so I needed a new fiber cable for my tv and was looking at the HDMI cables that are the new fancy choices for av hookup. Min price was $99 for a 4 footer. Christ that's expensive for a lesser quality cable.


HDMI stands for High Definition Multimedia Interface. It consists of 4 wires for video, left channel audio, right channel audio, and ground. It is of a poorer choice for digital connections than optical audio with component video. Component video is 3 wire video for red, green, blue connections.

Last edited by Lothos; February 8th, 2006 at 01:04 PM.
Lothos is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old February 8th, 2006, 01:05 PM   #2
Sandals
Fucking Zen as Shit
 
Sandals's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lindenhurst, IL
Posts: 15,314
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

And actually real component video is 5 wire, Red, Green, Blue, Horizontal sync and vertical sync.

HDMI sucks, approx same quality as S-video, a more expensive, fragile connector.
Sandals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2006, 01:08 PM   #3
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,605
iTrader: (55)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

For whatever you are getting, check out http://www.bluejeanscable.com

They are pretty well regarded. I will be buying my 25 ft runs from them. (should have already but i'm lazy)..
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2006, 01:10 PM   #4
Lothos
KD8GKB
 
Lothos's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-17-05
Location: .5 past lightspeed
Posts: 6,506
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to Lothos Send a message via AIM to Lothos Send a message via Yahoo to Lothos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandals
And actually real component video is 5 wire, Red, Green, Blue, Horizontal sync and vertical sync.

HDMI sucks, approx same quality as S-video, a more expensive, fragile connector.

I never seen the synch connections. I think S video is a fragile connector myself. DVI doesn't seem too bad, as my pc uses it.
Lothos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2006, 01:12 PM   #5
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,605
iTrader: (55)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandals
And actually real component video is 5 wire, Red, Green, Blue, Horizontal sync and vertical sync.

HDMI sucks, approx same quality as S-video, a more expensive, fragile connector.
Are you referring to analog over HDMI/DVI, or digital?

Having run both from an Oppo Digital upconverting DVD, the DVI to HDMI cable was no visible difference compared with the good quality component cables I use. That was with 5 ft signals lengths 1080i resolution. Could tell no difference, both looked great.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2006, 01:12 PM   #6
Hal9000
I Ride a Bike
 
Hal9000's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
Posts: 2,336
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Hal9000
Default

actually everything that i've read and heard is that HDMI is much higher quality than DVI and is the way to go.
Hal9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2006, 01:13 PM   #7
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,605
iTrader: (55)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Just looked ovre at BJC, looks like a 15 footer is under $50 for most DVI and DVI/HDMI cables.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2006, 01:14 PM   #8
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,605
iTrader: (55)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hal9000
actually everything that i've read and heard is that HDMI is much higher quality than DVI and is the way to go.
Well, some things run an analog signal over the cable, which is mainly like running S-video, i.e. poopoo on a big screen.

DVI to HDMI looks beautiful.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2006, 01:18 PM   #9
Sandals
Fucking Zen as Shit
 
Sandals's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lindenhurst, IL
Posts: 15,314
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

My comments come from different applications. Where as you guys are using a 5' to 25' cables, I commonly use 150' to 300' cables. Thats where you start to see the difference.
Also the fact that I'm seeing the video replicated on 15' x 20' screens as oppose to 52" TV
Sandals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2006, 01:19 PM   #10
Lothos
KD8GKB
 
Lothos's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-17-05
Location: .5 past lightspeed
Posts: 6,506
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to Lothos Send a message via AIM to Lothos Send a message via Yahoo to Lothos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Haggar
Are you referring to analog over HDMI/DVI, or digital?

Having run both from an Oppo Digital upconverting DVD, the DVI to HDMI cable was no visible difference compared with the good quality component cables I use. That was with 5 ft signals lengths 1080i resolution. Could tell no difference, both looked great.

I have the same dvd player coming tomorrow. I meant in general HDMI for digital is not as good as component video.
Lothos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2006, 01:21 PM   #11
Lothos
KD8GKB
 
Lothos's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-17-05
Location: .5 past lightspeed
Posts: 6,506
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to Lothos Send a message via AIM to Lothos Send a message via Yahoo to Lothos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandals
My comments come from different applications. Where as you guys are using a 5' to 25' cables, I commonly use 150' to 300' cables. Thats where you start to see the difference.
Also the fact that I'm seeing the video replicated on 15' x 20' screens as oppose to 52" TV

If you can see the difference on long runs or big screens, its justification for using the best stuff for even small runs or tv's.


Oh, and Hal, a cable running an audio signal and video signal in one can't possibly be better than a dedicated cable for both.
Lothos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2006, 01:21 PM   #12
deuce228
Redneck Poser
 
deuce228's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: West Branch, MI
Posts: 7,971
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I LOVE the fact my wife works at Best Buy.................

5% over cost..............

You would shit at the savings...........
deuce228 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2006, 01:22 PM   #13
Lothos
KD8GKB
 
Lothos's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-17-05
Location: .5 past lightspeed
Posts: 6,506
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to Lothos Send a message via AIM to Lothos Send a message via Yahoo to Lothos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deuce228
I LOVE the fact my wife works at Best Buy.................

5% over cost..............

You would shit at the savings...........

woah, 5% over cost is nothing to sneeze at, but $100 for a 4 foot cable is fucking ridiculous. I'd like to know cost on a 4 foot HDMI for best buy just to know how much reaming they are doing to joe stupid customer.
Lothos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2006, 01:44 PM   #14
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,605
iTrader: (55)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Well, BB doesn't sell any good cables, thats the issue.


Hmm, Lothos, I just sent my Oppo back for a refund.

We did a couple hours of direct side by side comparison. I used the HDMI from the oppo and my other DVD player with component video, on two inputs.

For film, we used LOTR discs. For cartoon/video, I used Family guy discs. For video, we used 'evening with kevin smith;... all of those were because they are multi-disc sets so comparable shots could be used with both players playing simultaneously.

Also ran about 15 other discs through them for various tests.

My current DVD player is a Toshiba/Onkyo 6 disc changer. I bought it Xmas of 1998, its ancient, big, and heavy. I don't see anything that says progressive scan, but it does have component output.

We tested for several hours, both my wife and I really saw no discernable difference in picture between the two. Tried 540p, 720p, 1080i resolutions on the TV, and as the outputs on the Oppo.

Our TV is a Toshiba 65HC15, 65" CRT. The internal upconversion seemed just as good as the Faroudja chip. I was surpised at this. We REALLY wanted to keep the Oppo. Its beautiful, evreything about it, but couldn't see any difference over the old player.

Well, I shouldn't say that. There IS one difference, its negative. The Faroudja DCD chip is known for causing macroblocking, and I saw it in spades on our set. It was very distracting. If I softened the contrast to where I normally would be on a film presentation, then it minimized it, but it was still worse than the other player with the TV's internal upconversion. But on our normal lit-room settings it was really distracting. I wondered if I was biased, because I knew to look for it, but my wife also picked it out without me saying anything.

It shows up in dark scenes. Watch something like the Moria scenes in LOTR-FOTR or the lighting of the beacons in LOTR-ROTK (at least, those were test discs where we saw the blocking).. the dark areas are quite blocky.

At least, that was our opinion. I would imagine it may vary set to set depending on the internal logic.

Otherwise, the Oppo is really nice. Cool blue backlighting, nice on screen menus, good pic..
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2006, 01:45 PM   #15
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,605
iTrader: (55)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lothos
woah, 5% over cost is nothing to sneeze at, but $100 for a 4 foot cable is fucking ridiculous. I'd like to know cost on a 4 foot HDMI for best buy just to know how much reaming they are doing to joe stupid customer.
Considering a higher quality 6 foot cable is $32 at BJC...
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2006, 02:08 PM   #16
Lothos
KD8GKB
 
Lothos's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-17-05
Location: .5 past lightspeed
Posts: 6,506
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to Lothos Send a message via AIM to Lothos Send a message via Yahoo to Lothos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Haggar
Well, BB doesn't sell any good cables, thats the issue.


Hmm, Lothos, I just sent my Oppo back for a refund.

We did a couple hours of direct side by side comparison. I used the HDMI from the oppo and my other DVD player with component video, on two inputs.

For film, we used LOTR discs. For cartoon/video, I used Family guy discs. For video, we used 'evening with kevin smith;... all of those were because they are multi-disc sets so comparable shots could be used with both players playing simultaneously.

Also ran about 15 other discs through them for various tests.

My current DVD player is a Toshiba/Onkyo 6 disc changer. I bought it Xmas of 1998, its ancient, big, and heavy. I don't see anything that says progressive scan, but it does have component output.

We tested for several hours, both my wife and I really saw no discernable difference in picture between the two. Tried 540p, 720p, 1080i resolutions on the TV, and as the outputs on the Oppo.

Our TV is a Toshiba 65HC15, 65" CRT. The internal upconversion seemed just as good as the Faroudja chip. I was surpised at this. We REALLY wanted to keep the Oppo. Its beautiful, evreything about it, but couldn't see any difference over the old player.

Well, I shouldn't say that. There IS one difference, its negative. The Faroudja DCD chip is known for causing macroblocking, and I saw it in spades on our set. It was very distracting. If I softened the contrast to where I normally would be on a film presentation, then it minimized it, but it was still worse than the other player with the TV's internal upconversion. But on our normal lit-room settings it was really distracting. I wondered if I was biased, because I knew to look for it, but my wife also picked it out without me saying anything.

It shows up in dark scenes. Watch something like the Moria scenes in LOTR-FOTR or the lighting of the beacons in LOTR-ROTK (at least, those were test discs where we saw the blocking).. the dark areas are quite blocky.

At least, that was our opinion. I would imagine it may vary set to set depending on the internal logic.

Otherwise, the Oppo is really nice. Cool blue backlighting, nice on screen menus, good pic..

Cool. One reason I got the Oppo was I needed a new player since I moved a set and player to the basement. So, with a new one needed I wanted it to have digital sound out which my previous didn't have and also wanted Dobly, DTS, or some other good sound feature in the player which my previous also lacked. I got the Oppo for $75 cheaper than another Panasonic I was looking at at BB.
Lothos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2006, 02:12 PM   #17
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,605
iTrader: (55)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

They were cool and have a 30 money back guarantee, so review it and if you don't like, you are safe.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2006, 02:14 PM   #18
Lothos
KD8GKB
 
Lothos's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-17-05
Location: .5 past lightspeed
Posts: 6,506
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to Lothos Send a message via AIM to Lothos Send a message via Yahoo to Lothos
Default

I picked upa cheapie gold plated RF cable too for the wall jack to tv connection :) Damn cable card for the HD cable doesn't show up till next week though...bastards.
Lothos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2006, 02:33 PM   #19
deuce228
Redneck Poser
 
deuce228's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: West Branch, MI
Posts: 7,971
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Considering I bought 80 bucks of cheaper av cables for under 20. Also, I was unaware that all their cables are junk.

I know when I bought a surge bar it was priced at 35 and it was 7 cost.

Something to keep in mind is they are making slim or no margin on their Tv's and what not, so they use the accessories to make money. I know it isn't how i would like it done but I also know even I shop their price against the competition.
deuce228 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2006, 02:35 PM   #20
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,605
iTrader: (55)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Well, I shoudln't say junk, but monster cable is pretty overrated and overpriced.

You can get broatcast quality cables for less money.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.22205 seconds with 80 queries