Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old February 1st, 2006, 06:42 PM   #1
amc78cj7
Senior Member
 
amc78cj7's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 5,352
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Dual isolator cab control

I'm setting up my dual battery isolator and looking for a rotary style switch as opposed to the toggle switch provided by Painless, etc. Let me stop here....I have searched so nobody post "search" please......

OK, back to the topic. I found this switch on granger.

30MM 4POS STAND SEL SW
Selector Switch, Non Illuminated, 4 Position, Return Type Manual, Size 30mm, Contact Type 1NC/1NO, 10 Amps, Color Black, Voltage 600 VAC, Knob Type Standard, Cam H, NEMA Type 4, 13, Standards UL, Construction Metal, Mounting Notch, Includes Operator, Knob and Contact Blocks



I'm no electrician, but should this switch work with this application where I run power to the switch from the ignition wire then run wires with inline 20amp fuses out to the isolator? I can't tell from the description if the switch is AC or DC or does it not matter with switches?

TIA.

Last edited by amc78cj7; February 2nd, 2006 at 02:35 PM.
amc78cj7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2006, 06:51 PM   #2
going-strong
'96 360 sport 4x4
 
going-strong's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-21-05
Location: livonia, MI
Posts: 684
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

im not to sure, i have never hooked up dual batteries


but one thing u will want to look for is the amp rating on the switch, you can not acced that, also it does matter for the switch, ac switch have more beef to them
going-strong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2006, 07:06 PM   #3
amc78cj7
Senior Member
 
amc78cj7's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 5,352
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

In this application the battery cables go to the isolator. This switch just channels low amp power from the ignition wire (like a 14ga. wire) out to the isolator through 20amp in-line fuses.

How do I tell if this is an AC or DC switch since it matters. It is not clear in the descriptions Granger provides.
amc78cj7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2006, 07:08 PM   #4
going-strong
'96 360 sport 4x4
 
going-strong's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-21-05
Location: livonia, MI
Posts: 684
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

if u look at the package and it is rated at 6, 12, 18, 24 volts or something like that is is most likely dc

if it is 110,220,330,440,etc. it is most likely ac


i do emphsize the words "most likely"
going-strong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2006, 07:50 PM   #5
shawn
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
 
shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Milford/Commerce
Posts: 9,921
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to shawn
Default

So, this "isolator" is just a relay? You need power to close the "isolator" so you have power? I still am not following you. But remember this. If your batteries are isolated (so you have no power running to anything) then that switch you install will be worthless because you won't have any power to it. And, what is your purpose to the isolator of this switch?
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2006, 10:04 PM   #6
amc78cj7
Senior Member
 
amc78cj7's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 5,352
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

The isolator is exactly a 200amp relay / selenoid. The ignition feeds into this switch. From one position a wire goes to the starter post on the isolator so that when the ign is on it goes through the one battery. From position two goes a wire to open the relay so the two batteries are connected when the ignition is on.

Let me see if I can post a diagram from Painless that will help....

Here is a diagram I just drafted, followed by a diagram from someone on Pirate:



Kinda like this, but with one wire coming from the switch to the on/off post of the isolator and another wire going directly from the switch to the primary battery post on the isolator:


Last edited by amc78cj7; February 2nd, 2006 at 08:13 AM.
amc78cj7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2006, 09:09 AM   #7
Mclovin
"The Situation"
 
Mclovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Westland, Mi
Posts: 14,392
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Mclovin Send a message via Yahoo to Mclovin
Default

I would go down to your local radio shack explain what u're doin how its wired and have one the electronics Guru's see if they can help u ?
Mclovin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2006, 12:27 PM   #8
shawn
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
 
shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Milford/Commerce
Posts: 9,921
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to shawn
Default

Don't you think you are overcomplicating things a bit?
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2006, 01:10 PM   #9
amc78cj7
Senior Member
 
amc78cj7's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 5,352
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

The diagram I proveded on top is the diagram from Painless where they employ a 3 position toggle switch.

Last edited by amc78cj7; February 3rd, 2006 at 07:51 AM.
amc78cj7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2006, 03:44 PM   #10
shawn
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
 
shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Milford/Commerce
Posts: 9,921
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to shawn
Default

We have that on our boat. A, B, AB, and 0. But you need to turn the knob by hand. I have not seen an electric relay style one that is made to handle those kind of amps. And the boat switch is striclty switching between batteries. I would run a starter through it, but never a winch.
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2006, 05:05 PM   #11
amc78cj7
Senior Member
 
amc78cj7's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 5,352
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Shawn, you get to wire it for me as a B-day gift.

Last edited by amc78cj7; February 3rd, 2006 at 10:59 AM.
amc78cj7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2006, 08:52 PM   #12
shawn
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
 
shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Milford/Commerce
Posts: 9,921
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to shawn
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amc78cj7
Screw it. I went with a simple on/off/on lighted toggle switch. Comes in Monday. Shawn, you get to wire it for me as a B-day gift.

That's all you want? And you are worried about theft control?

Hmm, maybe the switch fairy will leave one on your desk tonight
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2006, 09:17 PM   #13
amc78cj7
Senior Member
 
amc78cj7's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 5,352
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

It's already on order. You get to install it. :D
amc78cj7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2006, 08:25 AM   #14
wynerd
Senior Member
 
wynerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-10-05
Location: Wyandotte
Posts: 283
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I sent you a PM Jeff. Sorry I didn't see this sooner.
wynerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.14952 seconds with 38 queries