Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old January 31st, 2006, 06:38 PM   #1
Icemanii
GLFWDA Land Use Committee
 
Icemanii's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: 48085
Posts: 5,233
iTrader: (16)
s10 blazer won't start

My daughters '95 S10 won't start at all. It cranks over very quickly, but will not even spit like it wants to start. What the heck do I check? Used to the older muscle cars and CJ's with just a motor under the hood. The new computer stuff baffles me a bit.

Thanks for your help.
Icemanii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2006, 02:10 AM   #2
GMCsonoma94
1 wheel peel
 
GMCsonoma94's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: michigan
Posts: 1,577
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via AIM to GMCsonoma94
check for spark and fuel first if its a throttle body just look in there but if its a CPI motor you will have to put a gauge on it and make shure its got 55 psi i believe. that number might not be right but whatever the spec is it has to be right there and not 1 psi below.
GMCsonoma94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2006, 07:34 AM   #3
Icemanii
GLFWDA Land Use Committee
 
Icemanii's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: 48085
Posts: 5,233
iTrader: (16)
Tried listening for the fuel pump to start when I turned the key on last night. I thought you can hear it when you first turn the key, but not sure. If you can, mine is not working. Hope it is something easier as the pump is in the tank.
Icemanii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2006, 09:25 AM   #4
GMCsonoma94
1 wheel peel
 
GMCsonoma94's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: michigan
Posts: 1,577
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via AIM to GMCsonoma94
yea you can hear it. you can take a mallat and beat on the bottom of the tank sometimes and get it to kick on. if it does your goin to have to drop the tank. when i did mine i just pulled the bed off cause i had all the bolts out when i did my body lift. it was easyer that way cause i didnt feel like dealing with a full tank and i had access to a fork lift. probly should check the fuses and relays before you go digging into it tho.
GMCsonoma94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2006, 09:39 AM   #5
Icemanii
GLFWDA Land Use Committee
 
Icemanii's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: 48085
Posts: 5,233
iTrader: (16)
Would love to check the fuses and relays, just can't figure out where they are located. Hope someone can help with that, but not sure. Afraid if I take a mallet to it, might not stop hitting the damn thing!:tonka:

Do you happen to know where the second fuse box (if there is one) is located, and where the relay is?
Icemanii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2006, 01:28 PM   #6
GMCsonoma94
1 wheel peel
 
GMCsonoma94's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: michigan
Posts: 1,577
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via AIM to GMCsonoma94
did you check your owners manual? i think the relay it on the firewall but i dont rember which one. the only fuse box i got on my truck is the one on the side of the dash.
GMCsonoma94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2006, 01:45 PM   #7
Icemanii
GLFWDA Land Use Committee
 
Icemanii's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: 48085
Posts: 5,233
iTrader: (16)
I couldn't find in the owners manual where it listed which one was for the fuel pump. Have to look again at it.
Icemanii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2006, 03:42 PM   #8
GreaseMonkey
Senior Member
 
GreaseMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: Washington, MI
Posts: 17,875
iTrader: (22)
On an S-10 they should be right under the hood.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by kerryann View Post
I am not a lesbian but if I was I would do her.
GreaseMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2006, 08:14 PM   #9
Chop
Mischievous Badger
 
Chop's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Fenton Mi
Posts: 5,825
iTrader: (30)
Send a message via AIM to Chop
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreaseMonkey
On an S-10 they should be right under the hood.
YOU THINK SO NO SHIT
Chop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2006, 08:20 PM   #10
Icemanii
GLFWDA Land Use Committee
 
Icemanii's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: 48085
Posts: 5,233
iTrader: (16)
Okay, tried the beating on the tank to loosen it up, no luck. I then took the hose off the TBI, and shot some starter fluid in there. The truck started and ran for a few minutes until we shut it off. Then it would not restart, even with the starter fluid.

Any thoughts? Still cannot find a relay.
Icemanii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2006, 10:08 PM   #11
GMCsonoma94
1 wheel peel
 
GMCsonoma94's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: michigan
Posts: 1,577
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via AIM to GMCsonoma94
still soundin like you got a fuel issue to me, on my 94 you could replace just the pump itself and not the entire unit wich saves you some cash. as far as wich relay i still cant tell you wich one it is but im pretty shure its along the firewall towards the passenger side. there should be a couple there
GMCsonoma94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2006, 01:21 AM   #12
GreaseMonkey
Senior Member
 
GreaseMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: Washington, MI
Posts: 17,875
iTrader: (22)
When's the last time you replaced the fuel filter?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by kerryann View Post
I am not a lesbian but if I was I would do her.
GreaseMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2006, 07:40 AM   #13
Icemanii
GLFWDA Land Use Committee
 
Icemanii's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: 48085
Posts: 5,233
iTrader: (16)
Fuel filter about 3 months ago. As for the relay, think I will go buy one, and match it up to the 3 on the firewall. If nothing then, drop the tank.
Icemanii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2006, 09:06 AM   #14
Mclovin
"The Situation"
 
Mclovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, Mi
Posts: 14,390
iTrader: (15)
Send a message via AIM to Mclovin Send a message via Yahoo to Mclovin
Does the truck sit outside ?? it's quite possible u got some water in the fuel and it froze up inside the fuel filter causing a blockage in the path of fuel... just get a propane heater and heat that filter up but seriously pull that line off before the filter and turn the key on see if it pits anything out.. can u hear the pump running through the filler neck ?
Mclovin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2006, 09:58 AM   #15
Icemanii
GLFWDA Land Use Committee
 
Icemanii's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: 48085
Posts: 5,233
iTrader: (16)
Cannot hear the pump laying under the truck and turning the key on. Don't think it is working at all. Once I figure out the relay, will go from there.

Thanks for all your help, it is great.
Icemanii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2006, 05:14 PM   #16
GMCsonoma94
1 wheel peel
 
GMCsonoma94's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: michigan
Posts: 1,577
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via AIM to GMCsonoma94
yea unfortunately it sounds like your goin to be gettin a new pump for it. good luck.
GMCsonoma94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2006, 06:00 PM   #17
Mclovin
"The Situation"
 
Mclovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, Mi
Posts: 14,390
iTrader: (15)
Send a message via AIM to Mclovin Send a message via Yahoo to Mclovin
When u do go to replace the pump (if thats whats wrong) Might wana consider pulling the bed off Might be easier than pulling the tank especially if u dont have a lift and the tank has a lot of gas in it..
Mclovin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2006, 08:24 PM   #18
blizazer
Senior Member
 
blizazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Romeo, MI
Posts: 499
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via AIM to blizazer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muddinguy
When u do go to replace the pump (if thats whats wrong) Might wana consider pulling the bed off Might be easier than pulling the tank especially if u dont have a lift and the tank has a lot of gas in it..
Wheres the bed on his blazer?


Those TBI pumps are low pressure, and cheap from what I remember. Ive done a few blazer pumps, and its really not that bad.
blizazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2006, 11:09 PM   #19
Mclovin
"The Situation"
 
Mclovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, Mi
Posts: 14,390
iTrader: (15)
Send a message via AIM to Mclovin Send a message via Yahoo to Mclovin
Quote:
Originally Posted by blizazer
Wheres the bed on his blazer?

Forgot it was a blazer... Then do yourself a favor and syphon the gas out before u drop the tank. makes the job A LOT easier !!
Mclovin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2006, 12:53 AM   #20
GMCsonoma94
1 wheel peel
 
GMCsonoma94's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: michigan
Posts: 1,577
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via AIM to GMCsonoma94
even if its a truck 2 bolts for the tank might be easyer than 8 for the bed if they are rusty. i just pulled my bed cause i knew they would come out easy (body lift)and the tank was full. wish i could help yea out iceman.
GMCsonoma94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.18199 seconds with 50 queries