magnum/non motors - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Dodge Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 4th, 2007, 07:25 PM   #1
Motorcitydak
Merkin salesman
 
Motorcitydak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-20-06
Location: Casco, Mi
Posts: 1,247
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Motorcitydak
Default magnum/non motors

anyone know if i can put magnum heads and intake onto a pre-magnum block?
Motorcitydak is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old April 5th, 2007, 07:14 AM   #2
rustcharger
dubs ain't sh*t
 
rustcharger's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-11-06
Location: Flint, MI
Posts: 95
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

yeah but its not a direct swap
http://www.moparts.com/Tech/Archive/smallblock/7.html
rustcharger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2007, 11:29 AM   #3
Motorcitydak
Merkin salesman
 
Motorcitydak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-20-06
Location: Casco, Mi
Posts: 1,247
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Motorcitydak
Default

thanks. but i dont see why id have to redrill the holes for the intake since the intake bolts directly to the magnum heads which i will be re-using. other than that it looks like i can just bolt it up since ive already got the rite pushrods in there and the correct head bolts.

i like the idea of either the 1.6 stamped rockers or the SBC rollers(anyone tired this?)

what i was worried about was if the heads would bolt on and everything would line up, but it looks like dodge used the exact same engine blocks thru the magnum swap.
Motorcitydak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2007, 03:03 PM   #4
user name
keep your stick onthe ice
 
user name's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-23-06
Location: around MI and such
Posts: 904
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

you need to use AMC lifters because the valvetrain is oiled through the pushrods not the rocker rail on the magnum heads

edit: I wouldn't do it if i were you magnum heads are known for cracking and you can get better flowing heads in nonmagnum form. on another note if your doing it for fuel injection the old block wont work because it doesnt have a ckp sensor mount on the bellhousing.

Last edited by user name; April 5th, 2007 at 03:06 PM.
user name is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2007, 06:45 PM   #5
Motorcitydak
Merkin salesman
 
Motorcitydak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-20-06
Location: Casco, Mi
Posts: 1,247
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Motorcitydak
Default

ooo, sorry bout that, i was thinkin push rods, not lifters. that doesnt seem like a big problem. Ive got the non mag heads, but an keepin the MPFI so id either have to redrill the mount holes on the mpfi intake or adapt the tbi intake for the tb and infectors. Or i can just use the mag stuff. if the crank position sensor fits into the bell housing, then the bolck should not be a problem, rite? I appreciate your input, just tryin to understand everything.
Motorcitydak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2007, 01:07 PM   #6
user name
keep your stick onthe ice
 
user name's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-23-06
Location: around MI and such
Posts: 904
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

the mount for the crank sensor is on the block on the magnums as far as i know non of the premagnum blocks had the mount cast into them. If you trying to keep MPFI i dont thing you will have much luck with it. not to mention the pre 88 blocks and not roller cam. the mid 88-91 non magnum are roller cam(still no ckp mount), magnums are also roller cam, you will be giving up that. I dont think it's that hard to find running magnum motors for relativly cheap it would probly be worth you time to look into that.
user name is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2007, 03:02 PM   #7
Motorcitydak
Merkin salesman
 
Motorcitydak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-20-06
Location: Casco, Mi
Posts: 1,247
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Motorcitydak
Default

the crank sensor is in the bell housing on my 96 setup so that will be fine and the pre mag block i have came with a roller cam. I appreciate all the things you are thinkin of that mite be a prob here, but i hope you cant think of anymore.

and the mag motors are not as easy as you or i thought, atleast not for under 200 bucks.
Motorcitydak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2007, 09:53 PM   #8
user name
keep your stick onthe ice
 
user name's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-23-06
Location: around MI and such
Posts: 904
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

The hole it goes through it in the bell housing the place it mounts to is on the engine block.
user name is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2007, 10:04 PM   #9
Freak
Wheelin the HD
 
Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-27-07
Location: Portland, TX
Posts: 7,227
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to Freak Send a message via Yahoo to Freak
Default

Magnum heads are prone to cracking, expensive to fix, cost me almost a grand in just parts, got my replacement head from CHI in Texas, magnum motors are not very cheap to find either, in running condition they will run around $1000 with 200K on them, then you still have to get a computer and wiring harness, if you ask me you are better off porting your old heads and going to a after market EFI system.

magnum intakes are also famous for warping, I couldn't believe how much shit i had on my valves when I got them out.
Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2007, 07:06 PM   #10
Motorcitydak
Merkin salesman
 
Motorcitydak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-20-06
Location: Casco, Mi
Posts: 1,247
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Motorcitydak
Default

ive got the magnum v6 runnin in my truck now, its just gettin tired and i want a rebuilt one in there
Motorcitydak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Dodge Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.16234 seconds with 50 queries