Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Dodge Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old April 2nd, 2007, 07:22 PM   #1
steveo
In the band!
 
Join Date: 03-30-07
Location: montana/wyoming
Posts: 20,293
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default dodge cummins problem.

anyone here know about cummins? i am having a problem with my 2003.5 cummins. it only revs up to 2200 rpm, and its at WTO the whole time. the voltage on the throttle sensor reads at 3.5v. any thoughts on how i can get this to work? PS this motor is in a 98 chevy 2500.
steveo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2007, 08:00 PM   #2
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,383
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

I am wondering if you used the drive by wire engine? and if so did you use the chevy pedal assem?
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2007, 08:05 PM   #3
steveo
In the band!
 
Join Date: 03-30-07
Location: montana/wyoming
Posts: 20,293
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

the pedal is chevy. i am not 100 percent sure if its a drive by wire.i havent worked on it since last fall, my dad is finishing the job now. it runs good, shifts great, but it just wont rev up past 2200 rpm.
steveo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2007, 08:13 PM   #4
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,552
iTrader: (54)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Limp-home mode?
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2007, 08:16 PM   #5
steveo
In the band!
 
Join Date: 03-30-07
Location: montana/wyoming
Posts: 20,293
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

it goes into wot, but to climb in rpm's you gotta hold it to the floor. also does anyone have a voltage book for this engine? we bought 2 boxes full of manuals and none of them tell the voltage this thing needs.
steveo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2007, 09:37 PM   #6
merr6267
More boost than yours:)
 
merr6267's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-13-06
Location: Allendale, MI
Posts: 1,250
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

www.dieseltruckresource.com

Anything you need to know can be answered there. My guess is the lift pump, which will fry the injection pump. Although I'm not sure which year was the cutoff for the VP-44 pumps.

Use the search at the link I gave you, and if you can't find an answer, make a post asking. You'll get it sorted out.

Take care,
Phill
merr6267 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2007, 06:19 AM   #7
steveo
In the band!
 
Join Date: 03-30-07
Location: montana/wyoming
Posts: 20,293
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

thanks guys. we have a years time and alot of money invested in this and to get this close only to have it not work is giving me ulcers.
steveo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2007, 06:53 AM   #8
ScOoTeR
hoo dat. wat.
 
ScOoTeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Howell
Posts: 21,397
iTrader: (35)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

Not to nit pick, but diesels are WOT all the time.
__________________
@clarkstoncracker
ScOoTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2007, 08:36 AM   #9
Hacksaw
WWSD - What would stan do
 
Hacksaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: Isle Of TREASURE, FL
Posts: 11,204
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScOoTeR View Post
Not to nit pick, but diesels are WOT all the time.
hahahahahahhahahahahhahahahaahah

the money shot

I'm guessing its not the lift pump. Check all of your sensors. Shoulda swapped a 12v, they run soooo much easier..
Hacksaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2007, 08:37 AM   #10
Hacksaw
WWSD - What would stan do
 
Hacksaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: Isle Of TREASURE, FL
Posts: 11,204
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScOoTeR View Post
Not to nit pick, but diesels are WOT all the time.
hahahahahahhahahahahhahahahaahah

the money shot

I'm guessing its not the lift pump. Check all of your sensors. Shoulda swapped a 12v, they run soooo much easier..

www.cumminsforum.com
www.dieselgarage.com
www.turbodieselregister.com
Hacksaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2007, 08:41 AM   #11
noodles
give 'er sh*t ay?
 
noodles's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: holland Mi
Posts: 1,029
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to noodles Send a message via MSN to noodles Send a message via Yahoo to noodles
Default

it wont go past 2200? if so thats the high speed gov. its wrote in to the comp that way. there are limits the cummins dealers can install on the comp to make it so they dont over speed.
noodles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2007, 09:37 AM   #12
steveo
In the band!
 
Join Date: 03-30-07
Location: montana/wyoming
Posts: 20,293
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by noodles View Post
it wont go past 2200? if so thats the high speed gov. its wrote in to the comp that way. there are limits the cummins dealers can install on the comp to make it so they dont over speed.
computers been reprogrammed, and not by a dealer
steveo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2007, 09:38 AM   #13
steveo
In the band!
 
Join Date: 03-30-07
Location: montana/wyoming
Posts: 20,293
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackSaw View Post
hahahahahahhahahahahhahahahaahah

the money shot

I'm guessing its not the lift pump. Check all of your sensors. Shoulda swapped a 12v, they run soooo much easier..
dude this motor is balls. i cant wait until we get this thing repainted and running good. we did such a good jop people are asking us to do theirs for them.
steveo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2007, 11:21 AM   #14
Buggy_Tim
(513) 891-8372
 
Buggy_Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sault Sainte Marie
Posts: 11,704
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by noodles View Post
it wont go past 2200? if so thats the high speed gov. its wrote in to the comp that way. there are limits the cummins dealers can install on the comp to make it so they dont over speed.
:tonka: :tonka:

Maybe he installed a tractor motor and that's all it will rev.
Buggy_Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2007, 11:24 AM   #15
steveo
In the band!
 
Join Date: 03-30-07
Location: montana/wyoming
Posts: 20,293
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

no, its from a wrecked 2003 dodge, it has the dodge transmission and transfer case too.
steveo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2007, 06:26 PM   #16
ScOoTeR
hoo dat. wat.
 
ScOoTeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Howell
Posts: 21,397
iTrader: (35)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

FWIW, the pedal sensors I use in my development cars are 0-5V.
__________________
@clarkstoncracker
ScOoTeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2007, 07:40 PM   #17
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,552
iTrader: (54)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kiss my crack scotty!! View Post
no, its from a wrecked 2003 dodge, it has the dodge transmission and transfer case too.

Then I'd get a dodge factory service manual and use that to troubleshoot your sensors. That should be your starting point.

I agree with Hack, I prefer the 12 valve motors. Used to pull a 28,000lb tub grinder with one of ours.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2007, 07:47 PM   #18
steveo
In the band!
 
Join Date: 03-30-07
Location: montana/wyoming
Posts: 20,293
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

the old man says he thinks the engine is not getting a speed signal from the transmission. its a 2003 it doesn't have anvp-44 injection pump. also thinking we got a problem with the pcm not working with the ecm.

Last edited by steveo; April 3rd, 2007 at 07:51 PM.
steveo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2007, 07:54 PM   #19
steveo
In the band!
 
Join Date: 03-30-07
Location: montana/wyoming
Posts: 20,293
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

at full throttle the pedal sensor is showing 3.7 volts at 100%
steveo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2007, 07:56 PM   #20
steveo
In the band!
 
Join Date: 03-30-07
Location: montana/wyoming
Posts: 20,293
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

steveo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Dodge Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.18742 seconds with 50 queries