trashing cams - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 12th, 2007, 08:29 AM   #1
91 k1500
Big Belly Customs
 
91 k1500's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-22-07
Location: Hartland, MI
Posts: 739
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to 91 k1500
Default trashing cams

I have a 350 small block in my 91 k1500. problem is, I keep wiping cam lobes off! first time it did it on #8 exhaust side, this time it did it on #1 exhaust side. anyone know why it keeps doing this? it is a 2bolt block with 5.7 rods, foraged flat tops, vortec heads with springs set up for 500 lift, comp cams lifters and cam, it is a .490 lift on int and exh, roller rockers, edlebrock intake 650 holley dp carb and an msd hei at 32 total timing. cam and lifters where brand new not even 100 miles ago! gonna go roller now, but I want to make sure I am not gonna have this happen again. really getting expensive replacing cams all the time!
91 k1500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old March 12th, 2007, 08:34 AM   #2
Jeeperz Creeperz
Senior Member
 
Jeeperz Creeperz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Wyandotte, MI
Posts: 3,120
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to Jeeperz Creeperz Send a message via AIM to Jeeperz Creeperz Send a message via MSN to Jeeperz Creeperz Send a message via Yahoo to Jeeperz Creeperz
Default

Did you get all the metal cleaned out from the first time it wiped the cam?
Jeeperz Creeperz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2007, 10:25 AM   #3
91 k1500
Big Belly Customs
 
91 k1500's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-22-07
Location: Hartland, MI
Posts: 739
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to 91 k1500
Default

Yeah, I flushed oil trough it three times, and I installed new cam bearings.
91 k1500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2007, 11:57 AM   #4
frdboy
Wishin' I waz fishin'
 
frdboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-29-06
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Posts: 10,952
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Default

How are breaking-in the cam, and what oil are you running?
__________________
Cheap Thrills Off Road

2003 F-250 4X4 7.3 PSD Crew Cab

1971 Bronco
frdboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2007, 12:25 PM   #5
chris1044
Senior Member
 
chris1044's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lost in the mitten!
Posts: 2,013
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frdboy View Post
How are breaking-in the cam, and what oil are you running?

X2 - a new cam must be broken in properly, and if you were running flat tappet lifters its not supposed to idle during break in IIRC
chris1044 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2007, 12:32 PM   #6
frdboy
Wishin' I waz fishin'
 
frdboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-29-06
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Posts: 10,952
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris1044 View Post
X2 - a new cam must be broken in properly, and if you were running flat tappet lifters its not supposed to idle during break in IIRC
Correct, also you should run a diesel oil (shell rottella, mobil delvac) or run an additive to reg. oil, such as gm's EOA at least during the first 500 miles.

Have you checked for coil bind, and that the rockers are not hitting at full lift?

Adam
__________________
Cheap Thrills Off Road

2003 F-250 4X4 7.3 PSD Crew Cab

1971 Bronco
frdboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2007, 02:00 PM   #7
91 k1500
Big Belly Customs
 
91 k1500's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-22-07
Location: Hartland, MI
Posts: 739
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to 91 k1500
Default

I am firing the engine and running at 2000rpm for 30min, using murreys oil for break in, then switching over to valvalene 10-30 synthetic. running comp cams 982 spring kit that makes it so you can run .500 lift without machining vortec heads.
91 k1500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2007, 02:10 PM   #8
chris1044
Senior Member
 
chris1044's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lost in the mitten!
Posts: 2,013
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Personally, I'd assemble everything with a good engine oil assembly lube, and run a heavy weight straight dino oil for break in, and continue on with the dino oil for atleast 5k....synthetic isn't good to break a motor in, and after a mear 30 mins those parts aren't truelly done wearing on each other for the long haul.

But also as stated, make sure the rockers aren't hitting or bottoming the lifters (assuming hydraulic) out at full lift, and make 100% sure there isn't any coil bind. .5" is quite a bit of lift - what are your intentions for the motor??
chris1044 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2007, 02:22 PM   #9
djlipp
998,999,1000
 
djlipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-15-06
Location: Midland MI
Posts: 1,084
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

You say the heads are set up for 500 lift but do the springs bind before 500 lift?? I've seen this same senario with vortec heads and bigger cam.


Btw if this is a comp cam they are soft and shitty to begin with..
djlipp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2007, 02:24 PM   #10
frdboy
Wishin' I waz fishin'
 
frdboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-29-06
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Posts: 10,952
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Default

Have you checked yourself for coil bind? Do you know what your installed height is on YOUR springs. Also make sure the lifters spin freely in there bores. Two cams having issues I would look at everything closely

You still need to run a oil with Zinc in it (ie. rotella) to help with break-in.

I also would run a dino oil for 1000 miles.
__________________
Cheap Thrills Off Road

2003 F-250 4X4 7.3 PSD Crew Cab

1971 Bronco
frdboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2007, 02:25 PM   #11
frdboy
Wishin' I waz fishin'
 
frdboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-29-06
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Posts: 10,952
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by djlipp View Post

Btw if this is a comp cam they are soft and shitty to begin with..
I don't agree with this, I have installed a ton of their cams without issue.

Adam
__________________
Cheap Thrills Off Road

2003 F-250 4X4 7.3 PSD Crew Cab

1971 Bronco

Last edited by frdboy; March 12th, 2007 at 02:48 PM.
frdboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2007, 02:40 PM   #12
KILLER"B"468
Yankabilly
 
KILLER"B"468's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Hendersonville Tn.
Posts: 7,945
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by djlipp View Post
You say the heads are set up for 500 lift but do the springs bind before 500 lift?? I've seen this same senario with vortec heads and bigger cam.


Btw if this is a comp cam they are soft and shitty to begin with..
Quote:
Originally Posted by frdboy View Post
I don't agree with this, I have installed a ton of there cams without issue.

Adam
I agree 100% I have run many comp cams. My guess is that you are breaking the cam in wrong or you don't have the valves adjusted properly.
__________________
being on the eastern edge of the central time zone sucks...it gets dark WAY to early.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
An occasional jello or vasoline wrestling match isn't out of the question either.
KILLER"B"468 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2007, 09:28 PM   #13
user name
keep your stick onthe ice
 
user name's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-23-06
Location: around MI and such
Posts: 904
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

the reason is quite possibly your oil with a flat tappet cam you should be running an oil with phosforus(sp?, I think thats the one) most oils today have dropped it because the roller lifters dont need the pressure adative it provides. rotela is the only oil i know for sure that still has it but most of the diesel oils probly do.
user name is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2007, 09:45 PM   #14
KILLER"B"468
Yankabilly
 
KILLER"B"468's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Hendersonville Tn.
Posts: 7,945
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by user name View Post
the reason is quite possibly your oil with a flat tappet cam you should be running an oil with phosforus(sp?, I think thats the one) most oils today have dropped it because the roller lifters dont need the pressure adative it provides. rotela is the only oil i know for sure that still has it but most of the diesel oils probly do.
I think it is zink you are talking about..
__________________
being on the eastern edge of the central time zone sucks...it gets dark WAY to early.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
An occasional jello or vasoline wrestling match isn't out of the question either.
KILLER"B"468 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2007, 09:55 PM   #15
71jeepster
Glad I'm not Gay J. Hall!
 
71jeepster's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-26-06
Location: Kellogg, ID
Posts: 3,091
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to 71jeepster
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by user name View Post
the reason is quite possibly your oil with a flat tappet cam you should be running an oil with phosforus(sp?, I think thats the one) most oils today have dropped it because the roller lifters dont need the pressure adative it provides. rotela is the only oil i know for sure that still has it but most of the diesel oils probly do.
i've got a gallon of this at home, is it ok to run in gasoline engines or no? i haven't used it because i was unsure if it was ok to use. sorry for the hijack, but if i can't use it someone can have it if they want it.
71jeepster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2007, 06:43 AM   #16
91 k1500
Big Belly Customs
 
91 k1500's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-22-07
Location: Hartland, MI
Posts: 739
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to 91 k1500
Default

I posted this question on two other forums and all have came up with the same thing. So I am gonna see if I can get comp to cover the cam and I am gonna break the new one in with rotela and see if it will hold up this time. Thanks for all the reply s, and I will keep ya informed on what happens.
91 k1500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2007, 06:52 AM   #17
max5p33d
slack jawed faggot
 
max5p33d's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-14-06
Location: Ecorse
Posts: 854
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to max5p33d Send a message via AIM to max5p33d Send a message via Yahoo to max5p33d
Default

Did you prime the engine before you fired it?
max5p33d is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.25589 seconds with 71 queries