Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old March 7th, 2007, 06:53 AM   #1
AWK
Senior Member
 
AWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-15-05
Location: Chesterfield
Posts: 626
iTrader: (3)
HVAC Question, Bryant Furnace

My furnace just decides to stop. It a Bryant 80-85% Eff. Has the small exhaust blower (black wheel). If I go down there and turn the power off and turn a small switch off inside, then turn them back on, the furnace starts back up and runs for a few days, maybe weeks.

Anyone had this problem before, if so, what did you do to fix it. My barber told me she had the same problem and that it was dirty sensor, but couldn't tell me what one or where it is.

Any insight would be helpful.

AWK
AWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2007, 06:57 AM   #2
SinisterX
I Drank WHAT!
 
SinisterX's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-14-07
Location: Owosso
Posts: 682
iTrader: (8)
Send a message via MSN to SinisterX
check/clean your drain tube, the elbow area collects dirt, traps moisture and will mess up the sensor.
SinisterX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2007, 07:08 AM   #3
AWK
Senior Member
 
AWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-15-05
Location: Chesterfield
Posts: 626
iTrader: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by SinisterX View Post
check/clean your drain tube, the elbow area collects dirt, traps moisture and will mess up the sensor.
Thanks, I'll do that tonight.
AWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2007, 10:18 AM   #4
Bones
skillicous
 
Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 11,251
iTrader: (35)
Send a message via AIM to Bones
mine does the same thing...

what/where is the drain tube?
__________________
Inviscid Motorsports

Special Thanks and Recommendations to;
Motorcity Machines
Ironman Offroad
Branik Motorsports
Maxxis Tires

Raceline Wheels
PAC Racing Springs
Joint Clutch and Gear
Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2007, 11:07 AM   #5
Calvynandhobbs
Senior Member
 
Calvynandhobbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-14-06
Location: Groton, CT
Posts: 596
iTrader: (9)
Mine's been doing that for the past couple months. Please let me know where this drain tube is.
Calvynandhobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2007, 11:14 AM   #6
AWK
Senior Member
 
AWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-15-05
Location: Chesterfield
Posts: 626
iTrader: (3)
Wow... I'm not alone! I'm assuming this is the drain tube from the condensor core for the AC. Mine is a off white PVC. If you mean something different please enlighten me.

AWK

Last edited by AWK; March 7th, 2007 at 12:29 PM.
AWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2007, 01:53 PM   #7
shawn
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
 
shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Milford/Commerce
Posts: 9,892
iTrader: (24)
Send a message via Yahoo to shawn
You won't have a drain tube on something less than 90% efficiency. Are these furnaces have a control board with a trouble light on it? Does the light ever blink? Usually, if there is a problem, the light will flash in a sequence to tell you what happened. Turning the power off just resets it, until it encounters that problem again. Usually it is the flame sensor, or ignitor that gives problems like this, intermitent.
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2007, 02:01 PM   #8
SinisterX
I Drank WHAT!
 
SinisterX's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-14-07
Location: Owosso
Posts: 682
iTrader: (8)
Send a message via MSN to SinisterX
The drain tube is in the blower compartment on mine, but like shawn stated you may not have one and you are just resetting the controller. Another thing to check is the exhuast pipe outside. They put a grill over then end to keep birds and mice out of the tube but during certain weather conditions it gets frosted up and faults the controller. I remove the grill in the winter.
SinisterX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2007, 02:01 PM   #9
Bones
skillicous
 
Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 11,251
iTrader: (35)
Send a message via AIM to Bones
so i need to look for a blinking light on the control board eh?

To reset mine, I can either flip the switch on the unit itself, or I can turn the thermostat from 'heat' to 'off' and then back to 'heat' and it starts up again...
__________________
Inviscid Motorsports

Special Thanks and Recommendations to;
Motorcity Machines
Ironman Offroad
Branik Motorsports
Maxxis Tires

Raceline Wheels
PAC Racing Springs
Joint Clutch and Gear
Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2007, 02:23 PM   #10
xj4life
Senior Member
 
xj4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: LaPorte, IN
Posts: 7,275
iTrader: (15)
send a PM to TJrockdogg. he installed my furance. he should be able to help you out.
__________________
This is my Jeep. There are many like it, but this one is mine. My Jeep is my best friend. It is my life. I must master it as I master my life. My Jeep, without me, is useless. Without my Jeep, I am useless.
xj4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.21626 seconds with 30 queries