Water backing up in basement - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 1st, 2007, 06:33 PM   #1
Blue XJ
The Green Machine
 
Blue XJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sterling Heights
Posts: 3,630
iTrader: (27)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Blue XJ
Default Water backing up in basement

Had some water downstairs today when I got home from work. Just wondering if the floor drains are tied into the sump pump. I shop vac'ed out the floor drains to lower the water and when I looked in the sump there was a bunch of rust colored water that looked like what was in the floor drains. I would think this means the drains are tied into the sump, but how can they backup and overflow if they drain into the sump? The area around the sump was nice and dry, it was the other half of the basement under water.
Blue XJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old March 1st, 2007, 06:35 PM   #2
Cube
Captain of my pants
 
Cube's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Traverse City
Posts: 4,158
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

heheh, are you living with Mudgrl
Cube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2007, 06:36 PM   #3
Blue XJ
The Green Machine
 
Blue XJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sterling Heights
Posts: 3,630
iTrader: (27)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Blue XJ
Default

nope, got enough problems of my own.

although, there is room for you here sexy
Blue XJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2007, 06:39 PM   #4
Plato2k5
In Da Faaaaaace!!!
 
Plato2k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-25-05
Location: WMU Kzoo Mi / Livonia, MI
Posts: 5,431
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Plato2k5
Default

mabey a stupid question but are you sure the pump is turning on?? Turns on at the correct water level??
Plato2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2007, 06:58 PM   #5
shawn
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
 
shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Milford/Commerce
Posts: 10,050
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to shawn
Default

Sump, most likely is not ties to the floor drains, but to the house drain tiles and pump out into hte yard or the ditch.
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2007, 07:07 PM   #6
Blue XJ
The Green Machine
 
Blue XJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sterling Heights
Posts: 3,630
iTrader: (27)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Blue XJ
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawn View Post
Sump, most likely is not ties to the floor drains, but to the house drain tiles and pump out into hte yard or the ditch.

thats what I thought, but I thought maybe since there was no rust in it and then there was after I messed with the floor drains that they might have been connected.

yup the pump is working, that side is nice and dry.
Blue XJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2007, 07:09 PM   #7
disorder xj
Happy,happy,joy,joy
 
disorder xj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-13-06
Location: Mio MI.
Posts: 2,900
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

In my old house in roseville the sump pump was tied into the sewer. It's not supposed to be but it was.It made the pump go bad every year and the basement would flood.
disorder xj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2007, 07:27 PM   #8
SkyyPunk
Lego Dude
 
SkyyPunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-10-06
Location: Belleville, MI
Posts: 1,655
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

It has to put the water it moves somewhere...maybe thats where?
SkyyPunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2007, 07:43 PM   #9
MudGrl
Senior Member
 
MudGrl's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-22-06
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,161
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue XJ View Post
nope, got enough problems of my own.
HEY!
MudGrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2007, 07:50 PM   #10
88mudder
In the band!
 
Join Date: 03-30-06
Location: waterford michigan
Posts: 3,678
iTrader: (29)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to 88mudder Send a message via Skype™ to 88mudder
Default

call a plumber
88mudder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2007, 07:59 PM   #11
Freak
Wheelin the HD
 
Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-27-07
Location: Portland, TX
Posts: 7,227
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via MSN to Freak Send a message via Yahoo to Freak
Default

sell the house!

depends on what ground level is, if you don't have city sewer its most likely tied into your sump, if you do have city sewer my money would be on it being connected to that.
Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.15821 seconds with 53 queries