Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Toyota Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old February 26th, 2007, 05:52 PM   #1
87yotafoo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 02-02-06
Location: Kalamazoo MI
Posts: 347
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default 87 yota 4x4 22r.....runs good but slow and no power

it starts and runs fine, but everywhere you go it has to be pretty much floored and tops at maybe 55ish and takes some time and gotta rev it out to get there in early gears.

Has no power to pull itself up hills..... Timing im sure is close, motor is pretty much fresh, low miles block and lower miles head and new HG and stuff...Carb problems? vaccum lines? Like i said it starts and idles and runs decent, no sputtering or backfiring. But just sucks, Runs good low end, like 1st 2nd, still floor it to go anywhere quick, Its fine when playin in 4wd and stufff since only use lower gears but road ridin sucks *$)

Any ideas before i efi this truck and waste more money.....
87yotafoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2007, 08:08 PM   #2
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,549
iTrader: (54)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

What tires and gears do you have?
Haggar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2007, 08:23 PM   #3
hman1991
Senior Member
 
hman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-04-06
Location: Holland Michigan
Posts: 474
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to hman1991
Default

he has stock gears and 31's
hman1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2007, 10:05 PM   #4
Pre4runner
Bike Dude
 
Pre4runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Kawkawlin, mi
Posts: 2,099
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Pre4runner
Default

whats has all been done with the motor? was this rebuilt new head, explain?
Pre4runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2007, 10:10 PM   #5
87yotafoo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 02-02-06
Location: Kalamazoo MI
Posts: 347
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

just a low mileag block and head and just installed new headgasket when installing. Nothing else done to it..and timing chain and guides
87yotafoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2007, 10:14 PM   #6
Rattler
Home Sweet Homicide
 
Rattler's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-17-06
Location: Bei City
Posts: 3,648
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

My old 22RE XtraCab did the same thing. When I pulled the sparkplugs and replaced them. I found out how much better it ran with plugs that had electrodes.
Rattler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2007, 10:44 PM   #7
Pre4runner
Bike Dude
 
Pre4runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Kawkawlin, mi
Posts: 2,099
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Pre4runner
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rattler View Post
My old 22RE XtraCab did the same thing. When I pulled the sparkplugs and replaced them. I found out how much better it ran with plugs that had electrodes.
I was going to say the same thing. Before Tyler bought the red toy and it was running it had a similar problem, Plugs were to blame

Also check you timing chain and make sure you have it correct and that your not off by a tooth. I did this the first time i did my head gasket. Got it to run fine but it had no top end
Pre4runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2007, 04:56 AM   #8
87yotafoo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 02-02-06
Location: Kalamazoo MI
Posts: 347
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

ive thought about the chain being off a gear, but how you actually tell on those, i thought i had marks lined up...Anyone know of the actual mark to use, maybe i was misinformed?

It also diesels here and there when i shut it off....
87yotafoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2007, 10:18 AM   #9
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,549
iTrader: (54)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Yeah, x3 o nthe chain off a tooth. Retarding/Advancing the cam timing moves the whole powerband up/down. In this case, it also screws with ignition timing. The dieseling also points to timing being off..
Haggar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2007, 11:32 AM   #10
87yotafoo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 02-02-06
Location: Kalamazoo MI
Posts: 347
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

but if it was off a tooth on cam timing, either direction will it still run decently and start good??? besides you have to have it to the floorboards everywhere you go....
87yotafoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2007, 03:18 PM   #11
nmeinc
Parts Galore Spokesmodel
 
nmeinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-04-06
Location: Detriolet
Posts: 564
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Yep, sounds like your a tooth off
nmeinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2007, 03:26 PM   #12
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,549
iTrader: (54)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 87yotafoo View Post
but if it was off a tooth on cam timing, either direction will it still run decently and start good??? besides you have to have it to the floorboards everywhere you go....
Yeah, it probably would in one direction, the other, I'm not sure.

On plenty of engines, you can buy adjustable cam gears, although you rarely adjust more than about 4 degrees. Usually being off one tooth is like 6-10 degrees, depending on the number of teeth.

It usually moves the powerband up and down a certain amount, so its not uncommon to see a big gain on the bottom end but a total loss of higher rpm power. Did you have to move the distributor a lot to time it? It would be off by however much your cam is off.
Haggar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2007, 09:23 PM   #13
darkteg94
Member
 
darkteg94's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-02-06
Location: Kzoo
Posts: 90
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Yeah. Get that thing taken care of. If you get the timing fixed still gonna do the EFI swap anyway?
darkteg94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2007, 10:17 PM   #14
87yotafoo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 02-02-06
Location: Kalamazoo MI
Posts: 347
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

messed with it for abit today, changed cam timing a tooth in both directions, seemed to be worse then before and messed with changing the ignition timing also while in both changed teeth. So gonna do some more research and see.....

Seems to have some play when you turn the crank pulley bolt before cam gear turns

Anyone know where the notch in the crank pulley has to be for tdc? i know there is a little nub on the back side of the cam gear that lines up with arrow.

Last edited by 87yotafoo; February 27th, 2007 at 10:24 PM.
87yotafoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2007, 10:34 PM   #15
Rattler
Home Sweet Homicide
 
Rattler's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-17-06
Location: Bei City
Posts: 3,648
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Where are you located?
Rattler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2007, 10:53 PM   #16
87yotafoo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 02-02-06
Location: Kalamazoo MI
Posts: 347
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

kalamazoo area MI
87yotafoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2007, 10:54 AM   #17
87yotafoo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 02-02-06
Location: Kalamazoo MI
Posts: 347
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

since i messed with timing, both cam and ignition.....im leaning to wonder if the vaccum advance on the distributor isnt working? Since it runs decent low end and low gears, wonder if its not advancin the timing correctly and makin it lack power up higher....??????
87yotafoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2007, 11:06 AM   #18
artistic_gore
I own @ halo
 
artistic_gore's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-05-06
Location: Granite Falls, WA
Posts: 1,128
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to artistic_gore
Default

Am I a million miles off or could this be a clutch issue?
artistic_gore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2007, 11:22 AM   #19
87yotafoo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 02-02-06
Location: Kalamazoo MI
Posts: 347
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

new clutch, installed it last summer....That holds up great, wheeled the crap out of it and still do....just cant go down road very good to get anywhere
87yotafoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2007, 11:23 AM   #20
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,549
iTrader: (54)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

He'd know if it was a clutch issue, methinks. You'd get to the upper rev range and its rev way up as it started to slip.

At least mine did.... last year... 15 minutes before loading onto the trailer for a 5 day wheeling trip.... fastest clutch swap I ever did....



If its got good low end but no top end, you've got some issues somewhere.

Incorrect base timing
Not enough timing advance (I'd check it with a timing light to see how its advancing through the rev range)
Bad cam timing
clogged fuel line / filter / jets
Plugged exhaust / cat
Plugged air filter


99% its one of those things.
Haggar is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Toyota Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.17720 seconds with 50 queries