Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Toyota Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old February 16th, 2007, 11:45 AM   #1
darkteg94
Member
 
darkteg94's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-02-06
Location: Kzoo
Posts: 90
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Where to get CEL scanned on my p/u?

Can I take it to autozone to have them scan the CEL for a possible code? Wanting to get this fixed now, so I can get the thing running mint. Thinking it's possibly a o2 that's bad. '89 by the way.
darkteg94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2007, 12:10 PM   #2
snowscoob
Senior Member
 
snowscoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-02-07
Location: Laingsburg
Posts: 109
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to snowscoob
Default

I have heard that they will scan your car for free. I have my own scanner and never needed there 'professional' help.
snowscoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2007, 01:28 PM   #3
Bones
skillicous
 
Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 11,413
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bones
Default

yes, autozone will do it for free
__________________
Inviscid Motorsports

Special Thanks and Recommendations to;
Motorcity Machines
Ironman Offroad
Branik Motorsports
Maxxis Tires

Raceline Wheels
PAC Racing Springs
Joint Clutch and Gear
Bones is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2007, 02:39 PM   #4
71jeepster
Glad I'm not Gay J. Hall!
 
71jeepster's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-26-06
Location: Kellogg, ID
Posts: 3,091
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to 71jeepster
Default

they will scan it and tell you the code, but they won't clear it and all they tell you is the number they don't know what it means, unless your autozone "professional" has a clue

good luck!!
71jeepster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2007, 02:49 PM   #5
darkteg94
Member
 
darkteg94's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-02-06
Location: Kzoo
Posts: 90
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Cool. Didn't know if it was a OBD connection of some sort and if they'd have a scanner for it. I'll get the code this weekend and go from there. Thanks.
darkteg94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2007, 03:51 PM   #6
Bones
skillicous
 
Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 11,413
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bones
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 71jeepster View Post
they will scan it and tell you the code, but they won't clear it and all they tell you is the number they don't know what it means, unless your autozone "professional" has a clue

good luck!!
huh? They can clear it with a push of a button, and have done it numerous times for me. They will also tell you what it means, since they want to sell you the parts to fix it. The reader they use displays the code number and explains what the code means on the digital display, so even the dumbest "professional" can sound "car smrt"

Or clear it by unhooking the neg battery cable for 5 min.
__________________
Inviscid Motorsports

Special Thanks and Recommendations to;
Motorcity Machines
Ironman Offroad
Branik Motorsports
Maxxis Tires

Raceline Wheels
PAC Racing Springs
Joint Clutch and Gear
Bones is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2007, 03:55 PM   #7
Bratworst
..........
 
Bratworst's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-10-06
Location: MI
Posts: 660
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

89' Huh? That narrows it down. If it's a Jeep or Chevy just use the key on & off method. Save on gas! Then research on line for your problem or poss. problem. Or search here for great first class advice
Bratworst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2007, 06:12 PM   #8
Bones
skillicous
 
Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 11,413
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bones
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragonfuel View Post
89' Huh? That narrows it down. If it's a Jeep or Chevy just use the key on & off method. Save on gas! Then research on line for your problem or poss. problem. Or search here for great first class advice

seeing as how this is toyota tech section, I'm betting it's a toyota

since the title says p/u, i'm betting its a pickup.
__________________
Inviscid Motorsports

Special Thanks and Recommendations to;
Motorcity Machines
Ironman Offroad
Branik Motorsports
Maxxis Tires

Raceline Wheels
PAC Racing Springs
Joint Clutch and Gear
Bones is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2007, 06:28 PM   #9
ron86toy
R&V Ranger
 
ron86toy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-09-06
Location: Beaverton/ Edenville,mi
Posts: 1,033
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to ron86toy
Default

jump like setting the timing w/ key on CEL will flash
2 digit codes with pauses 1.5 sec in between #'s and 2.5 sec in between codes.
I have the list of codes

to clear codes pull the 15 amp EFI fuse for a min or so
ron86toy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2007, 09:04 AM   #10
darkteg94
Member
 
darkteg94's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-02-06
Location: Kzoo
Posts: 90
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Still no dice Ron on finding that plug. I'll have to take a pic under the dash by the fuse box.
darkteg94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2007, 09:36 AM   #11
ron86toy
R&V Ranger
 
ron86toy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-09-06
Location: Beaverton/ Edenville,mi
Posts: 1,033
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to ron86toy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkteg94 View Post
Still no dice Ron on finding that plug. I'll have to take a pic under the dash by the fuse box.
there will not be anything underdaash...unless you pull the efi fuse to reset the puter
should be a small box underhood next to the fuse box(p. side rear of box)thats the diognostic connecter.there are about 15 or so terminals in it,the one marked E1 and T are the one you have to jump


ooE1 o oo
oTo o oo
ooo o oo

the term. kinda looks like that(best way I could think of showing you)
ron86toy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2007, 08:20 AM   #12
darkteg94
Member
 
darkteg94's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-02-06
Location: Kzoo
Posts: 90
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

So, I found codes 21 and 42 on my truck. I also located this website:
http://www.off-road.com/toyota/tech/codes/

Tells me I have a bad O2 sensor and speed sensor. Wanted to know if anyone had an idea on fixing these. I'm going to replace the O2 sensor in hopes that it's just bad itself.
darkteg94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2007, 08:39 PM   #13
hman1991
Senior Member
 
hman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-04-06
Location: Holland Michigan
Posts: 474
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to hman1991
Default

does the speedometer work in that thing? i am sure the o2 is bad in that thing. if it is a 1 wire u can use a honda 1 wire 1. just take the bulb out lol
hman1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2007, 08:41 PM   #14
Rattler
Home Sweet Homicide
 
Rattler's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-17-06
Location: Bei City
Posts: 3,648
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Well those O2 sensors are over $100. I think I paid $125 for one for my old '89. There is a cheap trick for them I found out after buying one. If you can pull the O2 sensor out, burn all the crap off it with a propane torch. They are usually just full of carbon and stuff. I learned about this from a guy at a Toyota dealership. They are usually a bitchey-bitch to get out though.

No idea on the speed sensor bit though.
Rattler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2007, 10:32 PM   #15
tracker
Senior Member
 
tracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-09-06
Location: merced ca
Posts: 112
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

toyota doesn't used the screw in type O2 sensor ...they have the 2 studs mounting flages . tried clearing the codes you have now and run to see what other code is left.. good luck
tracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Toyota Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.14867 seconds with 40 queries