Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old February 8th, 2007, 06:01 PM   #1
sabastian
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 05-25-06
Location: Garden City
Posts: 397
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default 02 blazer does not start...updated...it's alive!

help a brother out.
02 s-10 blazer 2 dr. 2wd 67k miles
I went out to lunch, 30 min. later, car turns over fine, but will not start. I cannot hear fuel pump prime. I tapped on the gas tank, started up fine. I turned it off and tried to restart...no go. I tapped on tank again and pump didn't sound normal, but started after a few knocks on the tank and a few cranks. I turned it off again and retried to start...no go. After hitting the tank a few more times, it started again. I recently had a remote started put in. could this be causing my problem or is it just coincidence? Is my fuel pump dying? Should I replace it? Anything else I could check before spending $300.00 on a pump?
Please help,
Martin

Last edited by sabastian; March 10th, 2007 at 03:30 PM.
sabastian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2007, 07:34 PM   #2
blizazer
Senior Member
 
blizazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Romeo, MI
Posts: 499
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to blizazer
Default

Your fuel pump gets its power from a relay in the underhood fusebox. The control for that relay is thru the ECM. The relay could be whacking out on you, try swapping it for another one.

The ECM wont let the fuel pump relay close if it doesnt get the right security signal from the key lock either. If thats the problem, you'll see an amber "security" telltale on the dash to let you know.

Ive also seen the ground on the fuel pump go south on s-trucks before. That could be another point to check.

You can pick up a fuel pressure gauge at any parts store to check your line pressure with. Thats a good way to make sure youre chasing the right problem.
blizazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2007, 05:23 PM   #3
sabastian
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 05-25-06
Location: Garden City
Posts: 397
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

blizazer,

would it be worth spending the $20 on a relay even though the pump sounded like a dying giraffe when i was tapping on the tank? i am getting the "security" light when i turn the ignition to "on". for some reasons, i'm thinking something happened because of the remote start. could this be possible?
sabastian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2007, 05:30 PM   #4
EL BURRO
33's is how I roll
 
EL BURRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-24-06
Location: Waterford
Posts: 2,281
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

had the same problem on my '99 Sonoma high rider, finally got pissed off
had the remote starter removed & local shop installed a new ignition lock.
$400 dollars later, problem never occured again>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
EL BURRO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2007, 05:31 PM   #5
blizazer
Senior Member
 
blizazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Romeo, MI
Posts: 499
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to blizazer
Default

$20? You can swap its place with the AC, DRL, Horn, Liftglass, Fog Lamp or CHMSL relays for free and see what changes before spending.

Lots of things can cause a fuel pump to sound strange. A low supply voltage (bad wires, bad relay contacts) could do this, a weak battery could (but you say it cranks fine), trying to prime a fuel rail thats already primed could do this too. Thats where the fuel pressure gauge comes in handy, so youre diagnosing with numbers.

If your security light is on, then I'd say thats the problem. Your ECM shouldnt give you a fuel pump until that light goes away. Try your experiment again, but this time crank, wait and crank... and skip the tapping on the tank part. See if it was the tapping or the waiting between cranks that did it for you.

Its definatly possible something got messed up when your remote start was installed. How long have you had it for?
blizazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2007, 06:30 PM   #6
sabastian
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 05-25-06
Location: Garden City
Posts: 397
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

i've had the remote starter for about 1-2 months. similar thing happened 2 days after i had it installed, but started on its own about an hour later.

i tried the other relays and still nothing. no sound from pump either.
sabastian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2007, 06:42 PM   #7
sabastian
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 05-25-06
Location: Garden City
Posts: 397
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

i've had the remote starter for about 1-2 months. similar thing happened 2 days after i had it installed, but started on its own about an hour later.

i tried the other relays and still nothing. no sound from pump either.
sabastian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2007, 07:41 AM   #8
GetItOffroadGMC
Senior Member
 
GetItOffroadGMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Davisburg, MI
Posts: 630
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

sounds like the pump to me. Sounds like it is sticking in place and when you tap the tank it frees it up. Also check the wiring near the pump. Very common for it to fail.
GetItOffroadGMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2007, 05:32 PM   #9
blizazer
Senior Member
 
blizazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Romeo, MI
Posts: 499
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to blizazer
Default

Are your starting problems with the remote start or starting with the key?
blizazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2007, 05:52 PM   #10
blizazer
Senior Member
 
blizazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Romeo, MI
Posts: 499
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to blizazer
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GetItOffroadGMC View Post
sounds like the pump to me. Sounds like it is sticking in place and when you tap the tank it frees it up. Also check the wiring near the pump. Very common for it to fail.
If his security light is on like he says, then a new pump isnt going to make his blazer run any better.
blizazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2007, 05:21 PM   #11
sabastian
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 05-25-06
Location: Garden City
Posts: 397
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

both
sabastian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2007, 05:30 PM   #12
needsrepair
Senior Member
 
needsrepair's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-31-06
Location: Oakland County
Posts: 350
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Have you got the owners manual? Can the security system be bypassed or dissconnected?
needsrepair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2007, 07:14 PM   #13
AWK
Senior Member
 
AWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-15-05
Location: Chesterfield
Posts: 628
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Before you going doing all of adding parts, check your security system and by-pass it. Turn you ign to run, (not start) leave it there for a least 20 minutes , don't touch anything. Then turn it to start (Do NOT turn it off first). It should start.
If it starts than you have a bad ign switch. But before you go changing that, loosen the the large connector at the base of the steering column, I think it's a 48 way...can't remember. But the single bolt holding it is like a 7mm. Grasp the connector from both ends and squeeze it together as hard as you can then torque the bolt back down, the torque is critical, 7nm only. The single bolt is know to "banana" the connector and cause a poor connection. If you have done ANY work on the ignition switch, it may be bad. They can only be taken out like one or two times before they fails. You may have a code of B2960. This was an issue to 2001, but it is possible on some later models
AWK

Last edited by AWK; February 11th, 2007 at 07:26 PM.
AWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2007, 09:30 PM   #14
blizazer
Senior Member
 
blizazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Romeo, MI
Posts: 499
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to blizazer
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AWK View Post
Before you going doing all of adding parts, check your security system and by-pass it. Turn you ign to run, (not start) leave it there for a least 20 minutes , don't touch anything. Then turn it to start (Do NOT turn it off first). It should start.
Close, you have to do that 3 times in a row. Check here for the details


If the remote starter ever worked to begin with, then he had a security bypass system put in. Based on the ones I've installed, Id say that a wire is broken, so that it isnt sending the right signal anymore, and its not going to pass the key signal through it anymore. Long story short, I dont think that relearn procedure is going to help out.
blizazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2007, 09:47 AM   #15
sabastian
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 05-25-06
Location: Garden City
Posts: 397
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

the remote start worked for about 2 days before i wasn't able to start it one day leaving a store i drove my blazer to. (approx. 45 min. before i came back to the car to leave) i kept trying to start it for about 20 minutes and finally it turned over. since then, the remote start stopped working, but turned over fine with the key. i took it back to the installer and he said the "module" just needed to be reset. after that, i didn't have any more problems until now. could it be a security issue even though i was able to start it by tapping on the tank?
sabastian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2007, 12:12 PM   #16
blizazer
Senior Member
 
blizazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: Romeo, MI
Posts: 499
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to blizazer
Default

Well, since you mentioned above that the security light is on, I think thats a pretty good indication. If it werent on, then Id be thinking fuel pump like you are.
blizazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2007, 05:43 PM   #17
sabastian
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 05-25-06
Location: Garden City
Posts: 397
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

ok, the latest.
i pulled the tank and pump. checked voltage at pump connector and reads 4.6-4.9 volts. is that the right voltage? does the pump require 12+ volts?
with the tank dropped and everything disconnected, my security light only came on for about 2 seconds and turned right off. could no reading to the ECU prevent any type of security to be engaged? upon pulling the connectors off the pump, i managed to bust one of the fittings...i know, i know. it's just so damn cold outside, i was becoming a little impatient with that fitting and it's stubborness. looks like i'm buying a fuel pump regardless. i found one on ebay that says it will fit my model and year for 120.00 dollars new. should i avoid buying this pump and going with a store bought one for 300.00 dollars?
thanks for all the replies thus far and your patience. i'd hate to have a shop do it for another 500.00 bucks.
sabastian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2007, 06:47 PM   #18
needsrepair
Senior Member
 
needsrepair's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-31-06
Location: Oakland County
Posts: 350
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Who makes the security system? I talked to a buddy today about his Avalanche, it had a bull dog system and he had numerous problems with it. He came out one day and the sec. light was on and it wouldnt start. took the system off and it ran fine. He then bought a more exspensive system and hasnt had any problems.
needsrepair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2007, 07:19 PM   #19
needsrepair
Senior Member
 
needsrepair's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-31-06
Location: Oakland County
Posts: 350
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I searched and cant find the voltage. I did find mention of some pumps using different voltages. I wouldnt assume anything and I wouldnt shoot 12 volts to it. 4.6 volts may be ok. I did find mention of the security issues though.
http://townhall-talk.edmunds.com/dir.../.ee95147/1774
needsrepair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2007, 08:16 PM   #20
sabastian
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 05-25-06
Location: Garden City
Posts: 397
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

question.
can i hook up my pump without the tank and turn the key to the on position to see if it will prime?
sabastian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.20878 seconds with 51 queries