firestick v. whip - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 12th, 2006, 10:38 PM   #1
ttms91xj
nothing original here
 
ttms91xj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-12-05
Location: lewisville, tx
Posts: 342
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to ttms91xj
Default firestick v. whip

i don't really understand the differences between a firestick and a whip. i have been considering installing a cb, and was wondering which would be more effective on the trail...also, when i do install the cb and one of the two attenaes above, what will the range be if i don't tune them, will they work alright on the trails without tuning(all im using it for)?
ttms91xj is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old January 12th, 2006, 11:15 PM   #2
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,722
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 144 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

http://www.firestik.com/Tech_Docs/KW7vs102.htm

that might help you
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2006, 06:09 PM   #3
noodles
give 'er sh*t ay?
 
noodles's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: holland Mi
Posts: 1,029
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to noodles Send a message via MSN to noodles Send a message via Yahoo to noodles
Default

you need to tune them, if you dont it will burn up your radio. may not be right away, but over time it will do that. Also, something to think bout when mounting it is the position. if you post it on the back, you have better singal in the front, and vise versa. I would imagine with 2 antenna that it would broadcast from both sides equaly. . I was told to go with a "wilson" antenna and I have no complaints bout it.I can hear like, 10+ miles, depending on the terrain and weather.
noodles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2006, 11:57 PM   #4
SS
Doing stuff...and things.
 
SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-12-05
Location: 48309
Posts: 12,105
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by noodles
you need to tune them, if you dont it will burn up your radio. may not be right away, but over time it will do that. Also, something to think bout when mounting it is the position. if you post it on the back, you have better singal in the front, and vise versa. I would imagine with 2 antenna that it would broadcast from both sides equaly. . I was told to go with a "wilson" antenna and I have no complaints bout it.I can hear like, 10+ miles, depending on the terrain and weather.
I traded some old rims for a Wilson mag mount whip and I get 10-15+ miles UNtuned... great antenna

Anyone know how to tune a CB?
__________________
-Jer

Fallen GL4x4 Member's Family in Need!!

http://www.greatlakes4x4.com/showthread.php?t=301273

SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2006, 04:35 PM   #5
ttms91xj
nothing original here
 
ttms91xj's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-12-05
Location: lewisville, tx
Posts: 342
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to ttms91xj
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Super Stocker

Anyone know how to tune a CB?
x2
ttms91xj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2006, 04:41 PM   #6
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,722
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 144 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

Yes, you need a SWR meter.. Go post up in wanted, someone will have one you can use to tune it in.
__________________
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2006, 04:49 PM   #7
SS
Doing stuff...and things.
 
SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-12-05
Location: 48309
Posts: 12,105
iTrader: (14)
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Default

Yeah but what do you do with the SWR meter? I have one but do you hook it up, adjust the dials and then disconnect it or do you leave it hooked up all the time?
__________________
-Jer

Fallen GL4x4 Member's Family in Need!!

http://www.greatlakes4x4.com/showthread.php?t=301273

SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2006, 04:58 PM   #8
boggin-machine
Senior Member
 
boggin-machine's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-11-06
Location: bay city
Posts: 11,652
iTrader: (31)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

i was wondering the same thing and also what would be a good cb for the money? where to get one. radio shack?? wallmart?
boggin-machine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2006, 05:01 PM   #9
GreaseMonkey
Pew pew!
 
GreaseMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Madison Heights, MI
Posts: 18,031
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Super Stocker
Yeah but what do you do with the SWR meter? I have one but do you hook it up, adjust the dials and then disconnect it or do you leave it hooked up all the time?
You hook it up in-line between the antenna and radio. You essentially want a 1.5:1 ratio readout on the meter. To tune it, you'll mess around with antenna length or tuneable tip, location, coax cable length, etc.

If you do get a firestik, get a mount with a spring at the bottom. I had trouble with my mount coming loose from the antenna smacking tree branches all the time.
__________________
GreaseMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2006, 12:32 AM   #10
Chop
Mischievous Badger
 
Chop's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Fenton Mi
Posts: 5,834
iTrader: (31)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Chop
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreaseMonkey
You hook it up in-line between the antenna and radio. You essentially want a 1.5:1 ratio readout on the meter. To tune it, you'll mess around with antenna length or tuneable tip, location, coax cable length, etc.

If you do get a firestik, get a mount with a spring at the bottom. I had trouble with my mount coming loose from the antenna smacking tree branches all the time.
its 1:1 ratio on the tuneing with is damn near impossable to reach but anything closest to that is good
Chop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2006, 12:57 AM   #11
GreaseMonkey
Pew pew!
 
GreaseMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Madison Heights, MI
Posts: 18,031
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeepinlunatic
its 1:1 ratio on the tuneing with is damn near impossable to reach but anything closest to that is good
Right, that's why 1.5:1 is typically the best you'll be able to get.
__________________
GreaseMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2006, 03:07 AM   #12
GMCsonoma94
1 wheel peel
 
GMCsonoma94's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: michigan
Posts: 1,577
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to GMCsonoma94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreaseMonkey
Right, that's why 1.5:1 is typically the best you'll be able to get.
not really, you can get 1.2 1.1 i got 1.3 with a crappy magnetic mount antenna
GMCsonoma94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2006, 03:12 AM   #13
Chop
Mischievous Badger
 
Chop's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Fenton Mi
Posts: 5,834
iTrader: (31)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Chop
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreaseMonkey
Right, that's why 1.5:1 is typically the best you'll be able to get.
i have 1.2 to 1 actually so how i would see it is 1.2 is typically better then 1.5:tonka:
Chop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2006, 08:42 AM   #14
FlatFender
Tap Tap Splat
 
FlatFender's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Raleigh NC
Posts: 15,800
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Good Radios To check out are:
Uniden PC 68 XL
Uniden PC 78 XL
Old Cobra 29 LTD (Stay away from "Sound Tracker" Models, Look for ones made in the Phillipines, or Maylasia, The Japan models are junk)
Galaxy 949/959 These are great radios, hands down the best on the market right now, however they are pricey.

Tuning an ANTENNA, You cannot Tune the radio (Well it can be done, but YOU cannot do it)
Hook up your SWR meter between the radio and the antenna
Radio>SWR Meter>Antenna
Actually take the time to read the instruction manual for the SWR meter.

One thing to remember here is that the SWR meter, is just that, a meter, It does not adjust the SWR.

Take a reading, if its above 1.8:1 you need to try a few things. Adjusting a SWR can be extremely aggrevating at times. Try to raise the antenna 1 1/16" check the meter again. If the SWR is higher than before, you need to lower the antenna, if its lower, try again.
Repeat this until SWR is lowest possible.

Once the SWR is as low as possible, disconnect the meter, and reconnect the radio
Radio>Antenna.

SOme meters can be left in-line permantly, however, every connection causes a little lose in your power, so I would disconnect it.

Some radios have a built-in SWR meter. These are usually very unaccurate, and are not to be trusted.

An SWR of above 2:1 is too high, and you could harm your radio.


If theres any more questions just let me know. CBing is a hobby of mine, so Ive got a bit of knowledge here.
Also check out www.cbradioforum.com
FlatFender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2006, 07:28 PM   #15
Kawierider
Senior Member
 
Kawierider's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-29-06
Location: Livonia
Posts: 1,533
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Uniden 510 is a cheap radio like 40 bucks and i've been very happy with it. I used to run a magnetic moutn whip and could chat at around 5 miles with my radio on the freeway in good weather, I could receive people on the ambassador bridge from my house in AP on good nights and that is like 15 miles.

Now I run a 5 foot whip from radioshack which is temporarily mounted to my bumper it isnt tuned, nor as high as my other one, so the performance isnt as good but one of these days ill stop being lazy and mount it in a better spot.

The uniden radio can be bought in alot of places, i got mine from ABC wharehouse for 40 bucks and it included a shit magnetic mount antenna to get you started.
Kawierider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2006, 12:24 PM   #16
yellowjeeperman
The N3rd
 
yellowjeeperman's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-16-06
Location: Birch Run/Clarkston, Mi
Posts: 5,871
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ttms91xj
x2
x3

I heard radioshack will do it for free?
yellowjeeperman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2006, 12:45 PM   #17
sodapop
Support the Sport!
 
sodapop's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-11-05
Location: Harrison Twp, MI
Posts: 2,015
iTrader: (18)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I have had a couple firesticks and a couple whips. I use a whip on my truck and firstik on my Jeep. I had a whip on my jeep and I didn't like the whip in the woods. As for the spring, I wouldn't recommend it. it will effect your quality in reception and transmitting
sodapop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2006, 04:28 PM   #18
yellowjeeperman
The N3rd
 
yellowjeeperman's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-16-06
Location: Birch Run/Clarkston, Mi
Posts: 5,871
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sodapop
I have had a couple firesticks and a couple whips. I use a whip on my truck and firstik on my Jeep. I had a whip on my jeep and I didn't like the whip in the woods. As for the spring, I wouldn't recommend it. it will effect your quality in reception and transmitting
I beg to differ. If you have a whip, then yes spring is not necessary, but if you get a firestick, unless u wanna be going through a firestick everytime you go on a trail, then invest in the spring. I have a spring on mine and I have no problem reaching from one side of Silver Lake to the other and that is more than enough for me.
yellowjeeperman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2006, 08:20 PM   #19
sodapop
Support the Sport!
 
sodapop's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-11-05
Location: Harrison Twp, MI
Posts: 2,015
iTrader: (18)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yellowjeeperman
I beg to differ. If you have a whip, then yes spring is not necessary, but if you get a firestick, unless u wanna be going through a firestick everytime you go on a trail, then invest in the spring. I have a spring on mine and I have no problem reaching from one side of Silver Lake to the other and that is more than enough for me.
The reason I say no spring is cuz that's was what the CB tech at teh CB shop at Don's Truckstop tells me and cuz that was what Karen (grandcehrokee) experienced with her Spring. Her CB would receive great until the antenna was bouncing around from the spring. We took the spring off and it solved the problem. I'm glad that you are having good luck with your sprung stick though.

Also in regards to breaking a firstik every trailride that's ridiculous and I know you are over exaggerating but come on, I've had my 4' Firstik on my Jeep since 2000 and been on lots of trail rides and not broken it once. I've also Doubled it over TWICE by shutting it in my Garage Door, that's right, bent about a 1/3 of the way up in a 180* bend 2 times without breaking it. I'm sure that it could break but my experience has been very good with my firstik. My firstik is mounted to my tire stop using a tomkin (??) mount.

Also, I the only reason that I didn't like the whip in the woods was because it whipped around too much.
sodapop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2006, 12:04 AM   #20
yellowjeeperman
The N3rd
 
yellowjeeperman's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-16-06
Location: Birch Run/Clarkston, Mi
Posts: 5,871
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sodapop
Also in regards to breaking a firstik every trailride that's ridiculous and I know you are over exaggerating but come on, I've had my 4' Firstik on my Jeep since 2000 and been on lots of trail rides and not broken it once.
Yeah I know I exaggerated, but that was just to make a point that I heard people have had problems with them breaking easily on tight trails. I havent experienced it. Its just what I have heard.
yellowjeeperman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.41394 seconds with 80 queries