8.8 factory posi - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Axle Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 26th, 2007, 06:19 PM   #1
greenmeanie
Senior Member
 
greenmeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-10-06
Location: Hermitage, TN
Posts: 1,732
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default 8.8 factory posi

just wondering how the factory locker compares to a truetrac or a factory jeep track lock.
does the 8.8 locker use disks or gears to engage?
would it be a good on/off road locker, or should i just get a lunchbox style? i have a full detroit up front, so i will have plenty of traction up there.
greenmeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old January 26th, 2007, 06:23 PM   #2
PavementPounder
I am the law.
 
PavementPounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Birmingham, Michigan 48009
Posts: 29,824
iTrader: (224)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Stop calling LSD's lockers!
PavementPounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2007, 06:34 PM   #3
CheapThrillB2
FAWK YEAH!!
 
CheapThrillB2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-06
Location: Middleville, MI
Posts: 31,305
iTrader: (61)
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Default

i have a factory trac loc in my 8.8

take it apart add an extra clutch or two on both sides, put it back together and use reg 80/90 with no LS additive

i run this in my trail rig......it acts just like my bronco with a lincoln locker,
even squaks chirps on pavement when turing slow........i've ran it like this since last dec. with no probs yet
CheapThrillB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2007, 07:12 PM   #4
greenmeanie
Senior Member
 
greenmeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-10-06
Location: Hermitage, TN
Posts: 1,732
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

so they have reasonable traction then? cool.
greenmeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2007, 08:43 AM   #5
greenmeanie
Senior Member
 
greenmeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-10-06
Location: Hermitage, TN
Posts: 1,732
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

where do i get extra clutches at?? just take some out of another posi unit?
greenmeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2007, 09:53 AM   #6
CheapThrillB2
FAWK YEAH!!
 
CheapThrillB2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-06
Location: Middleville, MI
Posts: 31,305
iTrader: (61)
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Default

i bought a set from automasters in GR for $50.....dealer wanted over 100 (the automaster box was from ford)

or just steal some from another unit
CheapThrillB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2007, 09:55 AM   #7
CheapThrillB2
FAWK YEAH!!
 
CheapThrillB2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-06-06
Location: Middleville, MI
Posts: 31,305
iTrader: (61)
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Default

Tech article on how to
CheapThrillB2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2007, 11:36 AM   #8
greenmeanie
Senior Member
 
greenmeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-10-06
Location: Hermitage, TN
Posts: 1,732
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

so, how many clutches are on a posi unit? will i just need to tear apart one unit at the junk yard?? thanks for the link too!
greenmeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Axle Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.11030 seconds with 46 queries