Adjustable Track Bars for a TJ - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Jeep Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 7th, 2005, 09:46 AM   #1
mschaffer66
Senior Member
 
mschaffer66's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: West Bloomfield, MI
Posts: 9,244
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Default Adjustable Track Bars for a TJ

We need some track bars for the Bubicon. I know jack about TJ suspensions so I need some info.

Whats out there and how much?

Thanks
mschaffer66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old November 7th, 2005, 09:56 AM   #2
nixxerRsixxer
Homewrecker
 
nixxerRsixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: humanresources
Posts: 3,280
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to nixxerRsixxer Send a message via AIM to nixxerRsixxer Send a message via Yahoo to nixxerRsixxer
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschaffer66
We need some track bars for the Bubicon. I know jack about TJ suspensions so I need some info.

Whats out there and how much?

Thanks
I Paid 105$ a piece for my Rubicon Express Adj. Trackbars..
nixxerRsixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2005, 11:29 AM   #3
FrankNBrew
Me balls are huge
 
FrankNBrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Warren
Posts: 2,543
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I have Rusty's front track bar (TJ and XJ front track bars are the same), but it's not the best product out there. I've heard only good things about JKS stuff. Try dpgoffroad.com for a good price.
FrankNBrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2005, 11:43 AM   #4
mschaffer66
Senior Member
 
mschaffer66's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: West Bloomfield, MI
Posts: 9,244
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nyxis
I Paid 105$ a piece for my Rubicon Express Adj. Trackbars..
From who?
mschaffer66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2005, 11:44 AM   #5
Sonicjay
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: around
Posts: 2,566
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

The RE one sucks. It comes loose a lot. I don't know if that is characteristic of all adjustable bars, or just RE, but Rocky's did it too. Their heavy duty one is better, but requires at least 4.5-5 inches of lift. It will not collapse enough to fit less lift. I'm gonna try to double-nut the top mount to at least keep that end from falling off.
Sonicjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2005, 11:57 AM   #6
nixxerRsixxer
Homewrecker
 
nixxerRsixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: humanresources
Posts: 3,280
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to nixxerRsixxer Send a message via AIM to nixxerRsixxer Send a message via Yahoo to nixxerRsixxer
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonicjay
The RE one sucks. It comes loose a lot. I don't know if that is characteristic of all adjustable bars, or just RE, but Rocky's did it too. Their heavy duty one is better, but requires at least 4.5-5 inches of lift. It will not collapse enough to fit less lift. I'm gonna try to double-nut the top mount to at least keep that end from falling off.

i've had mine on for 2 years and never has come loose..
nixxerRsixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2005, 01:27 PM   #7
nixxerRsixxer
Homewrecker
 
nixxerRsixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: humanresources
Posts: 3,280
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to nixxerRsixxer Send a message via AIM to nixxerRsixxer Send a message via Yahoo to nixxerRsixxer
Default

btw ms. you got a pm..
nixxerRsixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2005, 03:17 PM   #8
lowlock
05 LJ in progress
 
lowlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Fort Wayne In.
Posts: 1,087
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

i have a rear rubicon express trac bar with a axle bracket out of my tj
lowlock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2005, 07:08 PM   #9
Roadhouse
DrivewayJeeper
 
Roadhouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Sanford
Posts: 10,956
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

I have a RE adj on the front of my ZJ, and a JKS on the rear of my ZJ. The JKS unit is a much better built piece of equipement. I don't remember what I payed for them. Somewhere around $150 each give or take $10-15.
Roadhouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2005, 12:05 PM   #10
Tonka
YJ build in progress
 
Tonka's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lapeer Township, Mi.
Posts: 2,063
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Tonka Send a message via Yahoo to Tonka
Default

I have had Excellent results with Rusy's Offroad H.D. trackbars and brackets
they have poly bushings, no superflex or johnnie joints to wear out at the sight of dirt/mud , but are still configured to give a ton of droop.
Tonka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2005, 01:57 PM   #11
Spoiledbrat
I'm trying to care
 
Spoiledbrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: The
Posts: 511
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Red face

Only prob I'v had with my--It hits the diff cover when the suspension compresses on the left. Seems to be a problem with RE or jks trac bars on Rubicons
Spoiledbrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2005, 02:57 PM   #12
C.K.
Dont Feed the Cyco
 
C.K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 48386
Posts: 17,301
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nyxis
i've had mine on for 2 years and never has come loose..
I havent had a problem with mine yet. It might be a heavier one though.
C.K. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2005, 09:48 AM   #13
Kodiak
Hardcore Poser
 
Kodiak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Grand Rapids
Posts: 3,526
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I also run RE adjustable track bars front and rear. I had to re-tighten mine a few times after install, but now it's all good. Hasn't come loose in over a year.

I can't comment on other brands, but with the RE front, I had to drill out (ream) the frame mount hole to make room for the new bolt. Don't know if it's the same for other brands.

HTH, Good luck.
Kodiak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2005, 11:23 AM   #14
mschaffer66
Senior Member
 
mschaffer66's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: West Bloomfield, MI
Posts: 9,244
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Default

This might be a dumb response...but if you have to keep retightening...is loctite an option? Or is it not caused by vibration?
mschaffer66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2005, 12:17 PM   #15
Kodiak
Hardcore Poser
 
Kodiak's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Grand Rapids
Posts: 3,526
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschaffer66
...is loctite an option? Or is it not caused by vibration?
Good question.

I assume loctite could be used...at least, I don't see how it could hurt. It's not in the RE instructions (the RE instructions were worthless anyways). But in my case, after checking a few times, they are now solid. It's been about 2 years since I installed the lift. Mine came loose only after wheelin'. Both the jam nut and the nut on the frame mount.

Here is a picture of that end of the RE track bar. I'll also add that the jam nut on my RE control arms also had a tendency to loosen up, but again, after I tightened them a few times after runs, they never loosened up again.

Kodiak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2005, 03:57 PM   #16
mschaffer66
Senior Member
 
mschaffer66's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: West Bloomfield, MI
Posts: 9,244
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Default

Ok, thought number 2 once you have it dialed in why not just tack weld the jam nut?
mschaffer66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2005, 04:09 PM   #17
Tonka
YJ build in progress
 
Tonka's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lapeer Township, Mi.
Posts: 2,063
iTrader: (9)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Tonka Send a message via Yahoo to Tonka
Default

because heims suck, and wear quick
Tonka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2005, 04:22 PM   #18
nixxerRsixxer
Homewrecker
 
nixxerRsixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: humanresources
Posts: 3,280
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via ICQ to nixxerRsixxer Send a message via AIM to nixxerRsixxer Send a message via Yahoo to nixxerRsixxer
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschaffer66
Ok, thought number 2 once you have it dialed in why not just tack weld the jam nut?
ive had mine on for 2 years.. hasnt loosened.. initially it wasnt tightened enough.. after i put it at like 150ftlbs seems to be great.. ideally the heim should be 90° to its current position.. so if you wanted to fab a bracket off the frame to hold the bolt in double sheer and 90° that would be best.. (after all the stock tb mount is fairly weak and has been known to rip completely from the frame with lots of wheeling..)
__________________
He had a steady job and watched what he spent.
He'd say I don't believe in payin' no goddamn rent.
I'll squirrel away every goddamn cent
and buy my own damn house in Kalamazoo.
nixxerRsixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Jeep Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.29389 seconds with 74 queries