Power steering - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Toyota Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 4th, 2007, 09:29 PM   #1
artistic_gore
I own @ halo
 
artistic_gore's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-05-06
Location: Granite Falls, WA
Posts: 1,128
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to artistic_gore
Default Power steering

I almost forgot. I would have posted this in the other thread but I wanted it to get specific attention (yes I love attention). Anyway, My truck currently doesn't have power steering and is a bitch to drive around even with the 31s so I am curious to know how I would know if my push/pull steering box is power steering capable. Is that even possible? Did they use the same box but with a power steering option? Or will I have to find a box from a truck with power steering to do the swap? I've got the pump and resevoir with the 22R I'm putting in so I guess what I'm asking is if it's now just a matter of adding hoses to the whole ensamble. I guess I'm getting tired. Sorry if this doesn't make a whole lot of sense. As always any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Bryce
artistic_gore is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old January 4th, 2007, 10:20 PM   #2
nmeinc
Parts Galore Spokesmodel
 
nmeinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-04-06
Location: Detriolet
Posts: 564
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

No the box you have will not be able to be converted to power steer. if you could find a power push/pull the pump on the 22r will work.
the best choice is to Get an IFS box and get a Crossover arm for the passenger side. or get a High steer set up.

if you decide to go IFS box i have a spare for sale. JCR might be able to fab an arm.
nmeinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2007, 11:24 PM   #3
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,759
iTrader: (57)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

What he said.

As I noted earlier, crossover steering requires enough spring lift that the drag lift & pitman arm don't hit the springs.


I have a couple power steering boxes for the push-pull type steering, as well as a 3" drop steering arm for push-pull.

Normally I sell them on ebay, since they are very popular with FJ40 owners, and old Ford F100. The Ford guys often pay $100 or more for them.


To go with crossover steering, you need to build up a frame mount. Mine I did like this:




Then you bolt on a IFS toyota 4wd steering box:




You can see why you need some lift. Those springs are about 4" taller than stock. With the large amount of uptravel you can get, you can and will hit the spring into the steering arm.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2007, 03:47 PM   #4
nmeinc
Parts Galore Spokesmodel
 
nmeinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-04-06
Location: Detriolet
Posts: 564
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Well part of that is true.

depending on how you mount the box. you can either get a flat Pitman arm (trailgear) or tilt the box.
mine is an 85 frame with the box pushed into the rad support and tilted. the waggy springs are about 2-3 in of lift.

mine during mock up
nmeinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2007, 03:58 PM   #5
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,759
iTrader: (57)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

I run 83 rears up front on mine. My box is also tilted as much as I could get, cut out quite a bit of the radiator support.

My front springs sagged, which accentuated the problem, I think.

For reference, looking at the castle nut on pitman arm/drag link, with my sky arm, I now have less than 1/16" clearance between that nut and the frame, so mine is tucked as high as possible. The sky arm is huge. I think it would be impossible to break.

My stock retapered arm took a couple hits, and I was worried it would break at the worst time in tellico. There, I was stuffing the front wheels way more than I ever did up here.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2007, 05:02 PM   #6
nmeinc
Parts Galore Spokesmodel
 
nmeinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-04-06
Location: Detriolet
Posts: 564
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Here another referance pict just for fun

nmeinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2007, 09:16 PM   #7
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,759
iTrader: (57)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

My frame is a 1st gen, which also may account for some differences. 1983 longbed, I have a 2nd gen cab. My body mounts are kinda in the correct location, but everything on my truck is a bit wierd.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Toyota Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.18554 seconds with 41 queries