Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old December 12th, 2006, 08:25 PM   #1
JUSS10
4given4x4.com
 
JUSS10's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-09-06
Location: Zeeland, MI
Posts: 501
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default th400 question

ok so i have a th400 out of a buick that is going to be bolted to my sbc 350 ( i already have the adapter and all that) my questions is 1) is the input on my "buick" trans the same as any GM th400 or do i need a "buick" torque converter? 2) what is a good stall speed for a gneral purpose jeep offroad/a little onroad?

thanks
JUSS10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2006, 08:35 PM   #2
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,383
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

well if you are using a 400 converter then you want to shim it out the thickness of your addaptor so you don't pull it out of the pump when you attach it to the flexplate. secondly the snubber in the center of the converter may need support so you may need to do something there. as for stall speed you should fine with stock unless you want to launch real hard and take the chance of breaking parts. myself I wouldn't over due it untill its set up and tested. then make changes as needed it cost less that way.
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2006, 08:48 PM   #3
JUSS10
4given4x4.com
 
JUSS10's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-09-06
Location: Zeeland, MI
Posts: 501
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

right, i was told about the shiming but right now i have the original torque converter, not knowing its state of funtioning. so i jsut wanted to buy a new one. thats why i wanted to know if a torque converter labeled that it works with a GM th400 will work with mine. and what would be considered a stock stall speed? i've never delt with auto trannys before.

Last edited by JUSS10; December 12th, 2006 at 08:51 PM.
JUSS10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2006, 09:00 PM   #4
user name
keep your stick onthe ice
 
user name's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-23-06
Location: around MI and such
Posts: 903
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

what cam is in the 350 and what kind of driving are you going to be doing?
user name is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2006, 09:07 PM   #5
JUSS10
4given4x4.com
 
JUSS10's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-09-06
Location: Zeeland, MI
Posts: 501
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

it has an edelbrock performer cam and it will be a trail rig with some road use
JUSS10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2006, 09:08 PM   #6
JUSS10
4given4x4.com
 
JUSS10's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-09-06
Location: Zeeland, MI
Posts: 501
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

does anyone know anything about my input shaft question?
JUSS10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2006, 09:43 PM   #7
PavementPounder
I am the law.
 
PavementPounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Birmingham, Michigan 48009
Posts: 29,824
iTrader: (224)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

I don't, but I have to ask why you are going through such pains to use a BOPC TH400 instead of a Chevy with your Chevy motor. Is it just because that's what you had access to?
PavementPounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2006, 02:15 PM   #8
JUSS10
4given4x4.com
 
JUSS10's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-09-06
Location: Zeeland, MI
Posts: 501
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Yes i got a really good deal on a low millage buick th400 and when it was torn down it was in really good condition. so it was $20 for an adapter and it bolts up real easy. so its not really a hassle i just dont really know much about these trannys, hence the reason for my questions. would this be better off in the chevy tech forum?
JUSS10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2006, 02:41 PM   #9
PavementPounder
I am the law.
 
PavementPounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Birmingham, Michigan 48009
Posts: 29,824
iTrader: (224)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

No, this is a good place for it. You're already getting input KillerB usually comes through here, too.
PavementPounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2006, 02:43 PM   #10
STOGIE
Speed Limit -186,000 fps
 
STOGIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-27-06
Location: Standish, MI
Posts: 1,540
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JUSS10 View Post
does anyone know anything about my input shaft...
I'm sure if you go out and find yourself a gal, she'll know what to do with it!


Sorry, but I couldn't resist!
STOGIE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2006, 06:52 PM   #11
KILLER"B"468
Yankabilly
 
KILLER"B"468's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Hendersonville Tn.
Posts: 7,945
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Yes the input is the same... My question is for the same $$$ as the adapter and taking the chance of all the shimming. I am sure you could find a trans shop to sell and swap your parts into a chevy case. And if they do you right they will sell you a 1,800 stall convertor for $75 -$100
__________________
being on the eastern edge of the central time zone sucks...it gets dark WAY to early.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
An occasional jello or vasoline wrestling match isn't out of the question either.
KILLER"B"468 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2006, 07:17 PM   #12
JUSS10
4given4x4.com
 
JUSS10's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-09-06
Location: Zeeland, MI
Posts: 501
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Thanks killer b. The guy that rebuilt it for me said it would be ok with shimming. thanks for the info on the input shaft. so are you saying that a stall speed of 1800 would be good? is 2000 ok too? i have the stock 13 inch converter that came with it not sure on the condition. right now my engine is setup for a 153 tooth flex plate with the starter it has. is it smarter to get a new 12 inch torque converter and 153 tooth flex plate or use the original torque converter with a 168 tooth flex plate and new starter?

Last edited by JUSS10; December 13th, 2006 at 07:19 PM.
JUSS10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2006, 06:41 PM   #13
KILLER"B"468
Yankabilly
 
KILLER"B"468's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Hendersonville Tn.
Posts: 7,945
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JUSS10 View Post
Thanks killer b. The guy that rebuilt it for me said it would be ok with shimming. thanks for the info on the input shaft. so are you saying that a stall speed of 1800 would be good? is 2000 ok too? i have the stock 13 inch converter that came with it not sure on the condition. right now my engine is setup for a 153 tooth flex plate with the starter it has. is it smarter to get a new 12 inch torque converter and 153 tooth flex plate or use the original torque converter with a 168 tooth flex plate and new starter?
You can even run a 12" will be fine, that was a performer cam you are running correct? If so then it's power band is idle to 5,000 I wouldn't do the 2,000 unless you are making alot of power to make up for the slip.
__________________
being on the eastern edge of the central time zone sucks...it gets dark WAY to early.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
An occasional jello or vasoline wrestling match isn't out of the question either.
KILLER"B"468 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2006, 09:28 PM   #14
JUSS10
4given4x4.com
 
JUSS10's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-09-06
Location: Zeeland, MI
Posts: 501
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

yup its the performer cam, performer everything on the engine. so in this case the lower the stall speed the better. do you know where ican get a converter with a stall speed of 1800?

Last edited by JUSS10; December 14th, 2006 at 09:30 PM.
JUSS10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2006, 07:37 AM   #15
KILLER"B"468
Yankabilly
 
KILLER"B"468's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Hendersonville Tn.
Posts: 7,945
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JUSS10 View Post
yup its the performer cam, performer everything on the engine. so in this case the lower the stall speed the better. do you know where ican get a converter with a stall speed of 1800?
go to the local trans shop and see if they will deal you on a T-350 convertor(most are 1,800 stall) and fit the 400 . I can ship you one but it would be over $100 with shipping maybe more like $125. He should sell it to you for $75-$100 like I mentioned earlier.
__________________
being on the eastern edge of the central time zone sucks...it gets dark WAY to early.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
An occasional jello or vasoline wrestling match isn't out of the question either.
KILLER"B"468 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.16685 seconds with 40 queries