Why Wont It Idle - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Dodge Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 27th, 2006, 07:03 AM   #1
roll-bar Bob
Senior Member
 
roll-bar Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-20-06
Location: M CITY
Posts: 2,795
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Why Wont It Idle

I Have A 97 Dodge Dakota 4x4 With A 318 In It None Of The Indicater Lights Are On ? ?

About 4 Months Ago We Had The Fule Injectors Cleaned And I Put A New Fule Pump In The Tank .

As Long As The Foot Is On The Gas It Runs Fine But Once You Let Of It Dies
roll-bar Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old November 27th, 2006, 07:30 AM   #2
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,756
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 155 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

fuel filter and/or tps
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2006, 07:31 AM   #3
GetItOffroadGMC
Senior Member
 
GetItOffroadGMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Davisburg, MI
Posts: 630
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Id say TPS too.
GetItOffroadGMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2006, 07:53 AM   #4
roll-bar Bob
Senior Member
 
roll-bar Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-20-06
Location: M CITY
Posts: 2,795
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

What Is A Tps?
roll-bar Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2006, 07:56 AM   #5
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,756
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 155 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

throttle position sensor

its mounted to the throttle body. It talks jive to the computer telling it how much gas you're giving it

then the engine compensates for that information.. but if its hearing the wrong jive, the computer gets confused.


I've also had MAF sensors go, and it would do the exact same, but with a really nasty idle.. I think MAF throw codes every time though, so thats why I'm saying TPS
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2006, 08:14 AM   #6
roll-bar Bob
Senior Member
 
roll-bar Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-20-06
Location: M CITY
Posts: 2,795
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

$37.99 At The Zone !! I Will Put It In To Night


Thanks Guys
roll-bar Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2006, 08:37 AM   #7
PavementPounder
I am the law.
 
PavementPounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Birmingham, Michigan 48009
Posts: 29,824
iTrader: (224)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

My Ram does something like this right now as a result of being dunked, but it will idle after about 5 seconds of help to keep it over 1000 rpm. I was leaning more towards f'd O2 sensors.
PavementPounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2006, 10:45 AM   #8
GreaseMonkey
Pew pew!
 
GreaseMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Madison Heights, MI
Posts: 18,043
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clarkstoncracker View Post
throttle position sensor

its mounted to the throttle body. It talks jive to the computer telling it how much gas you're giving it

then the engine compensates for that information.. but if its hearing the wrong jive, the computer gets confused.


I've also had MAF sensors go, and it would do the exact same, but with a really nasty idle.. I think MAF throw codes every time though, so thats why I'm saying TPS
That engine doesn't have a MAF, but I agree on the TPS. Either that, or a vacuum leak.
__________________
GreaseMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2006, 10:48 AM   #9
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,756
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 155 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreaseMonkey View Post
That engine doesn't have a MAF, but I agree on the TPS. Either that, or a vacuum leak.
ok, cool

thanks
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2006, 01:51 PM   #10
GreaseMonkey
Pew pew!
 
GreaseMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Madison Heights, MI
Posts: 18,043
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clarkstoncracker View Post
ok, cool

thanks
I love you.
__________________
GreaseMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2006, 02:18 PM   #11
Viperdave
A-1 Dave Costa
 
Join Date: 03-12-06
Location: Wolcott, Ct
Posts: 1,106
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Viperdave
Default

could also be idle air control valve
Viperdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2006, 10:47 PM   #12
Chiefwoohaw
Pokerob is my B*tch!
 
Chiefwoohaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 11,509
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

How many miles? My throttle body was completly gumed up and had the same symptoms as yours. Try taking the TB off and buy a new gasket and some TB cleaner for supper cheap before you go into something more expensive . . . .
Chiefwoohaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2006, 11:04 PM   #13
Mclovin
"The Situation"
 
Mclovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Westland, Mi
Posts: 14,398
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Mclovin Send a message via Yahoo to Mclovin
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreaseMonkey View Post
I love you.
no suprise there
Mclovin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2006, 01:16 AM   #14
Chop
Mischievous Badger
 
Chop's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Fenton Mi
Posts: 5,834
iTrader: (31)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Chop
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreaseMonkey View Post
I love you.
awww isnt he cute.
Chop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2006, 07:15 AM   #15
clarkstoncracker
lol
 
clarkstoncracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-03-05
Location: OC - MI
Posts: 42,756
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 155 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to clarkstoncracker
Default

Any update on this rollbar bob?

If you just post questions and never what resolved the issue, it doesn't help anyone here.
clarkstoncracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2006, 07:23 AM   #16
roll-bar Bob
Senior Member
 
roll-bar Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-20-06
Location: M CITY
Posts: 2,795
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

No My Girl Is Driving My Ram Now So It Got Put On The Back Burner!!

May Bee Sometime This Weekend
roll-bar Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2006, 08:11 AM   #17
PavementPounder
I am the law.
 
PavementPounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Birmingham, Michigan 48009
Posts: 29,824
iTrader: (224)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Probably got shipped to a shop out west.
PavementPounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2006, 05:14 PM   #18
Chiefwoohaw
Pokerob is my B*tch!
 
Chiefwoohaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 11,509
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Why don't you have your uncle buy you a new engine?
Chiefwoohaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2006, 06:11 PM   #19
roll-bar Bob
Senior Member
 
roll-bar Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-20-06
Location: M CITY
Posts: 2,795
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chiefwoohaw View Post
Why don't you have your uncle buy you a new engine?


fuck off dont you have some homework to do
roll-bar Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2006, 06:31 PM   #20
PavementPounder
I am the law.
 
PavementPounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Birmingham, Michigan 48009
Posts: 29,824
iTrader: (224)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roll-bar Bob View Post
fuck off dont you have some homework to do

Omg... He actually turned the caps lock off.
PavementPounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Dodge Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.23359 seconds with 80 queries