making fixed control arms adjustable? - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Fabrication and body armor
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 27th, 2006, 06:32 PM   #1
Blackjackbender
.
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Plymouth
Posts: 5,475
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default making fixed control arms adjustable?

Well im planning on running some re4.5" springs to help clear my 37"s better. my fixed control arms are 16.5"s long and I want some adjustment out of them so i was thinking of cutting my control arms up and making them adjustable. Think it would be better to run threaded rod, 2 jam nuts and 2 tube inserts and two bushings at each end or just hack one end up and put a tube insert in it and a Johnny Joint? I know most people are gonna say go long arms and I do plan on going Long arms come summer. I have the cash but its going to go towards regearing and a trip to montreal before i install long arms. so stupid idea or not?


thanks for the help,


Ty

outcome would make them look much like these since i will be hacking up procomp arms.

Blackjackbender is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old December 3rd, 2006, 09:47 AM   #2
Jeepaholic
Axle Guru Extraordinaire
 
Jeepaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-08-06
Location: Owosso
Posts: 7,318
iTrader: (116)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Jeepaholic Send a message via MSN to Jeepaholic
Default

Saw this the other day and thought this would work good

http://www.mad4wd.com/tek9.asp?pg=pr...ific=jmpndnomk


Last edited by Jeepaholic; December 4th, 2006 at 09:00 PM.
Jeepaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2006, 10:43 AM   #3
Rocky
AAA GOLD ROCKS!!!!!
 
Rocky's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Macomb
Posts: 8,512
iTrader: (13)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Hack the axle end off, weld in a threaded tube insert, and get some Johnny joints with the 1" threaded end. That way when you do your long arms you can reuse the Johnny Joints.

IIRC my lowers are 16.5" and I run the 4.5" RE coils with no problems.
Rocky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2006, 03:35 PM   #4
lgottler
Senior Member
 
lgottler's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-30-06
Location: New Baltimore, MI
Posts: 1,378
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky View Post
Hack the axle end off, weld in a threaded tube insert, and get some Johnny joints with the 1" threaded end.

I concurr captain.
lgottler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2006, 03:46 PM   #5
Blackjackbender
.
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Plymouth
Posts: 5,475
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky View Post
Hack the axle end off, weld in a threaded tube insert, and get some Johnny joints with the 1" threaded end. That way when you do your long arms you can reuse the Johnny Joints.

IIRC my lowers are 16.5" and I run the 4.5" RE coils with no problems.

thats exactly what i was thinking of doing since i can reuse the johnny joints in the future. i think theres a tube inerst that will work but i think im just gonna buy some stock and make them myself so i know they will be perfect and I will have a tap for future projects. Im actually getting re4.5" coils and am going to install those first before I mess with my control arms.


thanks for the help
Blackjackbender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2006, 05:18 PM   #6
Grandman
do i look old !
 
Grandman's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: West Branch Mi
Posts: 9,864
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

by threaded rod you dont mean the grade 2 shit at the hard ware do you ?

You will need a better rod then that or it will not hold . Other then that your idea should be fine .

My Grand has the orginal control arms . There just stretched to fit and have never been a problem .
Grandman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2006, 05:43 PM   #7
Blackjackbender
.
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Plymouth
Posts: 5,475
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grandman View Post
by threaded rod you dont mean the grade 2 shit at the hard ware do you ?

You will need a better rod then that or it will not hold . Other then that your idea should be fine .

My Grand has the orginal control arms . There just stretched to fit and have never been a problem .
I would get a grade 8 fine thread rod and do it. gonna look for it around here locally but may have to get it off line. Also gotta see if i have a day off work i can go in and make those tubing inserts.

mind posting pictures up?
Blackjackbender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2006, 09:03 PM   #8
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,755
iTrader: (57)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackjackbender View Post
I would get a grade 8 fine thread rod and do it. gonna look for it around here locally but may have to get it off line. Also gotta see if i have a day off work i can go in and make those tubing inserts.

mind posting pictures up?
Just buy grade 8 fine thread bolts and cut them to length.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2006, 10:22 PM   #9
Blackjackbender
.
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Plymouth
Posts: 5,475
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Haggar View Post
Just buy grade 8 fine thread bolts and cut them to length.
thought of that.

would the heat from cutting them mess up the stregth? also i think i may have a hell of time finding one that has enoug usable thread length at my local hardware. may have to have them special order me something.
Blackjackbender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2006, 05:43 PM   #10
Kawierider
Senior Member
 
Kawierider's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-29-06
Location: Livonia
Posts: 1,533
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackjackbender View Post
thought of that.

would the heat from cutting them mess up the stregth? also i think i may have a hell of time finding one that has enoug usable thread length at my local hardware. may have to have them special order me something.
Yes, it will affect the strength but your going to be getting them hot when you weld them anyway. Be sure to let them cool slowly (not quenched in water) and you should be ok.
Kawierider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2006, 08:56 PM   #11
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,755
iTrader: (57)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackjackbender View Post
thought of that.

would the heat from cutting them mess up the stregth? also i think i may have a hell of time finding one that has enoug usable thread length at my local hardware. may have to have them special order me something.
It seems to hold up OK, in practice. You should find a real fastener shop, as your hardware shop will charge a lot, whether its bolts or threaded rod.

I know my local place (Quality Fastener in Oxford) is open saturdays, and stocks any size grade 8 I've even needed up to 1". Most hardware stores around me don't have a good selection in sizes like 9/16" fine thread and 3/4" fine thread, which I use on my truck.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2006, 09:28 PM   #12
Blackjackbender
.
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Plymouth
Posts: 5,475
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Haggar View Post
It seems to hold up OK, in practice. You should find a real fastener shop, as your hardware shop will charge a lot, whether its bolts or threaded rod.

I know my local place (Quality Fastener in Oxford) is open saturdays, and stocks any size grade 8 I've even needed up to 1". Most hardware stores around me don't have a good selection in sizes like 9/16" fine thread and 3/4" fine thread, which I use on my truck.

I have a really good hardware store by me that stocks tons of grade stuff. I know they have atleast 9/16" fine thread but im thinking they have more also I just have to actually look while im there. if not theres a fastenall down the street so i think im covered.

im thinking itll be cheaper just to use threaded rod and make my own inserts. its nice have a full blown machine shop and then some to your disposle.


thanks for the help,

Ty
Blackjackbender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2006, 10:10 PM   #13
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,755
iTrader: (57)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackjackbender View Post
im thinking itll be cheaper just to use threaded rod and make my own inserts. its nice have a full blown machine shop and then some to your disposle.


thanks for the help,

Ty
If you are cutting threads in stock for the inserts, you could also make your own threaded rod from steel of your choice.

I have the quick change gears on my south bend, although I'm thinking just to get some big coupling nuts, and turn them down to make inserts. I think you could get two out of one nut, depending on the size..
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Fabrication and body armor

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.30745 seconds with 61 queries