Computer Question - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 24th, 2014, 10:58 AM   #1
Flexin' XJ
Senior Member
 
Flexin' XJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-04-07
Location: Holt, MI
Posts: 4,459
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Computer Question

So my wife has an old laptop from 2002 or 2003 that has a ton of stuff on the harddrive. Most of the stuff we don't have the installation cds for anymore.

Can I remove the harddrive and put it in an external drive enclosure and run the program off the drive like that?

Mainly she wants access to her AutoCad and Corel Suite.

The laptop is way out of date now and runs way too slow. We have installed more memory but it didn't help. I bought her a brand new HP desktop with dual monitors this winter.
Flexin' XJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old April 24th, 2014, 11:28 AM   #2
TJJEEP
Senior Member
 
TJJEEP's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Orchard Lake
Posts: 2,904
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to TJJEEP Send a message via MSN to TJJEEP
Default

No, you will need the installation media to run the programs on a different computer. Many settings, files, and the registry are altered when a program is installed.

What did you use Corel for? There is a free alternative for spreadsheets and documents called Open Office.
There are some free alternatives to autocad but I have not tried any out.
http://blog.cometdocs.com/10-great-f...ves-to-autocad
__________________
If you're like me you like to talk to things. I'm Gary Busey!!
TJJEEP is online now   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2014, 11:29 AM   #3
Flexin' XJ
Senior Member
 
Flexin' XJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-04-07
Location: Holt, MI
Posts: 4,459
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Even with windows installed on the laptop hard drive?
Flexin' XJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2014, 11:32 AM   #4
TJJEEP
Senior Member
 
TJJEEP's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Orchard Lake
Posts: 2,904
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to TJJEEP Send a message via MSN to TJJEEP
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flexin' XJ View Post
Even with windows installed on the laptop hard drive?
Correct, the applications need to be installed on the versions of Windows that is running, not the installation on the laptop drive.
__________________
If you're like me you like to talk to things. I'm Gary Busey!!
TJJEEP is online now   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2014, 11:40 AM   #5
Flexin' XJ
Senior Member
 
Flexin' XJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-04-07
Location: Holt, MI
Posts: 4,459
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

So in theory I could boot from the external drive and run it that way then. If I have that option in the BIOS.
Flexin' XJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2014, 12:37 PM   #6
TJJEEP
Senior Member
 
TJJEEP's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Orchard Lake
Posts: 2,904
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to TJJEEP Send a message via MSN to TJJEEP
Default

No, not easily. There will be all sorts of issues to get past with regards to booting and driver issues.

Your best bet may be to use virtualization software such as virtual pc and make an image of your old laptop and run it on your new one.

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downl...s.aspx?id=4580

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/s.../ee656415.aspx
__________________
If you're like me you like to talk to things. I'm Gary Busey!!
TJJEEP is online now   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2014, 12:39 PM   #7
TJJEEP
Senior Member
 
TJJEEP's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Orchard Lake
Posts: 2,904
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to TJJEEP Send a message via MSN to TJJEEP
Default

Or actually Win 8 has hyper-v builit in so use that instead of Virtual PC

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...rtual-machines
__________________
If you're like me you like to talk to things. I'm Gary Busey!!
TJJEEP is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.11293 seconds with 41 queries