Yj with t18 clutch linkage - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Jeep Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 17th, 2014, 11:03 AM   #1
masterbeatty
Senior Member
 
masterbeatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-04-08
Location: my house
Posts: 4,209
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default Yj with t18 clutch linkage

What's my best option for a clutch linkage? Its running the ford bell housing and a big block
masterbeatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old April 17th, 2014, 11:25 AM   #2
Toyfish
Senior Member
 
Toyfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-05-10
Location: lapeer, MI
Posts: 2,306
iTrader: (32)
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Default

U will prolly have to fab something up

Sent from my DROID X2 using Tapatalk 2
Toyfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2014, 11:42 AM   #3
masterbeatty
Senior Member
 
masterbeatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-04-08
Location: my house
Posts: 4,209
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

I figured I would but will a cable be sufficient or will I need actual linkage? I suppose that's my dilema
masterbeatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2014, 11:45 AM   #4
Toyfish
Senior Member
 
Toyfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-05-10
Location: lapeer, MI
Posts: 2,306
iTrader: (32)
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by masterbeatty View Post
I figured I would but will a cable be sufficient or will I need actual linkage? I suppose that's my dilema
Hmmm thats a good question

Sent from my DROID X2 using Tapatalk 2
Toyfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2014, 12:10 PM   #5
masterbeatty
Senior Member
 
masterbeatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-04-08
Location: my house
Posts: 4,209
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

It would be swell if the ax parts would swap over
masterbeatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2014, 01:20 PM   #6
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,775
iTrader: (58)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Do you have the release arm in place?

On my CJ5, I used the hydraulic clutch from a 1980 4 cylinder CJ, which has an external slave that worked with the original (mechanically operated) release arm.

Although once I switched to inside the frame headers, I had to switch back to a mechanical bellcrank, for fitment issues.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2014, 04:18 PM   #7
masterbeatty
Senior Member
 
masterbeatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-04-08
Location: my house
Posts: 4,209
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

Yea the arm is in the trans still.
masterbeatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2014, 05:24 PM   #8
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,775
iTrader: (58)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

I have all the CJ mechanical bellcrank parts, you can have them for free if you come get them. One side bolts to the tub, one side bolts to bellhousing.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2014, 09:30 PM   #9
Sandals
Fucking Zen as Shit
 
Sandals's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lindenhurst, IL
Posts: 15,410
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

I have my T-18 driven hydraulically.

Stock bellcrank parts, stock slave cylinder and CNC master cylinder.
Sandals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2014, 07:59 PM   #10
masterbeatty
Senior Member
 
masterbeatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-04-08
Location: my house
Posts: 4,209
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

Any idea how this could be converted to hydraulic like the factory ax-15 is?
masterbeatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2014, 08:20 PM   #11
Sandals
Fucking Zen as Shit
 
Sandals's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lindenhurst, IL
Posts: 15,410
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by masterbeatty View Post
Any idea how this could be converted to hydraulic like the factory ax-15 is?
Look on summit, get external slave cylinder, master cylinder, some fluid and some line.

Install hydraulic master cylinder,
fab and mount slave so it engages the clutch arm
run hyd line betweenthe two,
bleed system,
party.
Sandals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2014, 08:35 PM   #12
masterbeatty
Senior Member
 
masterbeatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-04-08
Location: my house
Posts: 4,209
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

Possible to use my Yj master to push a universal slave?
masterbeatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2014, 12:58 PM   #13
Sandals
Fucking Zen as Shit
 
Sandals's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lindenhurst, IL
Posts: 15,410
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by masterbeatty View Post
Possible to use my Yj master to push a universal slave?
Yeah, if you can fab it in there sure, i think i went with a CJ stock slave.

Depending on what year YJ some had non bleedable slaves and used hard plastic tubing to connect to the master, not ideal.
Sandals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2014, 02:17 PM   #14
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,775
iTrader: (58)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

I did the CJ slave on my old T15. I just picked up a T18 to go into my CJ7, I just plan on the complete CJ setup. I would match the master to the tub. When I started reading up last week, seemed people used universals or the CJ slaves.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2014, 05:30 PM   #15
Wramblerguy
Senior Member
 
Wramblerguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-02-11
Location: Schoolcraft 49087
Posts: 3,409
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Yj master doesn't have any way of attaching anything other then the plastic line if I remember right
Mounting holes are closer together but no biggy
A cj 4cyl clutch master uses regular brake line fitting then get an aftermarket slave they mounts to the outside of the bell like stated above
__________________
3rd generation jeeper

99 gmc Sierra extended cab z71 dd
87 yj Laredo 4.2/999/231 ac & cruise bone stock (for now)
90s Wrambler efi 2.5, t5, sye231 ,d44s with 4.88s and detroits
Wramblerguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2014, 07:06 PM   #16
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,775
iTrader: (58)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wramblerguy View Post
Yj master doesn't have any way of attaching anything other then the plastic line if I remember right
Mounting holes are closer together but no biggy
A cj 4cyl clutch master uses regular brake line fitting then get an aftermarket slave they mounts to the outside of the bell like stated above
There are ways to get rid of the plastic line. Here is one example.

http://comancheclub.com/topic/28758-...xed-with-pics/
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2014, 11:03 PM   #17
Wramblerguy
Senior Member
 
Wramblerguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-02-11
Location: Schoolcraft 49087
Posts: 3,409
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Haggar View Post
There are ways to get rid of the plastic line. Here is one example.



http://comancheclub.com/topic/28758-...xed-with-pics/

That works too I guess lol
I think the Cj master and standard brake line would be cheaper tho
__________________
3rd generation jeeper

99 gmc Sierra extended cab z71 dd
87 yj Laredo 4.2/999/231 ac & cruise bone stock (for now)
90s Wrambler efi 2.5, t5, sye231 ,d44s with 4.88s and detroits
Wramblerguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2014, 05:14 PM   #18
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,775
iTrader: (58)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Yep, just need to modify the firewall a bit, as the mounting studs that go through to the pedal are different spacing.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2014, 09:52 AM   #19
Wramblerguy
Senior Member
 
Wramblerguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-02-11
Location: Schoolcraft 49087
Posts: 3,409
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Haggar View Post
Yep, just need to modify the firewall a bit, as the mounting studs that go through to the pedal are different spacing.

__________________
3rd generation jeeper

99 gmc Sierra extended cab z71 dd
87 yj Laredo 4.2/999/231 ac & cruise bone stock (for now)
90s Wrambler efi 2.5, t5, sye231 ,d44s with 4.88s and detroits
Wramblerguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Jeep Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.19934 seconds with 77 queries