Swapped out chain in np231 of 97 wrangler - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 2nd, 2014, 08:58 PM   #1
gattaca37
Senior Member
 
gattaca37's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-24-09
Location: sparta, MI
Posts: 184
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default Swapped out chain in np231 of 97 wrangler

Tcase chain in 97' wrangler
Noticed some slop in chain of np231
Ordered a crown oem replacement from jegs
Installed, (what a pain), an wondering if there is a break in for the chain?
I noticed it was a pain to install the new chain bein that it's not stretched. I took jeep for a drive in 2h an noticed that chain just seems too tight an is robbing horsepower. I matched the chains up for comparison before install an they were same links an same lengths. Jeep has an hack an tap for the sye
I had to remove seal, bearing of tail cone to get it on an a porta power to push shaft over for the bearing to reinstall. Went through all gears an 2h,4h an 4L
Went down the road in 2h for a test an noticed power loss as I go through the manual gear pattern an feel the engine trying to build revs but it feels as if the chain is restriction the shaft to obtain the desired speed
Everything inside is together the same as it was before I swapped out chain
I asked the jeg rep multiple times if this was the correct chain an he said yes
The box says 87-06 wrangler on it
Just confused an wondering if there is a break in to get some relief on the new chain.
New chain shouldn't be that tight?
gattaca37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old March 2nd, 2014, 09:27 PM   #2
Tab
Senior Member
 
Tab's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Freeland, mi
Posts: 4,934
iTrader: (29)
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Default

No, it shouldn't. I would take it apart again and see what is wrong.
Tab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2014, 10:54 AM   #3
CHEVYRCKS
Ghetto Krawler
 
CHEVYRCKS's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-01-08
Location: Lansing,Mi
Posts: 4,856
iTrader: (27)
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tab View Post
No, it shouldn't. I would take it apart again and see what is wrong.
x2
CHEVYRCKS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2014, 12:00 AM   #4
gattaca37
Senior Member
 
gattaca37's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-24-09
Location: sparta, MI
Posts: 184
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Pulled apart
Took crown off compared to old one
Crown looked shorter which it should cause new
Compared crown to new alloy USA
Looked similar
Put stock back on as a mock up, everything fit perfect
Put alloy USA on as a mock up, perfect
I applied gasket maker an reassembled with alloy USA chain an both ended of the tcase turned smoothly
Done deal
Only thing I can figure is the crown was very similar but not the right chain, someone at factory threw wrong chain in right box
gattaca37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.11435 seconds with 32 queries