Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old January 16th, 2014, 09:00 AM   #1
Lousypirate
Bud Light Man of Genius
 
Lousypirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-11-08
Location: Norton Shores 49441
Posts: 8,535
iTrader: (27)
Ghetto idle switch

As I was driving to a few errands after work, I had a thought about running a switch to the run wire of my diesel.

The thought being that I could flip the switch and then be able to remove the key and lock the steering.
__________________
77 Chevy K30 partout thread
94 12v dually partout



Have you given your life up to traction lately?
Lousypirate is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2014, 09:13 AM   #2
marshall
locally famous
 
marshall's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-12-11
Location: mayville MI
Posts: 2,860
iTrader: (4)
Or just carry an extra key and lock the door?
marshall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2014, 09:14 AM   #3
8PTBUCK
Yo
 
8PTBUCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-02-09
Location: Waterford/Gladwin, MI
Posts: 4,218
iTrader: (6)
What would be real purpose of this? I'm confused. So in case somebody wanted to steal your truck, they would only be able to drive straight? Lol
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
I was teasing him cuz mines bigger and louder
8PTBUCK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2014, 09:16 AM   #4
Bo's Cj 7
Senior Member
 
Bo's Cj 7's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-25-10
Location: Rose City
Posts: 626
iTrader: (11)
I bought a remote starter and installed myself it does the same thing and I can start it from here, I think it was $39
Bo's Cj 7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2014, 09:24 AM   #5
wave_crusher
I'll Direc your TV
 
wave_crusher's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-20-09
Location: Big Rapids, MI
Posts: 4,643
iTrader: (20)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lousypirate View Post
As I was driving to a few errands after work, I had a thought about running a switch to the run wire of my diesel.

The thought being that I could flip the switch and then be able to remove the key and lock the steering.
Wouldn't it be easier and better to hook up a keyless entry, then just keep the fob with you????
wave_crusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2014, 09:28 AM   #6
tom77cj5
so married it hurts
 
tom77cj5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-06-06
Location: chesterfield
Posts: 3,895
iTrader: (41)
Send a message via AIM to tom77cj5
Quote:
Originally Posted by wave_crusher View Post
Wouldn't it be easier and better to hook up a keyless entry, then just keep the fob with you????
A lot of keyless entry systems do not work when the vehicle is running
tom77cj5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2014, 09:31 AM   #7
Mr. Beefy
Randy did it.
 
Mr. Beefy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-11-07
Location: Sault Ste. Marie
Posts: 10,038
iTrader: (19)
I bought a remote start for mine I press a button twice and I can pull the key.

When my truck has a key in the ignition you cannot unlock the doors with the button (Did away with keeping an extra key)

The remote start also gave me a turbo timer. lets the truck cool down for 3 minutes before shutting down.
__________________

Dakota Truggy Tons and 43's
07 CTD tow pig With the goodies

Thank you to Jeeperz Creeperz Off Road

Cool stuff at Ironman Offroad
Mr. Beefy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2014, 09:34 AM   #8
Lousypirate
Bud Light Man of Genius
 
Lousypirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-11-08
Location: Norton Shores 49441
Posts: 8,535
iTrader: (27)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Beefy View Post
I bought a remote start for mine I press a button twice and I can pull the key.

When my truck has a key in the ignition you cannot unlock the doors with the button (Did away with keeping an extra key)

The remote start also gave me a turbo timer. lets the truck cool down for 3 minutes before shutting down.
How much you spend on yours?

Taking the key it would lock it in park too? Not just lock the steering. I could turn the key to off and remove. If the switch got turned off, it would just shut the engine down. When I get back to the truck, key goes in, put back to run, and turn the switch off.

A switch and a couple diodes are a hell of a lot cheaper than a remote starter... even though I would like one
__________________
77 Chevy K30 partout thread
94 12v dually partout



Have you given your life up to traction lately?

Last edited by Lousypirate; January 16th, 2014 at 09:38 AM.
Lousypirate is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2014, 09:34 AM   #9
8PTBUCK
Yo
 
8PTBUCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-02-09
Location: Waterford/Gladwin, MI
Posts: 4,218
iTrader: (6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Beefy View Post
I bought a remote start for mine I press a button twice and I can pull the key.

When my truck has a key in the ignition you cannot unlock the doors with the button (Did away with keeping an extra key)

The remote start also gave me a turbo timer. lets the truck cool down for 3 minutes before shutting down.
That is a great feature. What remote start do you have?
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
I was teasing him cuz mines bigger and louder
8PTBUCK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2014, 09:39 AM   #10
Mr. Beefy
Randy did it.
 
Mr. Beefy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-11-07
Location: Sault Ste. Marie
Posts: 10,038
iTrader: (19)
I paid $300 for mine 2 years ago.

It's an Excalibur like these

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/cat_m...ote-start.html
__________________

Dakota Truggy Tons and 43's
07 CTD tow pig With the goodies

Thank you to Jeeperz Creeperz Off Road

Cool stuff at Ironman Offroad
Mr. Beefy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2014, 12:08 PM   #11
wave_crusher
I'll Direc your TV
 
wave_crusher's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-20-09
Location: Big Rapids, MI
Posts: 4,643
iTrader: (20)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom77cj5 View Post
A lot of keyless entry systems do not work when the vehicle is running
I actually did not know that. The two that I have put in my trucks have both worked when it was running.

...Might be because of my A+ awesome electrical skillzz...NOT!
wave_crusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2014, 12:10 PM   #12
Lousypirate
Bud Light Man of Genius
 
Lousypirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-11-08
Location: Norton Shores 49441
Posts: 8,535
iTrader: (27)
Quote:
Originally Posted by wave_crusher View Post
I actually did not know that. The two that I have put in my trucks have both worked when it was running.

...Might be because of my A+ awesome electrical skillzz...NOT!
try starting it with your remote start while it is running with your key then
__________________
77 Chevy K30 partout thread
94 12v dually partout



Have you given your life up to traction lately?
Lousypirate is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2014, 12:11 PM   #13
wave_crusher
I'll Direc your TV
 
wave_crusher's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-20-09
Location: Big Rapids, MI
Posts: 4,643
iTrader: (20)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lousypirate View Post
try starting it with your remote start while it is running with your key then
I don't have that fancy remote start...just keyless entry
wave_crusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2014, 08:33 PM   #14
Elusive
Senior Member
 
Elusive's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Linden
Posts: 501
iTrader: (2)
Just shut your truck off. Don't be the douche bag that thinks they have to leave their diesel idling while at the store, or at the fuel pump.
Elusive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2014, 09:26 PM   #15
Lousypirate
Bud Light Man of Genius
 
Lousypirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-11-08
Location: Norton Shores 49441
Posts: 8,535
iTrader: (27)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elusive View Post
Just shut your truck off. Don't be the douche bag that thinks they have to leave their diesel idling while at the store, or at the fuel pump.
I only wanted to let it idle if I was running in the gas station for 3 minutes, geez.
__________________
77 Chevy K30 partout thread
94 12v dually partout



Have you given your life up to traction lately?
Lousypirate is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2014, 09:35 PM   #16
koochman450r
Stranger Danger
 
koochman450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-13-08
Location: New Boston MI
Posts: 2,243
iTrader: (24)
My ignition key is split and I can easily remove my key fob. So I remove the fob and lock the door. Mine is an 03 Chevy. The alarm doesn't set but it does lock the doors.
__________________
MY BUILD
http://www.greatlakes4x4.com/showthread.php?t=255953
Quote:
Originally Posted by clarkstoncracker View Post
you won this battle.
koochman450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2014, 09:40 PM   #17
koochman450r
Stranger Danger
 
koochman450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-13-08
Location: New Boston MI
Posts: 2,243
iTrader: (24)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elusive View Post
Just shut your truck off. Don't be the douche bag that thinks they have to leave their diesel idling while at the store, or at the fuel pump.
Well you don't have to but I leave my gas car running just like my diesel. Less wear on the starter and stuff. Plus I don't shut my truck off till the egt reaches 300 or less. So I won't just pull in and shut it off hot. At that temperature the oil that sits in a hot turbo can boil/burn and leave residue in the turbo bearings and shorten the life. That's the main reason I leave my truck running.
__________________
MY BUILD
http://www.greatlakes4x4.com/showthread.php?t=255953
Quote:
Originally Posted by clarkstoncracker View Post
you won this battle.
koochman450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2014, 09:56 PM   #18
caleb24v
RUMPELEDSTEELSKIN
 
caleb24v's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-28-12
Location: Newaygo, Mi
Posts: 281
iTrader: (4)
Not sure what type of diesel you have but with my 24 valve Cummins you can get the edge programmer and set the turbo timer for up to 5 minutes. Shut off the truck, pull the key (timer will keep it running) go about your business, hop back in, turn the truck back "on" and away you go. That's what i do.
caleb24v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2014, 09:57 PM   #19
caleb24v
RUMPELEDSTEELSKIN
 
caleb24v's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-28-12
Location: Newaygo, Mi
Posts: 281
iTrader: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elusive View Post
Just shut your truck off. Don't be the douche bag that thinks they have to leave their diesel idling while at the store, or at the fuel pump.
I'm guessing you shut it off at stoplights too...
caleb24v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2014, 10:10 PM   #20
Lousypirate
Bud Light Man of Genius
 
Lousypirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-11-08
Location: Norton Shores 49441
Posts: 8,535
iTrader: (27)
Quote:
Originally Posted by caleb24v View Post
Not sure what type of diesel you have but with my 24 valve Cummins you can get the edge programmer and set the turbo timer for up to 5 minutes. Shut off the truck, pull the key (timer will keep it running) go about your business, hop back in, turn the truck back "on" and away you go. That's what i do.
yup, 12 valve.

programmer
__________________
77 Chevy K30 partout thread
94 12v dually partout



Have you given your life up to traction lately?
Lousypirate is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.17968 seconds with 50 queries