Video problems with my Note 2 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 12th, 2014, 11:01 AM   #1
Mr.Green
I can levitate!
 
Mr.Green's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-29-05
Location: Nort Keralina
Posts: 8,087
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default Video problems with my Note 2

I have the best phone ever made, Samsung Note 2. I keep getting an error saying something like '' Cant play video please stop other video'' this usually occurs on the Facebook after I have viewed another video. It even happens while scrolling thru the live feed / main page. Pissing me off.

My second issue that is probably not related is: videos are almost always taking a long time to buffer and will continue to have to buffer while wathcing them.They will only play about 10 seconds at a time but sometimes it works fine. I have an older D-link wireless router 802.11g/2.4ghz is this too slow of a router??

It looks like other users are having these same issues.

Help me solve my life sucking internet issues please.
Mr.Green is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old January 12th, 2014, 12:42 PM   #2
rammanriley
Senior Member
 
rammanriley's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-26-11
Location: Macomb twp
Posts: 598
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Does it do this when not using wifi also?
__________________
96 Ram 1500 ECSB 5.9l v8 4x4 On 35's
13 Dart Aero (turbo go fast)
rammanriley is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2014, 03:24 PM   #3
BlooMule
pew pew
 
BlooMule's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: a mile from the shithole
Posts: 24,716
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Default

You need to shut down the porn running in the background.....



Get Advanced Task Killer, it in the Google play store. FB keeps a lot of crap running in the background and this will allow you to see it and shut it down.

I watch feature length movies on Carckle with my my cheap ass LG Motion and I don't have buffer issues.
__________________
-rw-rw-rw
BlooMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2014, 03:27 PM   #4
tsaguy
drink the hotdog water.
 
tsaguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-17-08
Location: Big Mountain, Michigan 48458
Posts: 4,321
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Green View Post
I have the best phone ever made, Samsung Note 2. Pissing me off.


Hold down the 'home' key, when all your apps pop up, slide them right or left to 'kill' them.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepbrattt View Post
I do drive a jeep and I have puffed a peter maybe once or twice

Quote:
Originally Posted by steveo View Post
I am willing to bet its a bunch of geriatric old farts bitching about anyone under 50 and touching each others weiners.
tsaguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2014, 04:14 PM   #5
vr
Senior Member
 
vr's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: .
Posts: 4,115
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

facebook videos auto play as you scroll. I do not know how to shut that off. I always log off facebook before I close that tab so I never see a duplicate video message warning.
vr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2014, 04:20 PM   #6
vr
Senior Member
 
vr's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: .
Posts: 4,115
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

http://www.itworld.com/mobile-wirele...ar-connections
vr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2014, 04:36 PM   #7
ljense8
Web Wheeler
 
ljense8's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-16-13
Location: Holland, MI
Posts: 544
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsaguy View Post


Hold down the 'home' key, when all your apps pop up, slide them right or left to 'kill' them.
This. Or just hit "close all"
ljense8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2014, 04:53 PM   #8
wilesin
Senior Member
 
wilesin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-16-09
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,819
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsaguy View Post


Hold down the 'home' key, when all your apps pop up, slide them right or left to 'kill' them.
x3
wilesin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2014, 04:57 PM   #9
kickstand
sHaMoNe!
 
kickstand's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-20-06
Location: fenton
Posts: 30,935
iTrader: (46)
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Green View Post
I have the best phone ever made, Samsung Note 2. I keep getting an error saying something like '' Cant play video please stop other video'' this usually occurs on the Facebook after I have viewed another video. It even happens while scrolling thru the live feed / main page. Pissing me off.

My second issue that is probably not related is: videos are almost always taking a long time to buffer and will continue to have to buffer while wathcing them.They will only play about 10 seconds at a time but sometimes it works fine. I have an older D-link wireless router 802.11g/2.4ghz is this too slow of a router??

It looks like other users are having these same issues.

Help me solve my life sucking internet issues please.
I got 99 problems but a cell phone ain't one
kickstand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2014, 05:17 PM   #10
High Center Hancho
rack tap re-rack click
 
High Center Hancho's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-10-07
Location: Genesee County
Posts: 12,926
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I don't know how to solve your problem, but I found out today my tv is a smart tv and can get on the intraweb. Anywho I hit the youtube app on the TV and it said to pair it with my iPad. It gave me a code I typed in on my iPad, now I can use my iPad to search for videos and watch them on the TV, it's very cool and never lags...FYI
High Center Hancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2014, 05:23 PM   #11
Rob the plumber
Licensed master plumber
 
Rob the plumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-14-06
Location: New Baltimore, Michigan
Posts: 5,638
iTrader: (32)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

You don't need task killers on modern Android. Maybe clear caches? Try mx player also.

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk
Rob the plumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2014, 05:23 PM   #12
Rob the plumber
Licensed master plumber
 
Rob the plumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-14-06
Location: New Baltimore, Michigan
Posts: 5,638
iTrader: (32)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

And the Note 3 is the best phone made. Lol

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk
Rob the plumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2014, 05:24 PM   #13
Chip Wheeler
Senior Member
 
Chip Wheeler's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-30-07
Location: Grand Blanc/Michigan
Posts: 717
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quit facebook? Buy the Note 3?
Chip Wheeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2014, 05:25 PM   #14
firehawk
Live Action!
 
firehawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-02-07
Location: Clawson, Michigan
Posts: 12,404
iTrader: (44)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by High Center Hancho View Post
I don't know how to solve your problem, but I found out today my tv is a smart tv and can get on the intraweb. Anywho I hit the youtube app on the TV and it said to pair it with my iPad. It gave me a code I typed in on my iPad, now I can use my iPad to search for videos and watch them on the TV, it's very cool and never lags...FYI


My Hero!!!
firehawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2014, 07:54 PM   #15
fordbronco
ate yo' baby
 
fordbronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-22-11
Location: Marlette/Flint
Posts: 4,723
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by High Center Hancho View Post
I don't know how to solve your problem, but I found out today my tv is a smart tv and can get on the intraweb. Anywho I hit the youtube app on the TV and it said to pair it with my iPad. It gave me a code I typed in on my iPad, now I can use my iPad to search for videos and watch them on the TV, it's very cool and never lags...FYI
Aside from looking at the box, instructions,looking up the tv model online, or any labels or badges on the tv or remote, is there any way to tell if your tv is a smart tv or not?
fordbronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2014, 08:04 PM   #16
BlooMule
pew pew
 
BlooMule's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: a mile from the shithole
Posts: 24,716
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fordbronco View Post
Aside from looking at the box, instructions,looking up the tv model online, or any labels or badges on the tv or remote, is there any way to tell if your tv is a smart tv or not?
If it refuses to tune in TLC channel, it's a smart TV.
__________________
-rw-rw-rw
BlooMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2014, 08:08 PM   #17
jeepfreak81
81 inches of fun
 
jeepfreak81's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-10-05
Location: Lennon, Mi
Posts: 12,190
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to jeepfreak81 Send a message via MSN to jeepfreak81 Send a message via Yahoo to jeepfreak81
Default

If it's running kit Kat video playback is a known problem

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using Tapatalk
jeepfreak81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2014, 08:46 PM   #18
Mr.Green
I can levitate!
 
Mr.Green's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-29-05
Location: Nort Keralina
Posts: 8,087
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rammanriley View Post
Does it do this when not using wifi also?
I dont know, I am usually on wifi. I need to keep better track of this.


Quote:
Originally Posted by tsaguy View Post


Hold down the 'home' key, when all your apps pop up, slide them right or left to 'kill' them.
I am almost obsessive about doing this. I always 'close all'

Quote:
Originally Posted by vr View Post
facebook videos auto play as you scroll. I do not know how to shut that off. I always log off facebook before I close that tab so I never see a duplicate video message warning.
It doesnt always do this and I will not log off Facebook every time.


Quote:
Originally Posted by High Center Hancho View Post
I don't know how to solve your problem, but I found out today my tv is a smart tv and can get on the intraweb. Anywho I hit the youtube app on the TV and it said to pair it with my iPad. It gave me a code I typed in on my iPad, now I can use my iPad to search for videos and watch them on the TV, it's very cool and never lags...FYI
This is not your thread. Go start another one about your smart TV.

No one can tell me if they KNOW if my wireless modem is sufficient??
Mr.Green is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2014, 08:51 PM   #19
fordbronco
ate yo' baby
 
fordbronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-22-11
Location: Marlette/Flint
Posts: 4,723
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlooMule View Post
If it refuses to tune in TLC channel, it's a smart TV.
fordbronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2014, 08:52 PM   #20
firehawk
Live Action!
 
firehawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-02-07
Location: Clawson, Michigan
Posts: 12,404
iTrader: (44)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Green View Post

No one can tell me if they KNOW if my wireless modem is sufficient??
Probably not.
firehawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.34032 seconds with 80 queries