No power for Christmas - Page 5 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 26th, 2013, 08:04 PM   #81
cmetzg03
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
 
cmetzg03's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-30-11
Location: White Lake/roscommon
Posts: 7,988
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by High Center Hancho View Post
I just bought 20 more gals of gas!!!

Just noticed gas prices shot up 30 cents a gallon here so that blows.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sol Goode View Post
Man, this site was so much better before cmetzg03 joined
cmetzg03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old December 26th, 2013, 08:08 PM   #82
grandcherokee
I am woman,hear me moan!
 
grandcherokee's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-10-05
Location: Eaton Rapids, MI
Posts: 1,284
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to grandcherokee
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by High Center Hancho View Post
Tell him thanks, and I hope he is not whining about, after all it is his job

No my husband is not a whiner about his job he actually loves doing what he does.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
1994 YJ
1993 XJ
1994 XJ

2000 Grand Cherokee
2002 Chevy Silverado
2008 Liberty

grandcherokee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2013, 08:36 PM   #83
sanman
Senior Member
 
sanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-14-09
Location: nashville mi
Posts: 1,584
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by High Center Hancho View Post
I just bought 20 more gals of gas!!!
x2 update from consumers should have power sunday
sanman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2013, 08:54 PM   #84
High Center Hancho
rack tap re-rack click
 
High Center Hancho's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-10-07
Location: Genesee County
Posts: 13,525
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmetzg03 View Post
Just noticed gas prices shot up 30 cents a gallon here so that blows.
Since this morning! It was 3.20 now 3.50..the pricks
High Center Hancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2013, 09:08 PM   #85
opie
www.krissplicing.com
 
Join Date: 07-21-08
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 817
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

We didn't lose power, but many folks around us did. I also spent some time babysitting a friends generator to run his sump pumps while he was in TN. It did prompt me to finally go out and purchase a generator. I actually settled on 2 rather than 1. I purchased a 6500 continuous watt gen to run the entire house, when needed. I also ordered a 3000 watt from HD for $249. http://www.homedepot.com/p/Powermate...61?N=bx9nZ3j7# It was the price the prompted the second purchase with the intention of using the smaller unit to run bare essentials during the nighttime hours.

I do intend to run a NG line to the larger generator as well as the smaller one when I can verify there is a kit available. There are a couple companies that sell kits as well as some options on Ebay. Seems like a no brainer if you have NG run in your home. Cheaper than gas and no need to babysit the fuel.
opie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2013, 09:29 PM   #86
High Center Hancho
rack tap re-rack click
 
High Center Hancho's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-10-07
Location: Genesee County
Posts: 13,525
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

6500 is small to run the entire house...it can totally bed one but you must be mindful of what you are running
High Center Hancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2013, 09:34 PM   #87
Jiveturkey3
Senior Member
 
Jiveturkey3's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-22-12
Location: Hillsdale MI
Posts: 3,990
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Default

I'm curious what you advantage to having a second small one is. If you were running gasoline I could understand for fuel consumption buy why not let the big gen run all the time if its on NG? Seems like alot of fucking around to switch back and forth for nothing.
Jiveturkey3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2013, 09:57 PM   #88
opie
www.krissplicing.com
 
Join Date: 07-21-08
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 817
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by High Center Hancho View Post
6500 is small to run the entire house...it can totally bed one but you must be mindful of what you are running
Our hot water and furnace are gas. Water is city. The only things we want to keep going are the furnace (which just has to run the ignitor and squirrel cage), fridge and small freezer. Everything else is extra and can be managed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiveturkey3 View Post
I'm curious what you advantage to having a second small one is. If you were running gasoline I could understand for fuel consumption buy why not let the big gen run all the time if its on NG? Seems like alot of fucking around to switch back and forth for nothing.
One of the major reasons was simply the cost of the smaller gen. The bigger one was also planning for the future, I just couldn't pass up the price of the smaller one. There is also consideration for my neighbors. The smaller gen will be quieter than the larger one. Not much fucking around swapping a plug from one gen to the other.

If anything, Ill be prepared and have capacity to help my neighbors.
opie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2013, 10:49 PM   #89
Padilen
Senior Member
 
Padilen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-17-12
Location: LeRoy Michigan
Posts: 1,755
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by opie View Post
Our hot water and furnace are gas. Water is city. The only things we want to keep going are the furnace (which just has to run the ignitor and squirrel cage), fridge and small freezer. Everything else is extra and can be managed.



One of the major reasons was simply the cost of the smaller gen. The bigger one was also planning for the future, I just couldn't pass up the price of the smaller one. There is also consideration for my neighbors. The smaller gen will be quieter than the larger one. Not much fucking around swapping a plug from one gen to the other.

If anything, Ill be prepared and have capacity to help my neighbors.

This is also why I have 2. Mine are old but cheap, and they work great.
I can manage without having everything on at once. I like knowing, I can help somebody else.
Padilen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2013, 11:30 PM   #90
af26yrs
Senior Member
 
af26yrs's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-04-09
Location: In the Thumb, michigan
Posts: 678
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by High Center Hancho View Post
6500 is small to run the entire house...it can totally bed one but you must be mindful of what you are running
I run my whole house off a 4000 Watt gen. It runs my outdoor boiler for heat and all the lights and 2 TV's that I want to turn on. Stove is LP so just need to ignite the burners. Runs the well and sump pumps just fine (lights dim when well pump kicks in but it handles it). I do not run the dishwasher or cloths washer/electric dryer.
af26yrs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2013, 06:16 AM   #91
whiterhino
I'm not old, honest...
 
whiterhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-07-06
Location: Davisburg MI
Posts: 22,101
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Default

I could not run my whole house on a 5500 without isolating certain things. We have a decorative pond pump that is 1/3hp that I always had to shut off. Same goes for the automatic sprinkler pump. (summertime) and when we had a hot tub, that had to be shut down. I also found that my garage door opener would overload the system. Each item by itself is not an issue but when things turn on randomly, you have to be careful. It's worth the effort to set up your circuit breaker box with labels of what to shut off during a power outage.

I also don't get buying the extra genny just because it's a good price or wanting to help the neighbors out. Dropping $265 just to be a good Samaritan once every few years doesn't make sense. Nor does the effort to run the bare essentials when you have a genny that will make life easier. My son in law has a 3000W that he runs the house on and hates it. He plans to go to a larger one soon.

Check your ratings for switching over to NG. You may find that you lose efficiency and will drop below your desired output.
__________________
GLFWDA member since 1979.
Member Southern Michigan Rock Crawlers.
whiterhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2013, 06:50 AM   #92
jimhri
Senior Member
 
jimhri's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-17-07
Location: it's Tuesday so it must be Belguim
Posts: 3,341
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whiterhino View Post
Check your ratings for switching over to NG. You may find that you lose efficiency and will drop below your desired output.
if switching to natural gas BEWARE you likely need call gas company and have a larger meter installed to handle the increased demand for fuel. it cost me about $200 7 years ago and added about 5 days to the new-unit install process.

and don't worry if the WHOLE house is not covered by the new generator. we had several circuits including the garage door excluded from the new power panel in order to keep everything else, especially the well pump, furnaces and a/c units. keeping toasty/cool and being able to flush the toilet is worth having to open the garage door by hand (remember, it's not forever)! NOTE: i was ill at the time and got an Rx from my doctor for the need to ensure my electrical medical devices kept running during that winter. got a federal tax deduction out of the deal.

Last edited by jimhri; December 27th, 2013 at 06:53 AM.
jimhri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2013, 09:30 AM   #93
High Center Hancho
rack tap re-rack click
 
High Center Hancho's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-10-07
Location: Genesee County
Posts: 13,525
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by af26yrs View Post
I run my whole house off a 4000 Watt gen. It runs my outdoor boiler for heat and all the lights and 2 TV's that I want to turn on. Stove is LP so just need to ignite the burners. Runs the well and sump pumps just fine (lights dim when well pump kicks in but it handles it). I do not run the dishwasher or cloths washer/electric dryer.
You cannot run an entire house off of 4000 watts. If both your pumps turn on at the same time you have just over loaded that system. Not to mention your boil pump pulls at least 1000 watts...your furance fan pulls about 1200 watts, then add lights, fridge, freezer, ect. Can you keep your house up with 4000 watts...sure you can, but you cant say you run the entire house on 4000 watts, its just not doable.
High Center Hancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2013, 09:41 AM   #94
TJJEEP
Senior Member
 
TJJEEP's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Orchard Lake
Posts: 2,959
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to TJJEEP Send a message via MSN to TJJEEP
Default

I tried looking at a few sites to determine startup and running watts of different appliances but there are varying stats.
Does anyone know the typical startup & running for these?
Fridge - Less than 5 years old if that matters
Fridge - about 25 years old if that matters
Furnace - About 10 years old if that matters
TJJEEP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2013, 09:44 AM   #95
High Center Hancho
rack tap re-rack click
 
High Center Hancho's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-10-07
Location: Genesee County
Posts: 13,525
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TJJEEP View Post
I tried looking at a few sites to determine startup and running watts of different appliances but there are varying stats.
Does anyone know the typical startup & running for these?
Fridge - Less than 5 years old if that matters
Fridge - about 25 years old if that matters
Furnace - About 10 years old if that matters
http://www.donrowe.com/usage-chart-a/259.htm
High Center Hancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2013, 09:49 AM   #96
af26yrs
Senior Member
 
af26yrs's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-04-09
Location: In the Thumb, michigan
Posts: 678
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by High Center Hancho View Post
You cannot run an entire house off of 4000 watts. If both your pumps turn on at the same time you have just over loaded that system. Not to mention your boil pump pulls at least 1000 watts...your furance fan pulls about 1200 watts, then add lights, fridge, freezer, ect. Can you keep your house up with 4000 watts...sure you can, but you cant say you run the entire house on 4000 watts, its just not doable.
Ran my house for 54 hours on it. Note that I do not use my furnace as I have an outdoor boiler not tied into the furnace, baseboard radiator heat. Also ran 2 fridges, one large and one small.
af26yrs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2013, 10:49 AM   #97
jeepfreak81
81 inches of fun
 
jeepfreak81's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-10-05
Location: Lennon, Mi
Posts: 12,348
iTrader: (23)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to jeepfreak81 Send a message via MSN to jeepfreak81 Send a message via Yahoo to jeepfreak81
Default

Ran about 90% of my house comfortably on 5700 watts, and according to the transfer switch in the basement only ever maxed out at about 3k watts.

We used a camp stove and grill, and I did not need the washer/dryer we have enough clothes we can make it a week or more.

The only thing is the previous owner installed an electric water heater, that bitch is coming out for a gas one probably as it isn't even wired to the transfer switch where I *might* be able to use it.

I can't justify the 10k or so to have a whole house backup installed for the week once a year I might use it. We do lose power out here for about a week a year too it seems, it has happened since I was a kid.
jeepfreak81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2013, 11:04 AM   #98
Tie Dyed
O.G.
 
Tie Dyed's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: Howell
Posts: 4,199
iTrader: (28)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Tie Dyed
Default

With our fireplace, the only two things I need to worry about is the well and the fridge. I will probably pick up a generator big enough to run the well, and the tv. I got the okay to pick up a power inverter for my truck big enough to run the fridge. Hot water is gas, so no worries there. We had enough water stored to flush the toilet.
__________________
2000 XJ with a 3 inch body lift
Tie Dyed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2013, 01:47 PM   #99
kickstand
sHaMoNe!
 
kickstand's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-20-06
Location: fenton
Posts: 31,799
iTrader: (46)
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by High Center Hancho View Post
Since this morning! It was 3.20 now 3.50..the pricks
I noticed that too, luckily I got power back last night. What a pain in the pee pee it is to not have power when your house is prone to flooding
kickstand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2013, 01:50 PM   #100
kickstand
sHaMoNe!
 
kickstand's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-20-06
Location: fenton
Posts: 31,799
iTrader: (46)
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by opie View Post


There is also consideration for my neighbors. The smaller gen will be quieter than the larger one.
That's nice of you, if you could tell the other 29 homes in my neighborhood to run quieter generators that would be fantastic.
kickstand is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 2.52856 seconds with 80 queries