TV wall mounting - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 18th, 2013, 08:18 PM   #1
MonkeyBiz
Master Cocksman
 
MonkeyBiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Whitehall
Posts: 8,398
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to MonkeyBiz
Default TV wall mounting

This is the TV I have:

http://www.toshiba.com/us/tv/led/46ux600u

I want to remove the entertainment center that I have now, free up some floor space and remove a baby face banger.

It will be directly across the room from our couch, and doesn't have to be articulating but I think the idea is neat to be able to do it should I decided to move it somewhere else. Looking for suggestions and pros/cons of the articulating vs standard tilt. Regardless, it has to have the ability to tilt down, as it will be mounted ~5 feet high. I don't want to get one from best buy, as it looks like most of theirs are 175.00+, so Amazon or another trusted seller.... Discuss.
__________________
In bed, according to prophesy.
MonkeyBiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old December 18th, 2013, 08:25 PM   #2
BlooMule
pew pew
 
BlooMule's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: a mile from the shithole
Posts: 24,965
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Default

My plasma is a little too heavy IMO to wall mount, but when I was considering it I saw a pretty big difference in the ~$50 mounts and the $100+ mounts.

I could type a bunch of words, but it boils down to 'you get what you pay for'. I wouldn't want a 40lb Sword of Damocles with a toddler in the house.
__________________
-rw-rw-rw
BlooMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2013, 08:31 PM   #3
MonkeyBiz
Master Cocksman
 
MonkeyBiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Whitehall
Posts: 8,398
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to MonkeyBiz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlooMule View Post
My plasma is a little too heavy IMO to wall mount, but when I was considering it I saw a pretty big difference in the ~$50 mounts and the $100+ mounts.

I could type a bunch of words, but it boils down to 'you get what you pay for'. I wouldn't want a 40lb Sword of Damocles with a toddler in the house.
Normally, I would totally agree, BUT.. Best buy has a huge overhead they have to cover, and it's no secret that Amazon is usually cheaper...Hence, this thread, trying to figure out what's a piece of shit, and what works.
__________________
In bed, according to prophesy.
MonkeyBiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2013, 08:35 PM   #4
Immortal
NO RELIGION WAT!
 
Immortal's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-09-05
Location: In my garage
Posts: 25,795
iTrader: (46)
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Default

Isn't that dangerous in a trailer?
Immortal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2013, 08:43 PM   #5
MonkeyBiz
Master Cocksman
 
MonkeyBiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Whitehall
Posts: 8,398
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to MonkeyBiz
Default

I bought a house you silly Korean.
__________________
In bed, according to prophesy.
MonkeyBiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2013, 08:56 PM   #6
BlooMule
pew pew
 
BlooMule's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: a mile from the shithole
Posts: 24,965
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MonkeyBiz View Post
Normally, I would totally agree, BUT.. Best buy has a huge overhead they have to cover, and it's no secret that Amazon is usually cheaper...Hence, this thread, trying to figure out what's a piece of shit, and what works.
Look at Best Buy, Buy at Amazon.

Really, just go look at them. They aren't very complicated.

You could spot the difference between a well built roll cage and a gas welded sewer pipe mess, correct?

Pretty much is thickness of the mount, quality of hardware, ease of assembly.

This is the one I was considering to mount my Plasma, I see it has dropped considerably in price.

It's sturdier than my wall.

http://www.rakuten.com/prod/videosec...217203526.html
__________________
-rw-rw-rw
BlooMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2013, 08:58 PM   #7
ckupq
Kitten I'm gonna eat you!
 
ckupq's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA 52402
Posts: 3,398
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

www.monoprice.com
ckupq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2013, 09:15 PM   #8
jeepfreak81
81 inches of fun
 
jeepfreak81's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-10-05
Location: Lennon, Mi
Posts: 12,206
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to jeepfreak81 Send a message via MSN to jeepfreak81 Send a message via Yahoo to jeepfreak81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ckupq View Post
THIS don't buy a mount from BB or anyplace like that dumbass

I have this one...

I think this is the one I have.... I bought it planning ahead for a 50" I think I paid $35 on sale though.

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...seq=1&format=2
jeepfreak81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2013, 09:16 PM   #9
snboarder113
Senior Member
 
snboarder113's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-13-12
Location: Kalamazoo
Posts: 230
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlooMule View Post
My plasma is a little too heavy IMO to wall mount, but when I was considering it I saw a pretty big difference in the ~$50 mounts and the $100+ mounts.

I could type a bunch of words, but it boils down to 'you get what you pay for'. I wouldn't want a 40lb Sword of Damocles with a toddler in the house.
Sorry to disagree, but you don't get what you pay for, I've seen the markup on them. Just get a good sturdy one, I'd suggest getting one that at least tilts so you can adjust it to the correct viewing angles. Just make sure you get it securely into the studs. You cannot mount these with drywall anchors... I've repaired people trying this when I installed for Circuit City, wife calls.. can you come mount this tv for my husband? He's having some trouble....

This is where I buy all my Home Theater Cabling/ Mounts from.
http://www.firefold.com

Personally for that size TV, Id buy this
http://www.firefold.com/wall-mount-b...7-63-slim-tilt

Last edited by snboarder113; December 18th, 2013 at 09:24 PM.
snboarder113 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2013, 09:22 PM   #10
MonkeyBiz
Master Cocksman
 
MonkeyBiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Whitehall
Posts: 8,398
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to MonkeyBiz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepfreak81 View Post
THIS don't buy a mount from BB or anyplace like that dumbass

I have this one...

I think this is the one I have.... I bought it planning ahead for a 50" I think I paid $35 on sale though.

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...seq=1&format=2
Yeah, I'm not going to. I forgot about monoprice. What is the difference between yours and the fully articulating?

right now I am looking at these... Overkill?

This one
or this one
__________________
In bed, according to prophesy.
MonkeyBiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2013, 09:24 PM   #11
BlooMule
pew pew
 
BlooMule's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: a mile from the shithole
Posts: 24,965
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snboarder113 View Post
Sorry to disagree, but you don't get what you pay for, I've seen the markup on them. Just get a good sturdy one, I'd suggest getting one that at least tilts so you can adjust it to the correct viewing angles. Just make sure you get it securely into the studs. You cannot mount these with drywall anchors... I've repaired people trying this when I installed for Circuit City, wife calls.. can you come mount this tv for my husband? He's having some trouble....

This is where I buy all my Home Theater Cabling/ Mounts from.
http://www.firefold.com/tv-mounts
I will defer to your opinion. I shopped these around and decided the no matter how good the mount, my wall wasn't up to it.

Drywall anchors? Jeez....
__________________
-rw-rw-rw
BlooMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2013, 09:29 PM   #12
jeepfreak81
81 inches of fun
 
jeepfreak81's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-10-05
Location: Lennon, Mi
Posts: 12,206
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to jeepfreak81 Send a message via MSN to jeepfreak81 Send a message via Yahoo to jeepfreak81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MonkeyBiz View Post
Yeah, I'm not going to. I forgot about monoprice. What is the difference between yours and the fully articulating?

right now I am looking at these... Overkill?

This one
or this one
I couldn't tell you, I just wanted one to go in the corner and the one I bought did that and saved me a butt load.
jeepfreak81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2013, 09:32 PM   #13
MonkeyBiz
Master Cocksman
 
MonkeyBiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Whitehall
Posts: 8,398
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to MonkeyBiz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlooMule View Post
I will defer to your opinion. I shopped these around and decided the no matter how good the mount, my wall wasn't up to it.

Drywall anchors? Jeez....
Fucking BINGO... This is my concern. I am having a hard time discerning which ones are drywall mount and stud mount. Obviously, I want stud mount and because I don't want to cross my fingers and hope the studs in the wall line up with exactly where I want it to hang... which is why I am leaning towards the more articulating options.. That should allow it to be better positioned....right?
__________________
In bed, according to prophesy.
MonkeyBiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2013, 09:45 PM   #14
MonkeyBiz
Master Cocksman
 
MonkeyBiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Whitehall
Posts: 8,398
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to MonkeyBiz
Default

I used their mount finder thing, and it came up with 25 mounts that are compatiable with my tv....pffft.. for 36.00 I can take the gamble...

Mount
__________________
In bed, according to prophesy.
MonkeyBiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2013, 09:47 PM   #15
snboarder113
Senior Member
 
snboarder113's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-13-12
Location: Kalamazoo
Posts: 230
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Its a 3' steel plate with plenty of mounting holes/channels You'll be able to find two studs where you want it. then the tv just hangs on the plate. nothing special. 4 good screws into the the studs, 4 bolts into the tv. Cut a hole in drywall to route wires wherever you want. Done. Swivel mounts are really only for areas that you want to move your tv to see somewhere else. ie, watch tv from the kitchen, turn the tv towards where you're cooking.
snboarder113 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2013, 09:54 PM   #16
Flexin' XJ
Senior Member
 
Flexin' XJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-04-07
Location: Holt, MI
Posts: 4,459
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Got mine from Monoprice. Works great. Been on the wall for 3+ years and no problems.
Flexin' XJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2013, 10:00 PM   #17
BlooMule
pew pew
 
BlooMule's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: a mile from the shithole
Posts: 24,965
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MonkeyBiz View Post
I used their mount finder thing, and it came up with 25 mounts that are compatiable with my tv....pffft.. for 36.00 I can take the gamble...

Mount
That looks like the one I was going to buy.

I have wet plaster walls, the area I was looking to mount the TV was 1 1/2" of plaster and lath before hitting the stud.(I drilled a test hole) I was not comfortable with the weight having a 1 1/2" plaster spacer between the mount and the stud.
__________________
-rw-rw-rw
BlooMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2013, 10:04 PM   #18
snboarder113
Senior Member
 
snboarder113's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-13-12
Location: Kalamazoo
Posts: 230
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Cut some of the plaster where you want the mount screws and put in a spacer that sits directly on the stud and mates to the bracket. Always a way to mount it.
snboarder113 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2013, 10:08 PM   #19
BlooMule
pew pew
 
BlooMule's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: a mile from the shithole
Posts: 24,965
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snboarder113 View Post
Cut some of the plaster where you want the mount screws and put in a spacer that sits directly on the stud and mates to the bracket. Always a way to mount it.
Ugh. Sounds like work.
__________________
-rw-rw-rw
BlooMule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2013, 10:21 PM   #20
marshall
locally famous
 
marshall's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-12-11
Location: mayville MI
Posts: 3,012
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Tvs mounted too high really suck. That's my contribution to this thread.
marshall is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.28064 seconds with 81 queries