E250 Tach Install - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 17th, 2013, 12:08 PM   #1
shawn
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
 
shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Milford/Commerce
Posts: 10,110
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to shawn
Default E250 Tach Install

I've searched around the web and haven't had much luck finding any info on installing a tach into a 2002 Ford E250. From what I can find, I need a certain type of tack for this thing, and there may or may not be a certain wire I need to find to run the tachometer.

Can anyone help me get started in the right direction here?
__________________
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old September 17th, 2013, 12:27 PM   #2
Ebs
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: MI
Posts: 3,377
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

You could do a dash swap for one with a factory tach, but that year probably has the security key and the stealership will have to program the dash with the key. At least that is what I found researching a dash swap for my similar year F150 that has me shifting by braille.
Ebs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 17th, 2013, 12:38 PM   #3
shawn
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
 
shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Milford/Commerce
Posts: 10,110
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to shawn
Default

A tach was never an option on most all years of the E-Series. And since this is an 02, I would need an 01 or earlier gauge cluster from an F-series and even then all the wiring is different even though the cluster will physically fit just fine.

I need to find out if I have this "CTO" wire I've been reading about. I just can't find what years had them.
__________________
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 18th, 2013, 12:38 PM   #4
shawn
Resident HVAC/R Jambi
 
shawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Milford/Commerce
Posts: 10,110
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to shawn
Default

Ok. Found the CTO wire, it was sticking out of the wire harness above the brake booster. I picked up a Sunpro Tack from Autozone, and it works great. That was easier then I thought it was going to be.
__________________
shawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.08788 seconds with 32 queries