Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

The Pub A friendly forum where everybody is nice, and will answer any questions you have about life.







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old September 9th, 2013, 10:26 AM   #1
RyeBread
Catch the wave
 
RyeBread's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Fenton
Posts: 7,936
iTrader: (2)
wireless n router / home network

anyone recently set up /replace a home wireless router?

my old(er) belkin is overdue for replacement. anyone recently done any research and/or have a personal vouch for a particular product?
RyeBread is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2013, 10:30 AM   #2
Lousypirate
Jake from State Farm
 
Lousypirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-11-08
Location: Norton Shores 49441
Posts: 8,726
iTrader: (28)
I need to buy one soon...

I've been thinking about just bying the old true blue linksys brick.
__________________
77 Chevy K30 partout thread
94 12v dually partout



Have you given your life up to traction lately?
Lousypirate is online now   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2013, 10:32 AM   #3
bigbchevy
missmrgreenagain
 
bigbchevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-15-07
Location: fenton /hartland mi
Posts: 17,556
iTrader: (155)
I just got a netgear r6300 and it is badass!!!!!!!
__________________
H.o.r.e
(mr.green)So you are calling CC a liar?? Not a nice way to treat your bitch.
tube bending and gear installs pm me for info! gears installed for $150 and up per axle.
bigbchevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2013, 10:37 AM   #4
RyeBread
Catch the wave
 
RyeBread's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Fenton
Posts: 7,936
iTrader: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbchevy View Post
I just got a netgear r6300 and it is badass!!!!!!!
I was looking at that, and the Linksys 3500 series. seems like there's always something that's missing. the linksys complaints center around an apparent inability to disable SSID broadcasting.

some of the moderate priced belkin units don't support access controls / parental controls

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lousypirate View Post
I need to buy one soon...

I've been thinking about just bying the old true blue linksys brick.
definitely true and blue. still gets solid recommendations despite the lower connection speeds. the home network is sitting here with a desktop cat5 connected to it and the following wifi: 3 laptops, 2 ipod touches, a wii, a ps3 and probably soon 2 more smart tv's.

it's beyond time for me to step up past a "g" connection


this is another contender. asus rt-n66u but it's out of stock all over the intarwebs :|

Last edited by RyeBread; September 9th, 2013 at 11:08 AM.
RyeBread is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2013, 12:14 PM   #5
Sandals
Fucking Zen as Shit
 
Sandals's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lindenhurst, IL
Posts: 15,256
iTrader: (7)
I use apple airports exclusively.

Tried almost every other brand and have failed/ had an issue somewhere.

I use them at home and for work. Currently own 3 Airport Extremes, and 6 airport express.
Sandals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2013, 12:19 PM   #6
silveradoboy
Sam Brown
 
silveradoboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-28-12
Location: Waterford/Cheyboygan
Posts: 1,884
iTrader: (3)
We have a Asus Dark Knight:
http://www.amazon.com/RT-N66U-Dual-B...ys+dark+knight

It is amazing. We have had no issues with it and I get great wifi reception even outside in my backyard (50 yards ish from router) can setup multiple accounts and we have no issues with it so far. Its a little expensive it is the beeze kneeze
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by drunkencityworker View Post
"BREAK HIS FACE"
silveradoboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2013, 05:12 PM   #7
RyeBread
Catch the wave
 
RyeBread's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Fenton
Posts: 7,936
iTrader: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandals View Post
I use apple airports exclusively.

Tried almost every other brand and have failed/ had an issue somewhere.

I use them at home and for work. Currently own 3 Airport Extremes, and 6 airport express.
holy hell I can't fathom that many devices. how much did all of that set you back? I'm guessing comparable to a professional/small-business grade cicso router?

Quote:
Originally Posted by silveradoboy View Post
We have a Asus Dark Knight:
http://www.amazon.com/RT-N66U-Dual-B...ys+dark+knight

It is amazing. We have had no issues with it and I get great wifi reception even outside in my backyard (50 yards ish from router) can setup multiple accounts and we have no issues with it so far. Its a little expensive it is the beeze kneeze
I ended up ordering the RT from amazon - should show up tomorrow. I was hoping Newegg would have it in stock (they don't) - walmart also does not have it in stock, and the yocals at the fenton area walmart don't carry any asus products in stock. Dell doesn't sell asus either - they're pushing an awful lot of netgear lately, which was honestly in contention.
RyeBread is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2013, 05:28 PM   #8
jeepfreak81
81 inches of fun
 
jeepfreak81's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-10-05
Location: Lennon, Mi
Posts: 12,072
iTrader: (21)
Send a message via AIM to jeepfreak81 Send a message via MSN to jeepfreak81 Send a message via Yahoo to jeepfreak81
My Linksys routers have never failed me or given me issues.
jeepfreak81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2013, 05:40 PM   #9
Sandals
Fucking Zen as Shit
 
Sandals's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Lindenhurst, IL
Posts: 15,256
iTrader: (7)
Quote:
Originally Posted by RyeBread View Post
holy hell I can't fathom that many devices. how much did all of that set you back? I'm guessing comparable to a professional/small-business grade cicso router?


Well, I have one extreme and two express' at home. Extreme does basic routing, wifi access. The express' are downstair in the play room and outside for the backyard to serve as audio outputs to stream music.


The others, i have two express' that stay in my fly kit of bits i take with me. and then I have to control setups I use and rent out, and each of those has an extreme and an express. I often need to have two independent wireless networks up and running to wirelessly log into equipment.


I would love a cisco router, and will most likely be buying one before next festival season with some hi gain antennas. Have to step it up to out power all the people.
Sandals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2013, 10:29 PM   #10
RyeBread
Catch the wave
 
RyeBread's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-08-05
Location: Fenton
Posts: 7,936
iTrader: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepfreak81 View Post
My Linksys routers have never failed me or given me issues.
earlier this year cisco sold the linksys home networking division to belkin. hard to say what that will mean long term. I have had a couple of "consumer grade" belkins. and they've been 'ok' until now, but it's time to upgrade and get serious with bandwidth now that I'm working on a vpn 50 hours or so per week, along with VOIP for my 'office phone' which has to be connected thru the vpn also

and yes, I should be running cat5, but really don't feel like running a new home-run up a floor and over 30' to the other side of the 2nd floor of the house.
RyeBread is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > General 4x4 Stuff > The Pub
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.38586 seconds with 32 queries