Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old June 30th, 2013, 07:56 PM   #1
knaffie
Senior Member
 
knaffie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-13-08
Location: home is where I hang my hat
Posts: 1,833
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default need some help - LS1 not running right

I was at the dunes last weekend. It ran fine for first 2 hrs Friday then started sputtering under hard load at any RPM. Thought I was running out of gas so I filled up. Saturday ran fine for first 30 min. then did same thing. Found the problem goes away after it cools for a while. As soon as it gets hot, like over 200, it comes right back. Normally runs at 210 - 220 under hard load, so its there the whole time I'm pushing it. Fuel pressure is 58 psi at the rail never budges. I thought the ecm was maybe getting hot so took hood off. Seem better, but problem is still there. Put on new fuel pump, no help. Speed density tune no maf. No codes. Fuel? Electrical? Help please.

Easy to hear it starting at 0:14 (after the rev limiter, then shift) and at many other spots during the video.
knaffie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2013, 08:05 PM   #2
Mr. Beefy
Randy did it.
 
Mr. Beefy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-11-07
Location: Sault Ste. Marie
Posts: 10,979
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Default

Dirty injectors?
__________________

Dakota Truggy Tons and 43's
07 CTD tow pig With the goodies

Thank you to Jeeperz Creeperz Off Road

Cool stuff at Ironman Offroad
Mr. Beefy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2013, 08:07 PM   #3
knaffie
Senior Member
 
knaffie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-13-08
Location: home is where I hang my hat
Posts: 1,833
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

And how would I tell if they are or are not? I put some additive in every tank, Seafoam, Regaine, Lucas, etc.
knaffie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2013, 08:31 PM   #4
chevotass
Senior Member
 
chevotass's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-02-06
Location: goodrich
Posts: 6,263
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to chevotass
Default

fuel lines getting hot?
chevotass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2013, 08:33 PM   #5
knaffie
Senior Member
 
knaffie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-13-08
Location: home is where I hang my hat
Posts: 1,833
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Every time I feel the pump and lines, they are not. I was told that the fuel will "boil itself inside the pump if the pump is not submerged. But so many people run the Bosch 044 externally without issues. And its just a stock LS1, its not like I'm moving fuel for 600HP or something.

I don't want to exclude any ideas, but the fuel system has not changed on this car since day #1, and except sucking fuel cell foam into the filter during KOH, it has never had a fuel problem. This problem just appeared after I got it re-tuned. Maybe coincidence, maybe not.
knaffie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2013, 08:47 PM   #6
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,909
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

sounds almost like a ignition coil going bad. i had a similar condition with my 06 2500. #4 was going bad it had an intermittent miss. finally it shit the bed and i had a dead cylinder.
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2013, 08:48 PM   #7
knaffie
Senior Member
 
knaffie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-13-08
Location: home is where I hang my hat
Posts: 1,833
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I wish it would just shit out already so I can fix it and move on. I want my horsepower back!
knaffie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2013, 08:51 PM   #8
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,909
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

do you have access to a scan tool with live data? if you do hook it up and watch the misfire counter while running. the cylinder with the highest misfire count would be my suspect.
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2013, 08:53 PM   #9
knaffie
Senior Member
 
knaffie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-13-08
Location: home is where I hang my hat
Posts: 1,833
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

No. I need to call my tuner and make an appointment for next week. I can put my winter tires from my dmax on and run it on his dyno. Hopefully. Only way to do it that I know of. It only does it when its hot and you run it hard, so its not like I can just drive it around on the road and do it.
knaffie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2013, 11:13 AM   #10
feva4u
LCG
 
feva4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-01-07
Location: Petoskey, MI
Posts: 10,330
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Default

What did you find out?
__________________
My Jeep
feva4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2013, 11:24 AM   #11
knaffie
Senior Member
 
knaffie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-13-08
Location: home is where I hang my hat
Posts: 1,833
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Have not been down there yet

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 4 Beta
knaffie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2014, 06:14 PM   #12
knaffie
Senior Member
 
knaffie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-13-08
Location: home is where I hang my hat
Posts: 1,833
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Just stumbled upon this old thread and thought I would update it. It was the plug wires. Brand new MSD wires all cracked in the boots the first time I had it out last year. I put AC Delco wires back on it (that are half the price) and not a problem since. You'll never see me using MSD wires again.
knaffie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2014, 07:41 PM   #13
firehawk
Live Action!
 
firehawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-02-07
Location: Clawson, Michigan
Posts: 12,325
iTrader: (44)
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by knaffie View Post
Just stumbled upon this old thread and thought I would update it. It was the plug wires. Brand new MSD wires all cracked in the boots the first time I had it out last year. I put AC Delco wires back on it (that are half the price) and not a problem since. You'll never see me using MSD wires again.
This is the second time I read about bad MSD wires in the past week.

I will never run them.
firehawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2014, 07:46 PM   #14
frdboy
Wishin' I waz fishin'
 
frdboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-29-06
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Posts: 10,452
iTrader: (24)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

http://www.firecore50.com/
__________________
Cheap Thrills Off Road

2003 F-250 4X4 7.3 PSD Crew Cab

1971 Bronco
frdboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2014, 11:34 AM   #15
knaffie
Senior Member
 
knaffie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-13-08
Location: home is where I hang my hat
Posts: 1,833
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Here's the pics I was looking for.







Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
knaffie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.14995 seconds with 41 queries