Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Jeep Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old June 11th, 2013, 10:58 PM   #1
2fst4you
Senior Member
 
2fst4you's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-30-07
Location: White Lake, MI
Posts: 3,125
iTrader: (9)
flat skid at frame rails/ mml

In order to run a completely flat skid do I need both a body lift and lopro mount? If not which one does everyone prefer to run?

Lastly if I was to get a brown dog 1" MML could it be reused when I did a 5.3 motor swap

Thanks for the help!

-Cameron-

Last edited by 2fst4you; June 11th, 2013 at 11:04 PM.
2fst4you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2013, 11:03 PM   #2
firehawk
Live Action!
 
firehawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-02-07
Location: Clawson, Michigan
Posts: 12,022
iTrader: (41)
You need to move the trans and motor up.

I have a flat skid but it is spaced down 3/4", in order to get it across the actual frame rails I would have had to get or make motor mounts to lift the motor at least an inch and then remount the custom trans crossmember up an inch or so but not sure if it would hit the tub, might need a slight body lift to do it. I am running an AW4/4.0 in a 94 YJ
firehawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2013, 11:05 PM   #3
2fst4you
Senior Member
 
2fst4you's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-30-07
Location: White Lake, MI
Posts: 3,125
iTrader: (9)
I plan to add a 1" MML with separate cross member just wondering if I need both a body lift and lopro mount or not
2fst4you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2013, 11:40 PM   #4
firehawk
Live Action!
 
firehawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-02-07
Location: Clawson, Michigan
Posts: 12,022
iTrader: (41)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2fst4you View Post
I plan to add a 1" MML with separate cross member just wondering if I need both a body lift and lopro mount or not
Dont think you will need a body lift.
firehawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2013, 12:06 AM   #5
joe_jeep
welfare wheeler
 
joe_jeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-03-06
Location: hazel park, mi
Posts: 5,275
iTrader: (36)
Send a message via Yahoo to joe_jeep
what trans do you have? a flat skid with a 42rle and a 241or is real tough.
with a 5speed and a 231, it can be done. you will want a low pro mount and a bl for clearance, unless your gonna massage the floors.

brown dog sells mounts in 1", 1.25", 1.5", and 2.0" inch heights.

body lifts can be altered to many different heights for clearance.

what skid are u gonna run?

the brown dog mounts aint gonna work with a 5.3 without serious mods.
joe_jeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2013, 02:49 AM   #6
2fst4you
Senior Member
 
2fst4you's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-30-07
Location: White Lake, MI
Posts: 3,125
iTrader: (9)
I have an nv3550 5 spd trans. Got cha so I will need both? Don't really want to pound the tub. Looking at getting a 1" brown dog mml and jks 1.25 bl.

I will be making my own skid by buying some 1/4" flat stock. Ok thanks
2fst4you is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Jeep Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.08097 seconds with 22 queries