12v p pump to a 1st gen pump - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Dodge Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 22nd, 2009, 02:16 PM   #1
farm_boy
hicktown
 
farm_boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-08-05
Location: holland mi
Posts: 2,433
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default 12v p pump to a 1st gen pump

so how do i do it or is it posabile plesse help swap motters
farm_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old July 22nd, 2009, 02:21 PM   #2
Ridin Dirty
kixx007 wants to be me
 
Ridin Dirty's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-11-07
Location: Metamora,Mi.
Posts: 8,937
iTrader: (149)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Um....... what?
Ridin Dirty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2009, 02:23 PM   #3
farm_boy
hicktown
 
farm_boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-08-05
Location: holland mi
Posts: 2,433
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

i have a 94witha p pump and i'm going to a older 12v rotory pumped how do i make it work
farm_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2009, 03:56 PM   #4
SHARPMACHINE
F-U-CANCER!!!
 
SHARPMACHINE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-29-06
Location: MONTAGUE MI (BY THE SAND BOX)
Posts: 4,484
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Google dtr forum. Ask this question there. Do you intend on using a p-pump or rotary pump?
__________________
Hay, look at me... I have a signature.....



RIP FULLSIZE4LIFE
SHARPMACHINE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2009, 04:43 PM   #5
farm_boy
hicktown
 
farm_boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-08-05
Location: holland mi
Posts: 2,433
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SHARPMACHINE View Post
Google dtr forum. Ask this question there. Do you intend on using a p-pump or rotary pump?

i plan on useing the rotary but howdo i do this the truck had a p pump wireing harness
farm_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2009, 07:49 AM   #6
SHARPMACHINE
F-U-CANCER!!!
 
SHARPMACHINE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-29-06
Location: MONTAGUE MI (BY THE SAND BOX)
Posts: 4,484
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Well, you can do this to eliminate the TPS = http://www.dieseltruckresource.com/d...s-t142641.html

And the rest should be pretty easy. You may regret letting go of the p-pump???
__________________
Hay, look at me... I have a signature.....



RIP FULLSIZE4LIFE
SHARPMACHINE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2009, 09:24 AM   #7
mudbillyredneck
Senior Member
 
mudbillyredneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-17-08
Location: Lapeer, MI
Posts: 4,733
iTrader: (133)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SHARPMACHINE View Post
Well, you can do this to eliminate the TPS = http://www.dieseltruckresource.com/d...s-t142641.html

And the rest should be pretty easy. You may regret letting go of the p-pump???

My guess is the p's on it's way out and he want's to save a buck or 2
mudbillyredneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2009, 09:48 AM   #8
SHARPMACHINE
F-U-CANCER!!!
 
SHARPMACHINE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-29-06
Location: MONTAGUE MI (BY THE SAND BOX)
Posts: 4,484
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mudbillyredneck View Post
My guess is the p's on it's way out and he want's to save a buck or 2
Highly dout it, p-pumps very rarely die.
__________________
Hay, look at me... I have a signature.....



RIP FULLSIZE4LIFE
SHARPMACHINE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2009, 10:13 AM   #9
Fullsize4life
Kicking Cancers ASS
 
Fullsize4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-25-06
Location: Hart, Mi (next to silver lake)
Posts: 18,754
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Farmboy PM me if you want to sell the p-pump motor.
Fullsize4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2009, 10:22 AM   #10
Blacklung
Senior Member
 
Blacklung's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-13-08
Location: Emmett, MI
Posts: 1,197
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Why would you want to swap out a p-pump for a rotary pump? I imagine anything's possible, but I don't think you'll have much luck looking for advice considering the 12v with a p-pump is one of the strongest running diesels ever and I doubt there are many others out there that have attempted that kind of swap.
Blacklung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2009, 11:03 PM   #11
farm_boy
hicktown
 
farm_boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-08-05
Location: holland mi
Posts: 2,433
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

no but the p pump i worth more monney as it works fine but the engine was shoot geting 900 out of it otherwise i get nothing
farm_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2009, 06:46 PM   #12
butters
It curves to the left...
 
butters's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-07
Location: Rochester, MI and BFE, IA
Posts: 414
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

that swap is a waste of time if ur trying to make big power, that rotary pump can't
push the fuel like a p pump.
butters is online now   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2009, 11:15 AM   #13
mprmn08
Senior Member
 
mprmn08's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-08-09
Location: grandville, mi
Posts: 252
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

to answer your question you have to switchh the front cover, the gear, all the lines, the injectors, the supply pump, and figure out how to delete the wiring.
mprmn08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2009, 03:14 PM   #14
superduty03
Senior Member
 
superduty03's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-13-08
Location: Fenton
Posts: 1,131
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

don't get rid of the p pump man. trust me it will give you all the fuel you ever need!
superduty03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2009, 06:33 PM   #15
Fullsize4life
Kicking Cancers ASS
 
Fullsize4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-25-06
Location: Hart, Mi (next to silver lake)
Posts: 18,754
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I dont think you guys get it. He is broke. His motor in his truck is dead and he has a first gen motor that he want to install. He is not looking for power just a truck that runs. So some one that knows what he needs to go please help him. Thanks.
Fullsize4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2009, 06:47 PM   #16
mprmn08
Senior Member
 
mprmn08's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-08-09
Location: grandville, mi
Posts: 252
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mprmn08 View Post
to answer your question you have to switchh the front cover, the gear, all the lines, the injectors, the supply pump, and figure out how to delete the wiring.
right there!! i said it awhile ago.
mprmn08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2009, 09:09 PM   #17
farm_boy
hicktown
 
farm_boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-08-05
Location: holland mi
Posts: 2,433
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

ok well i figered it out i put a frist gen in but my bell dosnt work idk what i am going to do with this truck
farm_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2009, 08:11 AM   #18
SHARPMACHINE
F-U-CANCER!!!
 
SHARPMACHINE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-29-06
Location: MONTAGUE MI (BY THE SAND BOX)
Posts: 4,484
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by farm_boy View Post
ok well i figered it out i put a frist gen in but my bell dosnt work idk what i am going to do with this truck
When you sold the other motor, did you keep the block to tranny adapter? If you did not, then that is your problem.

I really think the big mistake was removing/selling that motor. I have a hard time believing it blew a head gasket stock at 220k
__________________
Hay, look at me... I have a signature.....



RIP FULLSIZE4LIFE
SHARPMACHINE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2009, 01:13 PM   #19
Fullsize4life
Kicking Cancers ASS
 
Fullsize4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-25-06
Location: Hart, Mi (next to silver lake)
Posts: 18,754
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Ill buy the motor from you. Pm me. I want a cummins for my 4 door ford.
Fullsize4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2009, 03:01 PM   #20
SHARPMACHINE
F-U-CANCER!!!
 
SHARPMACHINE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-29-06
Location: MONTAGUE MI (BY THE SAND BOX)
Posts: 4,484
iTrader: (25)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fullsize4life View Post
Ill buy the motor from you. Pm me. I want a cummins for my 4 door ford.
Whats your budget? What will you be doing for a tranny? I will keep an eye out for you.
__________________
Hay, look at me... I have a signature.....



RIP FULLSIZE4LIFE
SHARPMACHINE is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Dodge Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.25917 seconds with 82 queries