Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old May 14th, 2013, 06:02 AM   #1
chevyk10
Ford/Chevy guy!
 
chevyk10's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-21-09
Location: Howell / Ann Arbor
Posts: 803
iTrader: (0)
6.0 to Duramax Swap

Anyone ever heard of this or done it? Curious how hard it would be to put a dirtymax in my 2000 2500 HD? Also how much should i expect to pay for a used dmax?
chevyk10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2013, 06:40 AM   #2
chevyk10
Ford/Chevy guy!
 
chevyk10's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-21-09
Location: Howell / Ann Arbor
Posts: 803
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by chevyk10 View Post
Anyone ever heard of this or done it? Curious how hard it would be to put a dirtymax in my 2000 2500 HD? Also how much should i expect to pay for a used dmax?
Also would it even bolt up to a 4l80?
chevyk10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2013, 08:37 AM   #3
Klumpper
Fuck Cancer!
 
Join Date: 08-26-09
Location: Fenton/Hartland
Posts: 423
iTrader: (15)
Expect BIG $$$ for a used duramax. A friend just had his 06 replaced and it was $6600 for a long block, and used were still 3-4k.

It bolts to a 4l80, that is what was behind them in the big G-vans. Torque converter needs to be changed, (buy one for g-van/4l80 application) trans shift-points reflashed.
Need the ECM for the duramax. It will need to be reflashed (most likely) to remove security stuff and possibly body modules.
Harness should mostly match up to the truck. However, GM never put them in a 2000 pickup, so I am not 100% if they did mid cycle harness changes. ?????
Fuel system - you'll need to rework it, duramax engines did not have an in-tank pump prior to '07, (and still may not?) and won't like being supplied with 3-4Bar. Granted, they may be a great option to help the CP3 live/perform better, especially if you ever have leaky lines/priming issues with filter swaps. But if you try down-regulating the in-tank pump with a regulator/return system, you may end up burning those up.

Radiator, intercooler, water filter added, intake changes, exhaust needs to match up with down pipe. second battery needs to be added, glow plug relay and associated parts, so you're probably looking at swapping over the vehicle's main fuse block. Oil cooler lines are different, you'll need oil lines (and potentially cooler lines) to the turbo depending on what generation dmax you get.

Additionally, your truck is drive by cable throttle, you'll need an electronic throttle pedal and the brain box to go with it for the dmax (or 03+ Gen 3 v8 or 01-06 8.1).

Really, you need a wrecked parts truck. Can it be done? Absolutely. Will it be easy/cheap/straight forward/quick swap? NOPE.

Have you thought about adding boost to the 6.0? a blower or pair of turbos and proper tuning could very well be cheaper.

Hope this helps!
Klumpper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2013, 09:52 AM   #4
Bleay
sick of jackstand wheelin
 
Bleay's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-18-05
Location: Clawson
Posts: 1,368
iTrader: (18)
Quote:
Originally Posted by chevyk10 View Post
Anyone ever heard of this or done it? Curious how hard it would be to put a dirtymax in my 2000 2500 HD? Also how much should i expect to pay for a used dmax?
If you have to ask this question than you should not be taking a project like this on. Sell your truck and buy one.
Bleay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2013, 10:33 AM   #5
silveradoboy
Sam Brown
 
silveradoboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-28-12
Location: Waterford/Cheyboygan
Posts: 1,884
iTrader: (3)
Buddies dad is putting one in his 3/4 ton surburban. Its an early 90's I believe. He keeps running into parts that he needs to buy!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by drunkencityworker View Post
"BREAK HIS FACE"
silveradoboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2013, 10:58 AM   #6
jaysusr
Senior Member
 
jaysusr's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-29-10
Location: Oakland county.
Posts: 984
iTrader: (2)
You'd have to have 2 free trucks to make this worth while. Maybe 3 haha
jaysusr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2013, 07:45 PM   #7
Kodiak450r
Keep on truckin
 
Kodiak450r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-07
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 5,900
iTrader: (19)
For one it will blow up a stock 4l80e. even a LB7 puts out 520 ft-lbs of torque, which is more than they were designed to handle in stock form. You are way better off selling the truck you have and finding a duramax equipped truck similar to the one you have. it will be much cheaper in the long run.
__________________
"I don't have pet peeves, i have major psychotic fucking hatreds" -George Carlin
Kodiak450r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.10240 seconds with 26 queries