Blown motor What would you do? - Page 2 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 6th, 2013, 12:28 PM   #21
kickstand
sHaMoNe!
 
kickstand's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-20-06
Location: fenton
Posts: 31,970
iTrader: (46)
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Default

cumminGs for sure
kickstand is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old March 6th, 2013, 01:07 PM   #22
montecarlo33
The Violator
 
montecarlo33's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-23-07
Location: Otsego County 49735
Posts: 4,617
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

Reman 5.7 motor or LS swap.
montecarlo33 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2013, 01:15 PM   #23
skruba
Newbie
 
Join Date: 09-06-12
Location: clinton township
Posts: 25
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

now on the ls swap you need to

reflash computer
wiring harness
Fuel pump
motor mounts
motor

looking into the ls swap im thinking i would be around 1500? does that sound about right ? and am i gonna see that much in horsepower gains? I am not worried about gas mileage because when i am using this thing i am just beating the shit out of it anyway
skruba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2013, 01:57 PM   #24
montecarlo33
The Violator
 
montecarlo33's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-23-07
Location: Otsego County 49735
Posts: 4,617
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skruba View Post
now on the ls swap you need to

reflash computer
wiring harness
Fuel pump
motor mounts
motor

looking into the ls swap im thinking i would be around 1500? does that sound about right ? and am i gonna see that much in horsepower gains? I am not worried about gas mileage because when i am using this thing i am just beating the shit out of it anyway
plan for 2k-2500. I just got done doing this last summer in my 92 Chevy C1500. Fuel pump you just drop your tank, use your current sending unit and put in a vortec Ac delco fuel pump for more pressure, cheap and works great. Motor mounts I used dirty dingo converstion ones with stock v8 mounts, and also used Shoenfield conversion headers to make things easy. Sent my harness and computer out to someone in AR who does tunes, but also plan on alot of wiring work on the truck side of things cleaning up what you dont need and removing stock computer. Honestly I had a buddy who works at a shop who specializes in automotive electrical do most of the truck side and help me get everything looking good and clean, if fact im still working on that. Was it worth it? Hell yes, lots of power, i fell in love with the truck all over again and since i dropped a motor in with only 21k on it, it should bring life to it for a long time yet. Let me know if you got any questions on this swap but it would be better if you just bought a whole engine, trans and transfer case IMO and swap the whole thing, lots of work but you would breath new life into that old truck, for me it was worth it.
montecarlo33 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2013, 02:10 PM   #25
skruba
Newbie
 
Join Date: 09-06-12
Location: clinton township
Posts: 25
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Now..what did they charge you to do the reflash and the wiring harnesses? the wiring i honestly think i could figure out im a electrician. Know wiring very well...but i heard the reflASH IS AROUND 300?
skruba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2013, 04:35 PM   #26
wave_crusher
I'll Direc your TV
 
wave_crusher's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-20-09
Location: Big Rapids, MI
Posts: 5,347
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

LS swap, you can find an LS motor, sometimes with a trans for cheaper than you'll find a good TBI or to have it rebuilt
wave_crusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2013, 04:48 PM   #27
montecarlo33
The Violator
 
montecarlo33's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-23-07
Location: Otsego County 49735
Posts: 4,617
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skruba View Post
Now..what did they charge you to do the reflash and the wiring harnesses? the wiring i honestly think i could figure out im a electrician. Know wiring very well...but i heard the reflASH IS AROUND 300?
I used a guy I found off ebay, did my harness well and did everything i asked of him on the tune, works well for now im happy for what i got for what i spent, other companys wanted much more. Believe i paid 400 for harness rework and computer flash with performance tune if i remember right.
montecarlo33 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2013, 04:52 PM   #28
montecarlo33
The Violator
 
montecarlo33's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-23-07
Location: Otsego County 49735
Posts: 4,617
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

Cheaper than I remember ($325 plus shipping with ECM flash) but this is the guy I used and would recommend as he did great work for the money I spent and everything was exactly like he pictured. If you do have problems, he is WAY better if you just call him instead of waiting for a reply on email.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/wiring-harne...65ad15&vxp=mtr


Also forgot to mention you will need aftermarket gauges too. Best way to do it. For now, I use a bluetooth adaptor that plugs into the OBDII port and alows me to read using my cell phone my speed, tach and coolant temp off the LS computer and works good for the time being.

Last edited by montecarlo33; March 6th, 2013 at 04:57 PM.
montecarlo33 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2013, 05:43 PM   #29
kkodet
Formerly Route55
 
kkodet's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-21-07
Location: Marine City, Michigan
Posts: 4,351
iTrader: (47)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

How about Howell Engine Development. Michigan owned company, great people!
kkodet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2013, 05:54 PM   #30
montecarlo33
The Violator
 
montecarlo33's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-23-07
Location: Otsego County 49735
Posts: 4,617
iTrader: (19)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Route55 View Post
How about Howell Engine Development. Michigan owned company, great people!
Also heard great things about this company as well but not until after I had mine done already. I usally always try to keep my money in Michigan whenever possiable.
montecarlo33 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2013, 07:25 PM   #31
joe_jeep
welfare wheeler
 
joe_jeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-03-06
Location: hazel park, mi
Posts: 5,862
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to joe_jeep
Default

you could tear it down, hone it, new rings, bearings, oil pump, timing chain, and gaskets.
poor mans rebuild.
joe_jeep is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2013, 07:35 PM   #32
Mclovin
"The Situation"
 
Mclovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Westland, Mi
Posts: 14,398
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Mclovin Send a message via Yahoo to Mclovin
Default

just do a basic refresh.. get the crank ground or get a new crank.. get all the machine work done etc.. and it'll last another 18 yrs

whatever you do dont buy a CHEAP reman!!! you get what you pay for.. steer clear of Mid mich exchange the shop i worked in fenton used them and we only had problems with every engine..
Mclovin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2013, 07:36 PM   #33
in2deep
Hole tester
 
Join Date: 05-06-10
Location: muskegon,mi
Posts: 1,282
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

id go with a 383 i love love mine but it was more then a 6.0 swap, or do a 6.0 swap
in2deep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2013, 09:06 PM   #34
skruba
Newbie
 
Join Date: 09-06-12
Location: clinton township
Posts: 25
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

to do a basic refresh what kinda money you think i would be running into 1500? i found a reman for 1100 with my block included
skruba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2013, 12:12 PM   #35
wave_crusher
I'll Direc your TV
 
wave_crusher's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-20-09
Location: Big Rapids, MI
Posts: 5,347
iTrader: (22)
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skruba View Post
to do a basic refresh what kinda money you think i would be running into 1500? i found a reman for 1100 with my block included
If you do a lot of the work yourself, you'd probably spend about 1,000. Powerblock a good little segment on rebuilding a vortec yourself, if your really into it they had a nice part on porting the heads too
wave_crusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2013, 12:29 PM   #36
joe_jeep
welfare wheeler
 
joe_jeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-03-06
Location: hazel park, mi
Posts: 5,862
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to joe_jeep
Default

i just looked on ebay and basic rebuild kits started about $300.
if your block is in good shape, and a bore is not needed, start there doing it yourself.
if you need a crank kit they start about $150.
if you need block work then it goes up from there.

Last edited by joe_jeep; March 7th, 2013 at 01:05 PM.
joe_jeep is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2013, 12:34 PM   #37
twelve
Senior Member
 
twelve's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-09-09
Location: Ponticrack
Posts: 411
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
buy a ford
x2
twelve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2013, 12:34 PM   #38
Deuling
Sand Slut
 
Deuling's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-22-13
Location: Muskegon MI
Posts: 631
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

LS hands down. Becoming easy to find, forged bott end, roller motors that you can throw a cam and a little work and have 400+ hp easy and cheaper than getting that power out of an old sbc.


Cummins would be a very extensive swap IMO and cost a lot more.
Deuling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2013, 04:52 AM   #39
moparhorse
Senior Member
 
moparhorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-31-12
Location: Beaverton
Posts: 750
iTrader: (4)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Have a perfect running 52,000 mile H.O. vortec 305 tbi motor with factory roller cam and all. PM if interested, just needs a new home
moparhorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2013, 11:35 AM   #40
muddywater
Stacks bring the awesome
 
muddywater's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-14-07
Location: muskegon,mi
Posts: 5,416
iTrader: (15)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to muddywater Send a message via Yahoo to muddywater
Default

precision engineering does awesome work. they are in hudsonville
muddywater is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.24435 seconds with 80 queries