6.0 ls motor ran great. now it doesnt run at all - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 18th, 2012, 09:50 PM   #1
chevotass
Senior Member
 
chevotass's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-02-06
Location: goodrich
Posts: 6,385
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to chevotass
Default 6.0 ls motor ran great. now it doesnt run at all

with my current build up i have a fj40 that already had a 2002 6.0 swap done and tuned.

it ran awesome when i got it. but i immidietly wripped out the cage and suspension. its been 9 months and i went to hook all my battary cables back up and grounds. dumped 3 gallons of fuel in the new fuel cell.

turn it over and it just fires and thats it.

I NEEED HELP. i have every ground possible hooked up now. cant find any loose wires. i even tried running a ignition constant hot to the fuel pump and bypass the relay. the pump runs but the truck still wont do anything but fire for about 2 seconds.

the only thing ive changed involving the motor is remove a home made gas tank and put an rci fuel cell in. I put a new fuel filter in as well.

if you put starting fluid to the air cleaner it seems like it would run. so im thinking it has to be a fuel issue.
chevotass is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old July 18th, 2012, 09:57 PM   #2
tw1st3d5
Senior Member
 
tw1st3d5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-12-09
Location: Berrien Springs, MI
Posts: 1,008
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Just stating the obvious here but make sure that you have the supply and return hooked to the correct ports on the cell. I only spent about 6 hours the other day trying to get my fuel pump to prime. Tried pouring gas down the line etc. Come to find out I had them swapped.
tw1st3d5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2012, 10:00 PM   #3
Bones
skillicous
 
Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 11,439
iTrader: (37)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Bones
Default

check pressure at the rail?
__________________
Inviscid Motorsports

Special Thanks and Recommendations to;
Motorcity Machines
Ironman Offroad
Branik Motorsports
Maxxis Tires

Raceline Wheels
PAC Racing Springs
Joint Clutch and Gear
Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2012, 10:03 PM   #4
chevotass
Senior Member
 
chevotass's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-02-06
Location: goodrich
Posts: 6,385
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to chevotass
Default

not yet billy. i dont have a guage that goes that high. my high tech tool only went up to TBI pressures. sooo sad. unless the guys at rci put the stickers on the wrong ports i should be good. but people are always making mistakes. maybe i should swap them.
chevotass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2012, 10:04 PM   #5
tw1st3d5
Senior Member
 
tw1st3d5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-12-09
Location: Berrien Springs, MI
Posts: 1,008
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Which cell are you running?
tw1st3d5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2012, 10:07 PM   #6
chadcooper55
expert jeep disassembler
 
chadcooper55's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-28-08
Location: kent city mi
Posts: 8,025
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Default

This may sound wired but my old truck with a 5.3 did the same thing when the hose between the air filter and the intake worked itself loose just a pinch. I couldn't figure it out for a month then I saw the clamp wasn't on right. 10 second fix and it ran like a champ.
chadcooper55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2012, 10:12 PM   #7
tw1st3d5
Senior Member
 
tw1st3d5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-12-09
Location: Berrien Springs, MI
Posts: 1,008
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

On my 2161 looking from the side with the fill connection the port to the left is the pickup. Is the fuel pump pushing air at all? Check at the rail to see if it is.
tw1st3d5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2012, 10:33 PM   #8
chevotass
Senior Member
 
chevotass's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-02-06
Location: goodrich
Posts: 6,385
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to chevotass
Default

i have the 15 gallon 2161a fuel cell. tomorrow ill hit up the zone and borrow a prussure tester. also double check my lines. the intake hose and i might pull my filter. im wondering if my new filter is to restrictive? i just grabbed a generic one off the autozone shelf that looked like the one that was on it.
chevotass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2012, 10:33 PM   #9
firehawk
Live Action!
 
firehawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-02-07
Location: Clawson, Michigan
Posts: 12,403
iTrader: (44)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

Could have a wire that needs constant 12v with key on and not just crank 12v. If it was hooked to 12v crank only then it would fire and die, fire and die, but if that wire were hooked to 12v with key on it would continue to run.

I have been dealing with the wiring on my Bronco for the past couple months and that was one thing I had to deal with.
firehawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2012, 10:35 PM   #10
High Center Hancho
rack tap re-rack click
 
High Center Hancho's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-10-07
Location: Genesee County
Posts: 12,915
iTrader: (40)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

you have to check pressure at the rail...without that reading you are fighting a losing battle when it comes to fuel issues

also make sure its not hooked to your turn signal!!
High Center Hancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2012, 10:40 PM   #11
chevotass
Senior Member
 
chevotass's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-02-06
Location: goodrich
Posts: 6,385
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to chevotass
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by High Center Hancho View Post
you have to check pressure at the rail...without that reading you are fighting a losing battle when it comes to fuel issues

also make sure its not hooked to your turn signal!!
even when hooked to turn signal they idle great. its not til you get into the throttle. not that i have done that or anything. just what ive heard.
chevotass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2012, 10:48 PM   #12
Strangler
Senior Member
 
Strangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-12-05
Location: Howell
Posts: 4,019
iTrader: (52)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

If you depress the valve, does it spray fuel? Crack the fuel line and let her start leaking to bleed.
If all else fails, put a tbi 350 in it.
Strangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2012, 11:02 PM   #13
Strangler
Senior Member
 
Strangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-12-05
Location: Howell
Posts: 4,019
iTrader: (52)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Also, after my stupid truck died on my a R&V a couple years back..... triple check the fuses. Just cuz.
Strangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2012, 06:38 AM   #14
hosejockey4506
Visiting Admin
 
hosejockey4506's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-05
Location: fenton
Posts: 8,772
iTrader: (42)
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Default

i cant remember but doesnt the computer control the ground on the fuel pump? i may be talking out my butt.


also you really need to check fuel pressure its a huge factor in these motors.
__________________
one of Michigans 99% er club.
hosejockey4506 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2012, 06:40 AM   #15
whiterhino
I'm not old, honest...
 
whiterhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-07-06
Location: Davisburg MI
Posts: 21,047
iTrader: (21)
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Default

Your engine needs 60 psi @ the rail, not 45 or so like older FI systems.

Here's an odd item that happens through the ECM. Your fuel pump only runs for about 3-4 seconds and then shuts off unless the ECM senses that your engine is running. That's why when you turn on the key you will hear the pump prime up and then stop. I don't know anything about the circuitry or how to trouble shoot it. Maybe JohnnyJ or Colville can give you some insight.
__________________
GLFWDA member since 1979.
Member Southern Michigan Rock Crawlers.
whiterhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2012, 09:45 AM   #16
Strangler
Senior Member
 
Strangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-12-05
Location: Howell
Posts: 4,019
iTrader: (52)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

TBI time......
Strangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2012, 10:00 AM   #17
feva4u
LCG
 
feva4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-01-07
Location: Petoskey, MI
Posts: 10,342
iTrader: (12)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chevotass View Post
with my current build up i have a fj40 that already had a 2002 6.0 swap done and tuned.

it ran awesome when i got it. but i immidietly wripped out the cage and suspension. its been 9 months and i went to hook all my battary cables back up and grounds. dumped 3 gallons of fuel in the new fuel cell.

turn it over and it just fires and thats it.

I NEEED HELP. i have every ground possible hooked up now. cant find any loose wires. i even tried running a ignition constant hot to the fuel pump and bypass the relay. the pump runs but the truck still wont do anything but fire for about 2 seconds.

the only thing ive changed involving the motor is remove a home made gas tank and put an rci fuel cell in. I put a new fuel filter in as well.

if you put starting fluid to the air cleaner it seems like it would run. so im thinking it has to be a fuel issue.
Manual TB or Electric? have any way to see if the idle air controller is doing anything or not? I'm assuming they didn't fool the VATS instead of disabling it but running and shutting down is a VATS (security) thing too. If it worked before, that shouldn't be an issue. PCV hose come loose?
__________________
My Jeep
feva4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2012, 11:19 AM   #18
bdd1469
bdd
 
bdd1469's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-12-10
Location: alto mi
Posts: 2,065
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to bdd1469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Strangler View Post
TBI time......
That is the dumbest thing I've heard all day.And I work with some real idiots.
bdd1469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2012, 11:30 AM   #19
bdd1469
bdd
 
bdd1469's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-12-10
Location: alto mi
Posts: 2,065
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to bdd1469
Default

Make sure it shows oil pressure when you are cranking it.What fuel pump are you using.I have seen many aftermarket pumps ruin peoples day.I only run delphi pumps in Gm vehicals.
bdd1469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2012, 02:24 PM   #20
Haggar
Covered in mud...
 
Haggar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-06-05
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 17,613
iTrader: (55)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

IIRC, 58 psi is spec. As they say, need to check the fuel pressure on the rail. Thats first and foremost.

Is your fuel pump in-tank or external. The stock pickups in those 216x tanks suck for fuel EFI with fuel slock issues.
Haggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > General Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.19258 seconds with 82 queries