Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Dodge Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old March 5th, 2013, 04:08 PM   #1
Ajhawk
Senior Member
 
Ajhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-13-11
Location: Ionia Michigan
Posts: 346
iTrader: (1)
replacing 318 with 360?

what all would need to be done to do this? ive been told nothing really, since the 360 bolts right up. i have a 96 dodge ram 1500.
Ajhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2013, 10:16 PM   #2
jaysusr
Senior Member
 
jaysusr's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-29-10
Location: Oakland county.
Posts: 984
iTrader: (2)
I'm pretty sure nothing. I'm also pretty sure when these trucks were new, if u drove a 5.2 truck, then 5.9 truck, you'd be hard pressed to tell the difference.
jaysusr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2013, 10:41 PM   #3
Mr. Beefy
Randy did it.
 
Mr. Beefy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-11-07
Location: Sault Ste. Marie
Posts: 10,105
iTrader: (19)
Flex plate is different, Torq converter is different.

Not worth the hassle unless the 360 is built well and the 318 is just beat dog tired.
__________________

Dakota Truggy Tons and 43's
07 CTD tow pig With the goodies

Thank you to Jeeperz Creeperz Off Road

Cool stuff at Ironman Offroad
Mr. Beefy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2013, 01:55 PM   #4
Ajhawk
Senior Member
 
Ajhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-13-11
Location: Ionia Michigan
Posts: 346
iTrader: (1)
alright, cause i would be content with just doing another 318, never had any problems with lack of power or anything. and it doesnt seem worth it to chance over to a 360 if i have to change other shit.
Ajhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2013, 02:50 PM   #5
hawkscj5
Skinny Pedal Crawler
 
hawkscj5's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-13-07
Location: Lansing,/barryton mi
Posts: 2,192
iTrader: (29)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ajhawk View Post
alright, cause i would be content with just doing another 318, never had any problems with lack of power or anything. and it doesnt seem worth it to chance over to a 360 if i have to change other shit.
hawkscj5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2013, 11:05 PM   #6
moparhorse
Senior Member
 
moparhorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-31-12
Location: Beaverton
Posts: 676
iTrader: (4)
Computer is different, converter is the same thing, just need to buy a 360 external balanced flex plate, or put a 360 converter weight on the 318 one. Injectors on the 360's are also different so you would need the injectors to. The 318 is the best engine chrysler EVER made.
moparhorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2013, 02:52 PM   #7
Ajhawk
Senior Member
 
Ajhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-13-11
Location: Ionia Michigan
Posts: 346
iTrader: (1)
well im going to pull the motor mount bolts today, and takes the heads off, im actually hoping i didnt blow either one, just the gasket, if all is well, i may have it up and running with the 318 today. *fingers crossed* lol
Ajhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Dodge Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.08005 seconds with 24 queries