Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Dodge Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino







Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old February 22nd, 2013, 10:13 AM   #1
offroad86b2
Senior Member
 
offroad86b2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-29-05
Location: Mount Clemens,MI.
Posts: 243
iTrader: (1)
Send a message via AIM to offroad86b2
99 dodge ram wont start..help..

the other day i was driving it,about 50 miles later it started bogging out on I75. i pulled over and couldn't get the rpm's over 1500. had it towed home,ran a scanner on it No Codes... fuel pressure 49 psi,new coil,pickup coil,cap n rotor, plugs n wires, crank sensor, tp sensor and computer..got me stumped. Anyone got any idea's?????
offroad86b2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2013, 11:07 AM   #2
masterbeatty
Senior Member
 
masterbeatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-04-08
Location: my house
Posts: 4,052
iTrader: (17)
Check the volume of fuel? My expedition put put out pressure but when u hit the button to fill a 16oz bottle it took forever
masterbeatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2013, 11:18 AM   #3
Toyfish
Senior Member
 
Toyfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-05-10
Location: lapeer, MI
Posts: 1,701
iTrader: (25)
Check for a plugged converter if the fuel volume is good
Toyfish is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2013, 01:42 PM   #4
offroad86b2
Senior Member
 
offroad86b2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-29-05
Location: Mount Clemens,MI.
Posts: 243
iTrader: (1)
Send a message via AIM to offroad86b2
it fires up here n there but only for a second..i just put a new cat on 6 months ago,fuel volume is great...filled a 24oz in no time..
offroad86b2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2013, 07:49 PM   #5
frdboy
Wishin' I waz fishin'
 
frdboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-29-06
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Posts: 9,875
iTrader: (23)
I would still check backpressure or pull the O2 and see if it will start. Also check for water in the fuel.
__________________
Cheap Thrills Off Road

2003 F-250 4X4 7.3 PSD Crew Cab

1971 Bronco
frdboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2013, 08:46 AM   #6
offroad86b2
Senior Member
 
offroad86b2's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-29-05
Location: Mount Clemens,MI.
Posts: 243
iTrader: (1)
Send a message via AIM to offroad86b2
ok,no water in the fuel,did a compression test they are all 65-75psi,im about done!! lol
offroad86b2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2013, 11:15 PM   #7
Ajhawk
Senior Member
 
Ajhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-13-11
Location: Ionia Michigan
Posts: 346
iTrader: (1)
Hmmm, sounds like the cat is plugged, or possibly a dirty fuel filter? Don't have any pissed off ex's do you? :/
Ajhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2013, 11:23 PM   #8
bigjay
The Man Myth And Legend
 
bigjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-06-07
Location: i can piss on the allegan and barry county line at the same time.. ...
Posts: 5,120
iTrader: (1)
plugged cat.. had the same problem..
bigjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2013, 10:58 PM   #9
moparhorse
Senior Member
 
moparhorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-31-12
Location: Beaverton
Posts: 676
iTrader: (4)
Does it have a good blue spark to it and also does it ever backfire through the carb or exhaust?
moparhorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2013, 06:33 AM   #10
TheDodgeGuy
PR MTU 4X4
 
TheDodgeGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-28-13
Location: Twin Lake MI
Posts: 20
iTrader: (1)
Compression also sounds a little low. My 360 (149k) was around 160 psi for compression IIRC
TheDodgeGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2013, 01:48 PM   #11
redramman
Newbie
 
redramman's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-19-12
Location: Redford
Posts: 22
iTrader: (0)
yes those compression readings are way to low.Did you crank engine about 5 revolutions with tester on? Sounds like my truck when Cat was plugged .Its possible plugged cat could make compression low by restricting engine flow... not enough air can get in less air to compress ...low reading(I think). at the time of cat the other problem was crankshaft position sensor located on front of engine I think I had damaged it or knocked ot out of position while working on something else.
redramman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2013, 01:52 PM   #12
redramman
Newbie
 
redramman's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-19-12
Location: Redford
Posts: 22
iTrader: (0)
now that I think about it the Crank position sensor threw a fault code .
redramman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2013, 02:11 PM   #13
redramman
Newbie
 
redramman's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-19-12
Location: Redford
Posts: 22
iTrader: (0)
http://www.summitracing.com/parts/cto-9666 I was trying to find the Y pipe without Cat I think Dynoflow makes it.
redramman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2013, 02:16 PM   #14
redramman
Newbie
 
redramman's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-19-12
Location: Redford
Posts: 22
iTrader: (0)
Oh yea BATMAN the Joker put this OLD thread here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
redramman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Dodge Tech
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2012 Cracker Enterprises - Powered by Linux
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
Page generated in 0.12869 seconds with 38 queries