cummins hagglunds swap - Page 2 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Rig Builds and Pics
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

Rig Builds and Pics Introduce your rig or post a buildup here.

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 21st, 2013, 06:51 PM   #21
ckupq
Kitten I'm gonna eat you!
 
ckupq's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA 52402
Posts: 3,415
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbcrichie View Post
This is a 24v system so I need to use a 12v starter on 24v system opposite of what petersons did but maybe it would still work I'll have to look at what they did.

Gonna try the trans go manual kit
They were running a 24V winch and everything else was 12vdc including their starter what more do you need?
ckupq is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old February 21st, 2013, 07:09 PM   #22
sbcrichie
R&R Fabwerks
 
sbcrichie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-30-09
Location: sturgis/michigan
Posts: 1,206
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

they had a 12v system on their truck and a 24v winch. i have a 24v system on this thing and need to run a 12v starter. its a different scenario. i may be wrong i havent researched it yet but i believ going from 12 to 24 is different than going from 24 to 12. but like i said i havent got to the wiring yet so i havent researched it yet.
sbcrichie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2013, 07:11 PM   #23
capone
Senior Member
 
capone's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-16-06
Location: Clinton Township
Posts: 3,224
iTrader: (52)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Subscribed. Cool Project.
capone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2013, 07:26 PM   #24
sbcrichie
R&R Fabwerks
 
sbcrichie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-30-09
Location: sturgis/michigan
Posts: 1,206
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

got the drivetrain mocked up, not much room lol. gonna half to run a 4x4 output shaft and make my own bushing and seal housing to i can shorten trans up. the front driveshaft runs the hydro pump and fan off of the crank pulley, i mocked up this shaft but the angles are pretty severe so today i pulled engine back out and moved fan forward and moved hydro pump forward a couple inches and to the pass side a couple inches to get angles more exceptable.









sbcrichie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2013, 07:50 PM   #25
tator
Senior Member
 
tator's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-19-07
Location: sturgis
Posts: 529
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Hey if you need a hand give me a call, and if you need anything made I'm bored as hell at work.
tator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2013, 07:57 PM   #26
sbcrichie
R&R Fabwerks
 
sbcrichie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-30-09
Location: sturgis/michigan
Posts: 1,206
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

ok sounds good. im gonna take a shot at machining the extension housing myself but if i run into trouble maybe ill have ya draw it up and cnc it.
sbcrichie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2013, 08:32 PM   #27
green50gt
Got rocks?
 
green50gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-16-08
Location: Goshen, IN 46528
Posts: 2,729
iTrader: (48)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Wow this is cool!
__________________
I heart Jeeps
green50gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2013, 08:39 PM   #28
kkodet
Formerly Route55
 
kkodet's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-21-07
Location: Marine City, Michigan
Posts: 4,175
iTrader: (47)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbcrichie View Post
yes thats what ive been thinking too but after doing some research ive heard both stories some last forever and some work three times. if it was mine yea i would put 24 too it and see what happens but since its a customer that travels out in the boonies with it it would be bad for me if he got stranded cause starter crapped out.
All the "crapped out" stories I'm familiar with are when guys are using 50 plus year old starters, that eventually fail anyways. I've run 12 volt on 6 volt starters for years on my 48 Case tractor, 53 Chevy pickup, 28 model A, 55 Imperial, 48 CJ2A and a few others. Never had a problem with any of em.
kkodet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2013, 03:26 PM   #29
bacongrease
Am i still a Noob?
 
bacongrease's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-28-08
Location: Troy/MI
Posts: 538
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

24V on a 12V DC motor wont damage the motor under normal use.

However if exteneded cranking is needed, the motor will heat up very quickly which kills DC motors.

Personally i would do what it takes get 12V to the starter if it were a customers project.
bacongrease is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2013, 07:21 PM   #30
sbcrichie
R&R Fabwerks
 
sbcrichie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-30-09
Location: sturgis/michigan
Posts: 1,206
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

well i went to order the transgo full manual kit and realized you have to run a vacuum modulator so i guess that is out seeing as diesels dont make vacuum. So i think im gonna get the baumann controller. i think customer will be happier anyway with the controller so he wont have to shift it all the time.
sbcrichie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2013, 07:30 PM   #31
Windsorf350
Rusty Racing
 
Windsorf350's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-06-10
Location: Muskegon/Holton Michigan
Posts: 356
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

If you want to run the mvb could you just run a vacum pump like they run on the old ford diesles?
Windsorf350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2013, 07:38 PM   #32
sbcrichie
R&R Fabwerks
 
sbcrichie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-30-09
Location: sturgis/michigan
Posts: 1,206
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

yea you can but you have to figure out how to regulate the vacum with throttle position, it can be done but i dont think i want to fart with it. its only 500$ for the controller and its 250$ for the mvb so i think 250 is well worth not having to shift it all the time. I was honestly worring about someone driving it in 4th gear all time, it sounds like he lets his kids and buddies drive it.
sbcrichie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2013, 07:42 PM   #33
Windsorf350
Rusty Racing
 
Windsorf350's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-06-10
Location: Muskegon/Holton Michigan
Posts: 356
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

O i didn't even think about that part. which trans controller are you going to run?
Windsorf350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2013, 07:52 PM   #34
kkodet
Formerly Route55
 
kkodet's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-21-07
Location: Marine City, Michigan
Posts: 4,175
iTrader: (47)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbcrichie View Post
yea you can but you have to figure out how to regulate the vacum with throttle position, it can be done but i dont think i want to fart with it. its only 500$ for the controller and its 250$ for the mvb so i think 250 is well worth not having to shift it all the time. I was honestly worring about someone driving it in 4th gear all time, it sounds like he lets his kids and buddies drive it.
A stock dodge ram power steering/vacuum pump bolts to a 4bt, why not go that way? I also have an external belt driven vacuum pump setup from a 4bt I'd sell if you are interested.
kkodet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2013, 08:23 PM   #35
sbcrichie
R&R Fabwerks
 
sbcrichie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-30-09
Location: sturgis/michigan
Posts: 1,206
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

well the vaccum pump just makes a set amount of vacuum. the vacuum modulator on the tranny modulates fluid pressure according to throttle position. so you have to regulate the vacuum so it applies correct pressure for load on tranny.
sbcrichie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2013, 08:25 PM   #36
sbcrichie
R&R Fabwerks
 
sbcrichie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-30-09
Location: sturgis/michigan
Posts: 1,206
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

lots of people recamend compushift controller but its 1200. bauman makes a controller for 500$ and i honesly like the guy at bauman better after talking to him on the phone. gonna have to get a dc to dc 24v to 12v converter to run the trans controller.
sbcrichie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2013, 08:48 PM   #37
kkodet
Formerly Route55
 
kkodet's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-21-07
Location: Marine City, Michigan
Posts: 4,175
iTrader: (47)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

The engine driven vacuum pumps create more vacuum the higher the RPM, just like a gasser motor will. In the stock bread van 4bt/TH400 setups thats what they used.
kkodet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2013, 08:52 PM   #38
jaysusr
Senior Member
 
jaysusr's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-29-10
Location: Oakland county.
Posts: 1,056
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Doesn't this have dual batteries? Or is it one single 24vbatt? If so, can't you just run a one batt starter circuit?
jaysusr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2013, 08:59 PM   #39
hillbilly2007
Senior Member
 
hillbilly2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-24-13
Location: Marshall, Michigan
Posts: 127
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I want one of these. I have no reason to have it, other than to say i had one lol
hillbilly2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2013, 12:45 PM   #40
sbcrichie
R&R Fabwerks
 
sbcrichie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-30-09
Location: sturgis/michigan
Posts: 1,206
iTrader: (8)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Route55 View Post
The engine driven vacuum pumps create more vacuum the higher the RPM, just like a gasser motor will. In the stock bread van 4bt/TH400 setups thats what they used.
I thought on gasser they run manifold vacuum, more throttle equals less manifold vacuum on a gasser. I also thought they ran cable operated vacuum modulators on diesels. And in this case transgo puts the vacuum modulator inside the pan so you would have to get a cable in there somehow. I also questioned transgo on the modulator to find out if it was a 400 modulator and they said no it was a special one for their application. I'm not saying it can't be done but I wasn't comfortable with it on this vehicle and owner will be happier not shifting it all the time.
sbcrichie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Rig Builds and Pics

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.27978 seconds with 80 queries