Front axle wont engage... - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Dodge Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier All Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 14th, 2005, 06:34 PM   #1
Spence1986
SlowBalt SS
 
Spence1986's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Redford Michigan
Posts: 2,446
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Spence1986
Default Front axle wont engage...

96 Dodge Cummins..

The Transfer case goes into 4wd but the Front Actuator wont engage. I can get it to engage if i use the air compressor and an air gun but it doesn't last very long. For instance i tried to get it working today with the help of the air gun it locked the front in Then i put the T-case lever in 4wd and back into 2wd a couple times while i was messing around in the parking lot. It went into 2wd and back into 4wd 2 times then it just hangs up or something in 2wd.. A new actuator is $150 i don't know if thats the problem though. Probably going to try that on Friday but any other ideas what could be causeing it to do this?


Thanks
Russ
Spence1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old December 14th, 2005, 06:35 PM   #2
Spence1986
SlowBalt SS
 
Spence1986's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Redford Michigan
Posts: 2,446
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Spence1986
Default

Its a Dana 60 Axle if that matters or not..
Spence1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2005, 08:42 PM   #3
sonic
Senior Member
 
sonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-05
Location: Holly, MI.
Posts: 416
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 96DodgeCTD
96 Dodge Cummins..

The Transfer case goes into 4wd but the Front Actuator wont engage. I can get it to engage if i use the air compressor and an air gun but it doesn't last very long. For instance i tried to get it working today with the help of the air gun it locked the front in Then i put the T-case lever in 4wd and back into 2wd a couple times while i was messing around in the parking lot. It went into 2wd and back into 4wd 2 times then it just hangs up or something in 2wd.. A new actuator is $150 i don't know if thats the problem though. Probably going to try that on Friday but any other ideas what could be causeing it to do this?


Thanks
Russ


Here see if you can read this for a diag proceedure. Dont know if this helps or if you'll even be able to read it but I'll keep trying for ya. Are you sure its not just some vacume leak causing the problem?



Mark
sonic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2005, 09:11 PM   #4
noodles
give 'er sh*t ay?
 
noodles's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: holland Mi
Posts: 1,029
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to noodles Send a message via MSN to noodles Send a message via Yahoo to noodles
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonic
Here see if you can read this for a diag proceedure. Dont know if this helps or if you'll even be able to read it but I'll keep trying for ya. Are you sure its not just some vacume leak causing the problem?



Mark
I can post a flow chart if you want me to, ive got a 94 manual. also, i woudl go witha posi lock instead of a new acutator its only like $30-40 more.
noodles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2005, 10:29 PM   #5
sonic
Senior Member
 
sonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-05
Location: Holly, MI.
Posts: 416
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

wow it showed up a LOT bigger when I posted that. that sucks. sorry...


Try this, click the pic:
sonic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2005, 10:30 PM   #6
Spence1986
SlowBalt SS
 
Spence1986's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Redford Michigan
Posts: 2,446
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Spence1986
Default

Its wierd how it works when it wants too. Like when i bought the truck it worked when ever i needed it for the first 4 Months then it just would work when it wanted to and now it only works if i Shoot the air gun into it a couple times to losen up almost like there is corrision in it but i took it all apart and cleaned it. I did the diagram off of Mitchell and it pointed to the actuator. I thought i could fix it a little cheaper..


I found a Posi-Lok on ebay for $175 probably get one of those if i can't fix the actuator i have now.


Thanks for the help
Russ
Spence1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2005, 10:31 PM   #7
sonic
Senior Member
 
sonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-14-05
Location: Holly, MI.
Posts: 416
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

nope didn't work either. sorry
sonic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2005, 11:53 AM   #8
noodles
give 'er sh*t ay?
 
noodles's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: holland Mi
Posts: 1,029
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to noodles Send a message via MSN to noodles Send a message via Yahoo to noodles
Default

thats a decient deal, but I know alot of places will beat others prices so id shop around. But yeah that will eliminate your problem.
noodles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2005, 02:34 PM   #9
PavementPounder
I am the law.
 
PavementPounder's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: Birmingham, Michigan 48009
Posts: 29,824
iTrader: (224)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 96DodgeCTD
I found a Posi-Lok on ebay for $175 probably get one of those if i can't fix the actuator i have now.
Are you sure its the kit for your Ram? Kit # 1100?

http://www.4x4posi-lok.com/app_dodge.html
PavementPounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2005, 05:24 PM   #10
Yetti
Buy a Fiat! Save the UAW!
 
Yetti's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-05
Location: 20 minutes south of Hell...
Posts: 14,384
iTrader: (10)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

just for my own stupid questions list, did you check to see if the Vacuum pump is working? I was wondering because it falls into the time & miles when they fail
__________________
Yetti
Yetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2005, 12:31 AM   #11
Spence1986
SlowBalt SS
 
Spence1986's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-05
Location: Redford Michigan
Posts: 2,446
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Spence1986
Default

Ya i checked to see if it was working and it is.. You can feel the vacuum on the line its just the actuator isn't working like binding up or something o well though i ordered One off of Ebay was $189 for everything. should be here by Wednesday.
Spence1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Dodge Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.16057 seconds with 55 queries