broco sas - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 11th, 2013, 08:16 PM   #1
foxworthy1102
Senior Member
 
foxworthy1102's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-18-12
Location: wyandotte, mi
Posts: 286
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default broco sas

any one on here ever do a sas on their full-size? im planing on doing mine once the weather warms up. yes I've reserched fullsizebronco.com... alot of those guys kinda seem like dicks if you dont knw exactly what your talking about. any insight woud help
foxworthy1102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old February 11th, 2013, 08:41 PM   #2
Elvis13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 05-15-11
Location: Addison Township, MI
Posts: 1,180
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I haven't been over to FSB in a long time but i remember there SAS 101 thread being as thorough as i could imagine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxworthy1102 View Post
alot of those guys kinda seem like dicks if you dont knw exactly what your talking about. any insight woud help
Let me guess, did you ask a bunch of generic questions and expect specific answers?
Elvis13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2013, 08:45 PM   #3
foxworthy1102
Senior Member
 
foxworthy1102's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-18-12
Location: wyandotte, mi
Posts: 286
iTrader: (6)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

mostly on the custom fab work... panhard bar and coil mounts. all i could find were pictures. they would just say use the search. i did but couldnt find what i needed. i get where youre coming from with that post. guess i should have elaborated a little bit haha
foxworthy1102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2013, 11:20 AM   #4
BOGDOG
Senior Member
 
BOGDOG's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-11-06
Location: White Lake/Wixom
Posts: 2,271
iTrader: (7)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Why do ypu want to do an SAS? I've owned 5 fullsize Broncos I thought the Dana 44IFS versions wheeled the best especially on uneven terrain like nasty rutted hillclimbs. On the road I preferred the 79XLT I had, but off road it just seemed too heavy. My stock 81 did wear the tires but after I lifted it a couple inches and put airlift airbags in the front coils that issue was solved. I had 3 IFS Broncos and wore out 2 sets of ball joints and 1 u-joint in about 250k miles. Unless I was going to run tires over 35" I would just keep the IFS.
BOGDOG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2013, 11:36 AM   #5
fsumotorhead
N8KVB
 
fsumotorhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-24-06
Location: Flat Rock, MI
Posts: 4,199
iTrader: (34)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BOGDOG View Post
Why do ypu want to do an SAS? I've owned 5 fullsize Broncos I thought the Dana 44IFS versions wheeled the best especially on uneven terrain like nasty rutted hillclimbs. On the road I preferred the 79XLT I had, but off road it just seemed too heavy. My stock 81 did wear the tires but after I lifted it a couple inches and put airlift airbags in the front coils that issue was solved. I had 3 IFS Broncos and wore out 2 sets of ball joints and 1 u-joint in about 250k miles. Unless I was going to run tires over 35" I would just keep the IFS.
x2, and If did do a SAS, I would only do a D60, not a 78-79 D44.
fsumotorhead is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2013, 10:47 AM   #6
Never_Evil
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 07-24-07
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 346
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

The 92-96 broncos are a bit harder to do because of that stupid accordion frame just behind the bumper. After you box that, the rest should be just measuring.
Never_Evil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2013, 08:49 PM   #7
camccardell
tiger blood
 
camccardell's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-14-08
Location: Homer MI
Posts: 1,361
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

did my 95
http://www.greatlakes4x4.com/showthr...=131330&page=6
f150, but same setup
camccardell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.15939 seconds with 43 queries