2007 Classic vs 2008 new body. Duramax - Page 3 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 14th, 2013, 08:27 PM   #41
codymcvicar
Senior Member
 
codymcvicar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-05-08
Location: harrison mi.
Posts: 414
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

This is what I got with the truck.


codymcvicar is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old February 14th, 2013, 08:34 PM   #42
1TFROT
Senior Member
 
1TFROT's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-04-09
Location: chi-town
Posts: 1,374
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

that's why I have a scIV in mine. then you can through stupid amounts of power at it if you want.

for tuners, I would recommend Merchants in MI (heard really good things about them) and Fleece Performance in IN. Brayden at Fleece has done 2 of my trucks so far.

EFI can be very confusing and you can screw stuff up quickly if you are not careful.

mine smokes at WOT, but I'm also working with stock turbo/injectors and a pretty good sized tune as well. my tow tune is probably 100hp over stock, doesn't smoke at all and works great for towing.

I agree with Chris (Knaffle), wouldn't trade mine for a NBS any time soon.
1TFROT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2013, 08:36 PM   #43
silveradoboy
Sam Brown
 
silveradoboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-28-12
Location: Waterford/Cheyboygan
Posts: 1,933
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

You can run about an extra 150 horse and your trans will be fine
silveradoboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2013, 08:49 PM   #44
knaffie
Senior Member
 
knaffie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-13-08
Location: home is where I hang my hat
Posts: 1,900
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Don't get a handheld tuner.
Don't get a handheld tuner.
Don't get a handheld tuner.
Need I go on?
If you're intimidated by trying to write your own tunes (you should be), then sell what you have and buy a pre-programmed ECM. It's less money and better tunes. End of that discussion!
knaffie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2013, 08:50 PM   #45
knaffie
Senior Member
 
knaffie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-13-08
Location: home is where I hang my hat
Posts: 1,900
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1TFROT View Post
that's why I have a scIV in mine. then you can through stupid amounts of power at it if you want.

for tuners, I would recommend Merchants in MI (heard really good things about them) and Fleece Performance in IN. Brayden at Fleece has done 2 of my trucks so far.

EFI can be very confusing and you can screw stuff up quickly if you are not careful.

mine smokes at WOT, but I'm also working with stock turbo/injectors and a pretty good sized tune as well. my tow tune is probably 100hp over stock, doesn't smoke at all and works great for towing.

I agree with Chris (Knaffle), wouldn't trade mine for a NBS any time soon.

Merchant doesn't write tunes. He refers everybody to Duramaxtuner.
knaffie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2013, 08:50 PM   #46
1TFROT
Senior Member
 
1TFROT's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-04-09
Location: chi-town
Posts: 1,374
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by silveradoboy View Post
You can run about an extra 150 horse and your trans will be fine
not sure on the newer allisons, but on the 5 speeds (lb7) you would have to lift on 3-4 and 4-5 shifts with a stock trans to ensure not limping the trans. been there

and better to stay 100hp or less on stock
1TFROT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2013, 08:50 PM   #47
knaffie
Senior Member
 
knaffie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-13-08
Location: home is where I hang my hat
Posts: 1,900
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by silveradoboy View Post
You can run about an extra 150 horse and your trans will be fine
Disagree. If you want to smoke your trans, run a 150HP tune. If you want it to live, keep it well under 100. You're talking about a $5000 repair bill here. Not something to screw around with unless you have deep pockets.
knaffie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2013, 08:51 PM   #48
1TFROT
Senior Member
 
1TFROT's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-04-09
Location: chi-town
Posts: 1,374
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by knaffie View Post
Merchant doesn't write tunes. He refers everybody to Duramaxtuner.
hmm, didn't know that one.
1TFROT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2013, 09:15 PM   #49
codymcvicar
Senior Member
 
codymcvicar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-05-08
Location: harrison mi.
Posts: 414
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Does any here write their own tunes??
I also have the dsp5 switch. Maybe I'm Wrong but you Pay for efi live and then
Got to pay for tunes??? Unless you make your own??
codymcvicar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2013, 09:19 PM   #50
silveradoboy
Sam Brown
 
silveradoboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-28-12
Location: Waterford/Cheyboygan
Posts: 1,933
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by knaffie View Post
Disagree. If you want to smoke your trans, run a 150HP tune. If you want it to live, keep it well under 100. You're talking about a $5000 repair bill here. Not something to screw around with unless you have deep pockets.
Didnt you say you ran your PPE on level 2 and 3? Both are over 100hp. Level 3 is 160hp. Not saying that its the same for everyone but I know 4 people with the same truck and we all run at least level 3 or higher and nobody even goes in limp mode. Most of them run level 4 with no issues. The newer 6 speeds can take a lot more than the older 5 speeds
silveradoboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2013, 09:23 PM   #51
1TFROT
Senior Member
 
1TFROT's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-04-09
Location: chi-town
Posts: 1,374
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by codymcvicar View Post
Does any here write their own tunes??
I also have the dsp5 switch. Maybe I'm Wrong but you Pay for efi live and then
Got to pay for tunes??? Unless you make your own??
Fleece tuned mine. I only use 3 tunes on my dsp5. hot (daily driver), tow and stock

I think Chris is recommending to stay on the safe side. usually anything over 100hp will be borrowed time for the trans if you drive it hard. the 6spds will handle a little more.

better to err on the safer side imo
1TFROT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2013, 09:29 PM   #52
knaffie
Senior Member
 
knaffie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-13-08
Location: home is where I hang my hat
Posts: 1,900
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by silveradoboy View Post
Didnt you say you ran your PPE on level 2 and 3? Both are over 100hp. Level 3 is 160hp. Not saying that its the same for everyone but I know 4 people with the same truck and we all run at least level 3 or higher and nobody even goes in limp mode. Most of them run level 4 with no issues. The newer 6 speeds can take a lot more than the older 5 speeds
I ran mine on #2, which is 90HP when the truck was empty and #1 which is 40HP when I was towing. I ran #3 which is 160HP for a week, then put it back to #2 because I was concerned about tearing up my trans.

Just because its not limping doesn't mean its not significantly accelerating wear on the trans. Maybe it will shit out after 100K instead of 200K. No way to know until you tear it apart and see. I really don't like that people assume that just because the trans isn't limping, it isn't being hurt. Talk to some of the guys who work on Allisons for a living and they will tell you its easy to see the trucks that ran hot tunes versus the ones that did not. Hot tunes tear shit up on a stock trans.

My point is that if you want to play, be aware of what the consequences are and be prepared to pay. For some people, paying $5K to fix a trans is no big deal. To others, its a huge deal. I don't think its appropriate to tell people to run a 150HP tune without further explanation.

Generally speaking, the "safe" limit is regarded is 100HP. A 150HP tune on a 360HP engine is no small jump, that's over a 40% increase.
knaffie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2013, 09:44 PM   #53
silveradoboy
Sam Brown
 
silveradoboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-28-12
Location: Waterford/Cheyboygan
Posts: 1,933
iTrader: (3)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by knaffie View Post
I ran mine on #2, which is 90HP when the truck was empty and #1 which is 40HP when I was towing. I ran #3 which is 160HP for a week, then put it back to #2 because I was concerned about tearing up my trans.

Just because its not limping doesn't mean its not significantly accelerating wear on the trans. Maybe it will shit out after 100K instead of 200K. No way to know until you tear it apart and see. I really don't like that people assume that just because the trans isn't limping, it isn't being hurt. Talk to some of the guys who work on Allisons for a living and they will tell you its easy to see the trucks that ran hot tunes versus the ones that did not. Hot tunes tear shit up on a stock trans.

My point is that if you want to play, be aware of what the consequences are and be prepared to pay. For some people, paying $5K to fix a trans is no big deal. To others, its a huge deal. I don't think its appropriate to tell people to run a 150HP tune without further explanation.

Generally speaking, the "safe" limit is regarded is 100HP. A 150HP tune on a 360HP engine is no small jump, that's over a 40% increase.
Yeah everything you said makes sense. I would never go higher than level 3. Most people say if you stay close to 500hp you are golden. That is 140hp so I rounded up
silveradoboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2013, 10:36 AM   #54
disturbedsledneck
Senior Member
 
disturbedsledneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-24-08
Location: Vassar, MI
Posts: 745
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by codymcvicar View Post
This is what I got with the truck.


I will buy both these items.. As long as they'll work on my LBZ. PM me a price
disturbedsledneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2013, 03:18 PM   #55
ayytee
all throttle no tallent
 
Join Date: 01-25-10
Location: Lake Ann
Posts: 66
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Mine will shudder the torque converter on my +130 tune if I roll into the gas in 5th or
6th gear but seems to take it if I floor it through all gears. There are quite a few guys who've had good luck with the six speeds and big tunes. That being said I usually run mine on +80. Ive got a Quadzilla S2 DPF delete tuner I'd get rid of if youre looking for a cheaper alternative than EFI. I ran it before switching to nicks tunes and it works pretty good for the money, seems to smoke quite a bit though.
ayytee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2013, 09:16 PM   #56
codymcvicar
Senior Member
 
codymcvicar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-05-08
Location: harrison mi.
Posts: 414
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

So what do you do, send the scanner out and get it flashed

With some tunes? ( if you don't know how to write tunes)

Or download tunes off someone's web page?

If you write your own tunes, where is the best place
To read- lean how to?
codymcvicar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2013, 03:38 AM   #57
tctrojan17
Sexy and I know it.
 
tctrojan17's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-21-10
Location: traverse city
Posts: 888
iTrader: (5)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

I had a 2004.5 duramax very briefly. I loved that truck. With a tune it was an amazing truck. I sold it awhile back when i moved to Scotland for a year to get my masters in an abroad program and it was the worst mistake of my life. To this day i regret selling that truck. Prior to that i had a 96 cummins which by far out performed the duramax engine wise but had a whole other set of issues with the transmissionIf i could go back though i would of kept my Duramax with the allison. I do not know much about the newer ones but i put 80,000 on mine without any repairs aside from maintenance.
tctrojan17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2013, 11:32 AM   #58
RivMan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 04-18-10
Location: Belleville, Mi
Posts: 216
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

As for getting tunes, if you don't know what your doing, don't try.

Call up Idaho Rob at ATP trucks, give him details on your mods / goals, and he'll put together a set of tunes for you to run. You use your laptop / V2 to load them on your truck, and your good to go!

Does the truck have a DSP5 switch installed yet?

-Rob
RivMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2013, 11:36 AM   #59
knaffie
Senior Member
 
knaffie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-13-08
Location: home is where I hang my hat
Posts: 1,900
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RivMan View Post
As for getting tunes, if you don't know what your doing, don't try.

Call up Idaho Rob at ATP trucks, give him details on your mods / goals, and he'll put together a set of tunes for you to run. You use your laptop / V2 to load them on your truck, and your good to go!

Does the truck have a DSP5 switch installed yet?

-Rob
Or buy a tuned ecm for less money, take 5 minutes to plug it in and be done.
knaffie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2013, 10:19 PM   #60
codymcvicar
Senior Member
 
codymcvicar's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-05-08
Location: harrison mi.
Posts: 414
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RivMan View Post
As for getting tunes, if you don't know what your doing, don't try.

Call up Idaho Rob at ATP trucks, give him details on your mods / goals, and he'll put together a set of tunes for you to run. You use your laptop / V2 to load them on your truck, and your good to go!

Does the truck have a DSP5 switch installed yet?

-Rob
Yes it does have a dsp5 switch.


How do the tunes get on my scanner?
Do I send it to him, or does he send them to me to down load?
codymcvicar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 1.07975 seconds with 81 queries