Fuel injecting a 460 - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 2nd, 2013, 11:21 AM   #1
masterbeatty
Senior Member
 
masterbeatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-04-08
Location: my house
Posts: 4,191
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Default Fuel injecting a 460

I have a 94 f150 equiped with the 5.0, id like drop a 460 into the truck. I was wondering about the possibility of using the 5.0 ecu and wiring on the 460. The firing order is the same. I have bigger injectors, and some parts
masterbeatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old February 2nd, 2013, 05:26 PM   #2
Toyfish
Senior Member
 
Toyfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-05-10
Location: lapeer, MI
Posts: 2,189
iTrader: (32)
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Default

Just pull a harness and computor out of a older f250 eqquiped with a 460
Toyfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2013, 06:47 PM   #3
camccardell
tiger blood
 
camccardell's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-14-08
Location: Homer MI
Posts: 1,361
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

just need a tweecer module, and you are good to go. have to change some of the variables, but it is just a few clicks of a mouse.
camccardell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2013, 06:48 PM   #4
masterbeatty
Senior Member
 
masterbeatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-04-08
Location: my house
Posts: 4,191
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Default

I really was hopeing to run an older carbed motor, there a little easier to find.
masterbeatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2013, 11:33 PM   #5
deathbypsi
Brian R.
 
deathbypsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-08-07
Location: Temperance Mi
Posts: 2,026
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to deathbypsi
Default

If your 94 is MAF like mine I see no reason this couldnt be done fairly easy. Obviously some plugs would have to be lengthened and moved but I see no reason why it wouldnt work. I would buy some 36lb injectors and just get a aftermarket MAF calibrated to match those injectors. If the firing order is the same as the 5.0 the ECM wont care. All the sensors should plug right in across the board except for maybe some of the pollution control shit.

I think the biggest issue would be the trans since its also controlled by the ecm.You would have to find out what differences there was between the 460 trans and the 5.0 trans wiring and maybe make your own jumper harness to make them match.

Or do like my buddy did in his 77 f150 efi460 truck.He bought a Ultrabell for a 460 and cut the bellhousing off a AODE.The Ultrabell let him bolt up the 5.0 AODE trans to his 460.Wiring then just plugged in and worked like a stock 5.0 truck.
deathbypsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2013, 01:12 PM   #6
gear_grinder
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 03-03-10
Location: Stanton
Posts: 167
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by camccardell View Post
just need a tweecer module, and you are good to go. have to change some of the variables, but it is just a few clicks of a mouse.
moates quarter has alot better reviews then the tweecer

it should work with the 5.0 harness (some connectors may need to be extended), they're both eecIV so the ignition/injector drivers are on the same spots on the board.

however, if its speed density the load cells will be all wrong and probably wont run well unless you swap out for a 460 ecu (this may require harness mods and some swapped sensors) or a way to tune the 5.0 ecu's values
gear_grinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2013, 03:33 PM   #7
deathbypsi
Brian R.
 
deathbypsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-08-07
Location: Temperance Mi
Posts: 2,026
iTrader: (16)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to deathbypsi
Default

If its a MAF truck and not speed density there really is no reason to use a Tweecer or tune it with a Quarter Horse. With the right size injectors and a matching mass air flow sensor the factory ECM will run it no problem.

I have a 94 f150 that was 5.0 MAF and last summer I pulled the 5.0 out and dropped in a fresh 5.8 and it was pretty much plug and play. I used the stock MAF sensor and some new 19lb injectors in the 351 and the stock ecm has no issues with the bigger motor.
deathbypsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2013, 09:13 PM   #8
camccardell
tiger blood
 
camccardell's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-14-08
Location: Homer MI
Posts: 1,361
iTrader: (20)
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deathbypsi View Post
If its a MAF truck and not speed density there really is no reason to use a Tweecer or tune it with a Quarter Horse. With the right size injectors and a matching mass air flow sensor the factory ECM will run it no problem.

I have a 94 f150 that was 5.0 MAF and last summer I pulled the 5.0 out and dropped in a fresh 5.8 and it was pretty much plug and play. I used the stock MAF sensor and some new 19lb injectors in the 351 and the stock ecm has no issues with the bigger motor.
and it will work. It won't be all it can be, but you are right, it will work.
but changing from a 19lb to a 30lb is huge and so is the difference in displacement.

If you are running an automatic, I would try to find an 5.8 MAF ecu set up to work with the e4od. That would be the ideal setup. I cannot image that your 5.0 has an e4od, but they did make em. Rare I bet, but they might just exists.
camccardell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2013, 09:18 PM   #9
masterbeatty
Senior Member
 
masterbeatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-04-08
Location: my house
Posts: 4,191
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Default

Wow i missed a little here. The truck is not maf, kinda was a concern of myne. I could get all the maf stuff, or what about running like the maf/ obd2 harness from a 96 would that offer more tuneability?
masterbeatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2013, 09:18 PM   #10
masterbeatty
Senior Member
 
masterbeatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-04-08
Location: my house
Posts: 4,191
iTrader: (17)
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Default

Also i want to run a manual trans. Np435.
masterbeatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Ford Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.17363 seconds with 50 queries