4WD Service Light... tcase swap - Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest

Go Back   Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech
GL4x4 Live! GL4x4 Casino

greatlakes4x4.com is the premier Great Lakes 4x4 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Search
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 13th, 2013, 05:38 PM   #1
j_little3
Big Blue
 
j_little3's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-15-09
Location: Twin Lake, Michigan
Posts: 893
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default 4WD Service Light... tcase swap

I have a 2000 Silverado 2500 with a SAS. I swapped the 246 tcase out with a 241 and the new case has only 1 electrical connection where the 246 had multiple so I would say that is why the light is on but does anyone know how to disable the "Service 4WD" light?

I now have the manual tcase by the way.

Thanks


Last edited by j_little3; January 13th, 2013 at 05:46 PM.
j_little3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old January 14th, 2013, 09:55 AM   #2
Ironman Offroad
Cool parts peddler
 
Ironman Offroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-29-10
Location: Saginaw, Michigan
Posts: 1,511
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

Remove the 4wd fuse.
Ironman Offroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2013, 03:15 PM   #3
j_little3
Big Blue
 
j_little3's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-15-09
Location: Twin Lake, Michigan
Posts: 893
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironman Offroad View Post
Remove the 4wd fuse.
I removed the ATC fuse but no luck
j_little3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2013, 05:55 PM   #4
j_little3
Big Blue
 
j_little3's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-15-09
Location: Twin Lake, Michigan
Posts: 893
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

SAS help
j_little3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2013, 11:24 AM   #5
j_little3
Big Blue
 
j_little3's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-15-09
Location: Twin Lake, Michigan
Posts: 893
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

No one has experience with this?
j_little3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2013, 11:31 AM   #6
tonkatruckon44s
Senior Member
 
tonkatruckon44s's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-23-11
Location: La Porte, indiana
Posts: 492
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

remove the light bulb in the dash or put electical tape over it
tonkatruckon44s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2013, 12:56 PM   #7
deerebowtie
Unchained
 
deerebowtie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-04-09
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,742
iTrader: (23)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

is your speedometer working in 4x4 hi and low? is your truck stuck in limp mode, or are you just looking to get rid of the warning light?
deerebowtie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2013, 03:13 PM   #8
j_little3
Big Blue
 
j_little3's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-15-09
Location: Twin Lake, Michigan
Posts: 893
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deerebowtie View Post
is your speedometer working in 4x4 hi and low? is your truck stuck in limp mode, or are you just looking to get rid of the warning light?
Everything works just fine as far as I know... Im just looking to get rid of the light.
j_little3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2013, 03:56 PM   #9
deerebowtie
Unchained
 
deerebowtie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-04-09
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,742
iTrader: (23)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

do what ironman said - or list vehicle/options and some tech details of what was removed/disconnected during the SAS swap. Then lets see if we can drum up a schematic and iron out where its not working so you don't make troubleshooting down the road more difficult?
deerebowtie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2013, 04:10 PM   #10
j_little3
Big Blue
 
j_little3's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-15-09
Location: Twin Lake, Michigan
Posts: 893
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deerebowtie View Post
do what ironman said - or list vehicle/options and some tech details of what was removed/disconnected during the SAS swap. Then lets see if we can drum up a schematic and iron out where its not working so you don't make troubleshooting down the road more difficult?
Ive removed both the 4WD and the ATC fuse, both had no effect. The only plug that is plugged in is the VSS
j_little3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2013, 06:30 PM   #11
deerebowtie
Unchained
 
deerebowtie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-04-09
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,742
iTrader: (23)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

you aren't giving any details, so read through this on your own and it should get you fixed.

http://www.fullsizechevy.com/forum/g...p-writeup.html
deerebowtie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2013, 10:47 AM   #12
j_little3
Big Blue
 
j_little3's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-15-09
Location: Twin Lake, Michigan
Posts: 893
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deerebowtie View Post
you aren't giving any details, so read through this on your own and it should get you fixed.

http://www.fullsizechevy.com/forum/g...p-writeup.html
Idk what other details you need. All I want is to disable the "service 4wd" light. I have a 2000 2500 silverado "new body style" with the 6.0L and 4L80E trans, I had the NP246 tcase and swapped it with the NP241. The truck has a SAS from a late 70's dana 44 with manual hubs so I dont need the actuator. The only plug required on the 241 is the VSS which is plugged in and controls the speedo perfect. I have alot of extra pigtails not connected to anything because they are not required for anything I need. I have not done anything with the 4lo issue yet but that is now what I am after. I suppose I can completely remove the 4wd module because the transfer case is manual (when it is in 4wd, it is in, no question). I will have to figure something else out for the 4lo shifting issue.
j_little3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2013, 05:17 PM   #13
Ironman Offroad
Cool parts peddler
 
Ironman Offroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-29-10
Location: Saginaw, Michigan
Posts: 1,511
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

You have the "Service 4WD" message displayed in the center of the instrument cluster?
Or a "Service 4wd" amber light iluminated?
Either way, If that is the issue, the Transfer Case Control Modual (TCCM) is sending a message to the instrument cluster. The only way to disable that message would be reprogramming as far as I know.

Someone jump in and educate me if I am wrong.
Ironman Offroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2013, 05:58 PM   #14
deerebowtie
Unchained
 
deerebowtie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-04-09
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,742
iTrader: (23)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

did you read any DTC's?

here's the likely rundown:
Subject: Service 4WD Indicator Illuminated, DTC B2725 Set (Replace Transfer Case Shift Control Switch) #02-04-21-004 - (04/15/2002)

Models: 1999-2002 Chevrolet and GMC C/K Pickup and Utility Models (Silverado, Sierra, Avalanche, Suburban, Tahoe, Yukon, Yukon XL)
with Four Wheel Drive and NVG 236/246 Transfer Case (RPO NP8)

Now...your truck doesn't require anything but the purple & green wired vss from the 246 and a working 4x selector switch to live happily in 4-hi. To use 4-low you'll need to wire in some kind of toggle switch to ground this pin on the TCCM plug:


Google + reading can go a really long way. Please fill in the details if I'm wrong or missing something.

Last edited by deerebowtie; January 16th, 2013 at 06:03 PM.
deerebowtie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 16th, 2013, 08:30 PM   #15
j_little3
Big Blue
 
j_little3's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-15-09
Location: Twin Lake, Michigan
Posts: 893
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deerebowtie View Post
did you read any DTC's?

here's the likely rundown:
Subject: Service 4WD Indicator Illuminated, DTC B2725 Set (Replace Transfer Case Shift Control Switch) #02-04-21-004 - (04/15/2002)

Models: 1999-2002 Chevrolet and GMC C/K Pickup and Utility Models (Silverado, Sierra, Avalanche, Suburban, Tahoe, Yukon, Yukon XL)
with Four Wheel Drive and NVG 236/246 Transfer Case (RPO NP8)

Now...your truck doesn't require anything but the purple & green wired vss from the 246 and a working 4x selector switch to live happily in 4-hi. To use 4-low you'll need to wire in some kind of toggle switch to ground this pin on the TCCM plug:

Google + reading can go a really long way. Please fill in the details if I'm wrong or missing something.
Okay, this doesnt answer my question so being a smart ass isnt helping.


I. Am. Trying. To. Get. Rid. Of. The. Warning. Light.
j_little3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2013, 08:06 AM   #16
superchevy1080
gun nut
 
superchevy1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-29-10
Location: Freesoil Michigan
Posts: 179
iTrader: (1)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Most sensors run on a grounding system, so check to see if you have a 12v signal, or if its just a ground or both, in most cases you can get away with grounding out the signal wire. I would not apply 12v to any of the wires in fear of frying everything.
superchevy1080 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2013, 10:57 AM   #17
j_little3
Big Blue
 
j_little3's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-15-09
Location: Twin Lake, Michigan
Posts: 893
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by superchevy1080 View Post
Most sensors run on a grounding system, so check to see if you have a 12v signal, or if its just a ground or both, in most cases you can get away with grounding out the signal wire. I would not apply 12v to any of the wires in fear of frying everything.
The "service 4wd" light is part of the led display that displays low fuel, change oil, things like that. Idk if I can just ground a wire to fix that issue. There are about 3 plugs that are no longer plugged into anything when I did the swap because there was no need for them so idk. maybe I will just have to deal with it.

This is the message.

http://i289.photobucket.com/albums/l...y/DSC05232.jpg
j_little3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2013, 01:24 PM   #18
Ironman Offroad
Cool parts peddler
 
Ironman Offroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-29-10
Location: Saginaw, Michigan
Posts: 1,511
iTrader: (11)
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Default

The pic helps a lot.
I believe the cluster will need to be reprogrammed for a 2wd vehicle as I do not believe a manual transfer case was available.
Ironman Offroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2013, 09:27 PM   #19
78mitsu
Still missing Moab
 
Join Date: 01-09-13
Location: Madison, wi
Posts: 6
iTrader: (0)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

It's most likely the computer is detecting the absence of the encoder motor and position sensors. If you have your old transfer case the encoder motor is on the front just below the and to the right of the front propshaft. has a cable that runs off it to the harness with about 7-8 wires. I'd start by removing it from your old transfer case and plugging it into the harness. there is a void in the selector shaft that tells a magnetic sensor the position of the selector. I've used a socket with a .250 notch cut to diagnose the sensor. Make not of the position when you remove it from the old case. There are a few other things that may cause it, but this is the most likely. Do you have DTCs you could share?
78mitsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2013, 02:20 PM   #20
j_little3
Big Blue
 
j_little3's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-15-09
Location: Twin Lake, Michigan
Posts: 893
iTrader: (2)
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironman Offroad View Post
The pic helps a lot.
I believe the cluster will need to be reprogrammed for a 2wd vehicle as I do not believe a manual transfer case was available.
If I reprogram the truck to be a 2wd wont that not allow for it to shift correctly in 4lo because it wont know what 4lo is?
j_little3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Great Lakes 4x4. The largest offroad forum in the Midwest > 4x4 Talk > Chevy Tech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright 2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. Runs best on HiVelocity Hosting.
Page generated in 0.22493 seconds with 80 queries